We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1260 HK Dollars / no courtesy / no internet connection / no toothbrush” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.209-219 Wanchai Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Superb Deal + Free Wifi
Ranked #159 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 481 Reviews
Rome, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“1260 HK Dollars / no courtesy / no internet connection / no toothbrush”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The rooms of the hotel are small, but clean and nice,
the shampoo and the bath foam have a nice smell of pomelo, the smell was surprising good!
unfortunately....all the atmosphere was ruined by the girls working in the recepetion....really not professional, so cold and with an attitude totally not friendly which I did not like,
we had a room booked with CREDIT CARD, we took 3 rooms, and I have arrived first,
they asked me a deposit, ( even though I booked the rooms with my dad's credit card ) of 1600 HK dollars!
I just arrived in HK and I only had 1000 HK Dollars.....but also hundread Euros!
SO I begged to get into the room for a rest and shower, explaining them the situation, when my family would have arrived, in an hour, they would have take care of everything
nothing- no way - NO MONEY NO HONEY
... they had to call the manager.....or I would not be allowed to get in the room.

1260 HK dollars (120 euro) 's room..... ( 12 meter square? ) no free internet connection
( 40 Hk dollars per hour .... but you have to use the hour continously......you cannot use it 5 min first.....then after 1 hour another 30 mins and on )
there was not toothbrush ( i had to ask a very friendly waitress )
Finald judgement:

The place is nice.....and the position convenient
but they people working there.....they are snobbish and I guess they should go to school again,
treating "paying, good customer" like this.....
such a shame!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our service and product.

Please accept our sincere apology on the staff attitude in dealing with your check-in which could have been better, rest assured your comment had been taken seriously with our front office team for improvement and be more tactful in such circumstances.

Apart from the incident, we trust you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you better on your next arrival to Hong Kong.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    208
    125
    46
    22
See reviews for
43
75
69
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muntinlupa City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a long overdue review.....My sister and I chose this hotel for its location and reasonable rate... it is very near to malls and mtr is just a walking distance. The location being near the mtr is very important us since we have already mapped the places we wanted to visit using the mtr alone.

Room and bathroom is small but clean and complete with toiletries. Staff are great and very helpful.

Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our service, product and location.

We are glad to learn that our overall product and service had met your expectation, we are strategically located near both Wan Chai / Causeway Bay MTR station which actually provide easy access to many places of interest including shopping.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at the Charterhouse at the end of a nearly four week trip to China. The hotel was squeezed in between many other high rise buildings and therefore the rooms were small and ours had no real view. But the room, the bed and the bathroom were clean. Breakfasts were good, but a meal in the Sports Bar downstairs was poor. Our trip organizers had unwisely decided to give us Western food on our final night and it was far short of the excellent standard that we had experienced elsewhere during our stay in Hong Kong. It was the location that pursuaded me to rate the hotel 'very good'. It is an easy walk to Times Square and the ferry, the underground is convenient and buses go past the hotel to most places of interest. It was great to be in the center of the real Hong Kong.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our service and product.

We are sorry for the food quality you had experience in our Champs Bar that does not meet your expectation, rest assured that your comment will be taken seriously with our kitchen crew for improvement.

Indeed we are located centrally which will provide easy access to shopping i.e. Times Square, Sogo and the newly open shopping mall, Hysan Place

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you better on your return visit.

Yours sincerely,


On behalf on the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globetrotting
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Charterhouse at Causeway Bay is a great hotel for business travellers. Very conveniently located. Equipped with a very good restaurant and bar(at the basement). Rooms are clean and comfortable. Bathroom good with premium toiletries. Concierge helped me in many ways starting from writing an address in Chinese(very important in HK, most of the cabbies are non-English speaking) to finding a cab and also suggesting nearby eating and shopping spots.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our service and product.

We are pleased to learn that our concierge staff had took the extra miles in service to make your stay memorable and the overall product had met your expectation.

Indeed we are centrally located which will provide easy access to many places of interest and shopping and etc.

Once again thank you for the favorable comments and we shall look forward to your return visit soon.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf on the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Charterhouse is a really great place to stay while in HK. It is conveniently located near most everything,ie; Times Square, Wanchai ferry etc. friendly staff, walk to almost everything. Breakfast buffet could use some help but thats ok.
Rooms kind of small but cozy and clean. Good A/C, nice strong shower. Ask for David the concierge he is especially helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for business floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our service and product.

We are glad to learn that our staff David Wong from Concierge had went beyond in service to make your stay more memorable. Also we are pleased that our overall product had met your expectation including our location which will provide easy access to many places of interest, shopping and Wanchai ferry terminal.

Once again thank you for your favorable comments and we shall look forward again to your next visit to Hong Kong.


Yours sincerely,


On behalf of the Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights last week. The hotel location is between Wan Chai MTR and Causeway Bay MTR so you could presumably go to either station and walk to the hotel if you're not carrying much luggage or get a cab.

I had a room on the business floor which placed me above the traffic noise. My room was south facing which gave me a good view of Morrison Hill and some blocked glimpses of Happy Valley race course. Check-in and check-out was smooth and staff were helpful with any queries that you might have.

The room was a bit worn but well kept as housekeeping was on the ball so I had no problems there. The wifi connection in the room was good and was also included in the price of the room for rooms on the business floor so this was a plus point for me. Breakfast was also decent but you could reasonably do without it as there is a great selection of eating places in the neighbourhood which will enable you to try the local cusine as well.

The central location is the great thing about staying here as the entire Causeway Bay shopping district is within walking distance as well as the Wanchai nightlife. Plus, with close proximity to Star Ferry and the MTR, you can presumably get anywhere within half an hour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our services and product.

We are glad to learn that the overall staff service and product had met your expectation, especially also our location which will provide easy access thru MTR to many places of interest, shopping and near to Happy Valley race course too.

Once again thank you for your favorable comments and we shall look forward again to your next visit to Hong Kong.

Yours sincerely,


On behalf of the Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I booked a room on the business floor which is about SG$900 (yeah, its pricey) for 5nights. Its about 5-10mins walk from Causeway Bay MTR, very convenient but we took a cab from Hong Kong station to avoid the hassle of dragging our luggage from the MTR. There's a few convenient stores around the corner like 7-11, Circle k.

Hotel is old, interior is old, heck everything is old. Check-in was a breeze, it took about 10mins. Our room number was 2012 which has the most magnificent view, especially at night. The room is clean, bed is very comfortable but the pillows are too soft & flat, had a neckache everytime i sleep on it. The room was equipped with a electric kettle, compliemtary coffee/tea, mini bar, free wifi, flat screen TV, a table & chair which is a plus to apply my makeup.

The room is really small, there is no hairdryer, complimentry bottled drink (mineral water), have to login again & again to use the wifi (other hotels is auto-login/recognised), TV program have limited english channel. Hotel & room decor is very old & outdated, its about time for a renovation. One of our relatives stayed in the same hotel, they stayed on the 10th floor (not business floor) which had the exact same amenities. Hence, we only paid extra for having a magnificent view.

The hotel staff are friendly but sometimes i felt that they kinda hesitant if they should approach me (Us) or not, maybe because i don't look rich enough? (LOL) . Overall, its a good hotel but its too pricey. The only reason i booked this hotel as its just a few mins walk to The Muslim Canteen. Basically, its due to convenient sake to have a guaranteed halal breakfast every day. There's also a middle eastern restaurant across the st & halal pizza joint down the st as well.

Would i stay in this hotel again? Nope. No doubt, its very convenient but i can get the exact same thing or better in another hotel & save a few hundred bucks at the same time.

Room Tip: Tops floors that face the freeway/expressway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We regret to learn of your feedback over the pricing and the overall appearance of the guestroom, honestly we are gradually improving our product thru room rejuvenation program and all other related comments made will be taken into consideration for further improvement.

Glad that the overall staff service had met your expectation, in particularly our location that is convenient and located next to a Muslim mosque & canteen that serve halal food.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you better.


Yours sincerely,


On behalf of the Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel

Address: No.209-219 Wanchai Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong is an elegant hotel, conveniently located at the edge of Causeway Bay in Hong Kong Island. The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and Causeway Bay MTR subway stations are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The majority of tourist attractions and business areas are easily accessible within 10 minutes drive. Considering the needs of our business visitors, our hotel shuttle will take you to Hong Kong Convention and exhibition Centre during trade fair and event periods in just a few minutes. For our visitors exploring different beauties of Hong Kong, splendid shopping malls like Times Square, Hysan Place and easy transportation system like Causeway Bay subway station are a few steps from our hotel which will never disappoint you. The Gazebo Restaurant, Champs Bar, Harry's Bar and Lounge and Fitness Room 23 hours a day provides you the relaxing places to enjoy your life and escape from the hustle and speed of the city of the day. Free Wifi is available at all guestrooms and public areas are even make your stay more pleasurable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Hong Kong
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.