We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Hillview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stanford Hillview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanford Hillview Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.13-17 Observatory Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great location and very nice rooms. Nice breakfast buffet. Did not have much interaction with staff but they seemed pleasant enough. Very convenient to all the sights on Kowloon and walking distance to the ferry to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: "Deluxe Room" just means on a higher floor. All rooms are basically the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
It was great to hear your encouraging comments which inspired us to upkeep our service standards.

Thank you for having you with us and we look forward to be of your service again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    203
    67
    11
    5
See reviews for
42
126
32
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Like everywhere in Hong Kong the view is not that pleasant, but the service is rather good and location is great
Rooms are not that big but definitely enough
Sleep quality is great, daily cleaning.
Brakfast available

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
It’s our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and great to learn that you had a good time with us during your stay.

We would love to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianópolis, Santa Catarina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel is my new choice for Hong Kong stay. Good location, clean room, nice breakfast, not so expensive.... all you need for a business trip. Also, there is a small street full of nice bars and restaurants just near the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
It was indeed our pleasure to have you stayed with us and thank you for your comments delivered.

With our repeated thanks for having your patronage. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Literally just a few steps out of the hotel the shopping madness, that is Hong Kong, starts.
2 blocks away is Nathan Road and from there the world is your oyster. Dresses from $10 to $10,000, and fake copy watches for $5,000 to real Audemar Piquet for $60,000. Glitter and flashlights a mesmerizing cacophony of sounds, A Bugatti Veyron followed by an Audi R8 and two Ferraries, afraid to step down from the curb, while on my tippy toes to catch the checkered flag.

The hotel is a joy. There is a specific warning/note for people who do not like hard (what hard it is a flat piece of wood) mattresses to ask housekeeper for a foam top. I did just that, asked for two and also removed my duvet from its cover. Folded everything in ⅓ and I had a 9 level soft bed I awoke only for my alarm clock. Wow, paradise! Shopping..., airport.

HOME!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here.

We appreciated for having you with us and we look forward to be of your service again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

If you want to at centre of HK than its the right choice hotel, other staff in not unto expectation. Even their charges are equal to other high rated hotel but service and dedication towards customers is missing. If want to be in heart of HK than fine otherwise try some other options.

Room Tip: Corner room are bigger and try to get front side room so that you can have a look of observatory vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
It’s our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and your remarks given that help to uplift our service standards.

We are looking forward to your next visit and have the honour of serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The room was fairly small but clean. Location was good with lots of shops around within walking distance but you have to climb up from a slope to the hotel. So... it is challenging after shopping or with luggage. Hotel breakfast was simple, nothing much to comment. Lifts in the hotel were very busy and small, it took me sometime to wait for the lift.
Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
It’s nice to learn that you had a pleasant staying with us and thank you for your valuable comments that enhance us to better serve our guests.

We would love to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, U.K
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Having been to HK several times before I chose this hotel due to its location. Right next to the lively knutsford terrace, 5 mins from Nathan Rd & around 15 mins from the star ferry. We stayed a total of 8 nights over 2 visits. The rooms are not huge but they are very clean. On our 1st night we didn't sleep well due to the bed being so hard it was uncomfortable, however we spoke to Michael the duty manager the next day who solved the problem straight away by adding toppers to the bed. He also arranged a mirror to be sent to our room as the rooms don't have them and for a female wanting to do hair etc this made it difficult. From then on our stay was very comfortable. We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel whilst we checked out for a 2 day trip into China. On returning they had already prepared our bed in the same way. We only had breakfast once in the hotel & found it adequate. There are a million other places to eat in HK tho. If you take the airport express train to kowloon you can then hop on bus K4 which is free and stops just around the corner by the Luxe which is only a short stroll from the Stanford. Thanks to the management and staff at the Stanford for making our stay a comfortable one.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel and glad to hear that your visit with us was comfortable.

We are wholeheartedly committed to offer quality service to make our guests truly enjoyable. The hotel team is pleased to be of your service and we trust that you had a memorable experience.

We look forward to serving you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stanford Hillview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Hillview Hotel

Address: No.13-17 Observatory Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanford Hillview Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Ctrip DaoDao, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Stanford Hillview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hillview Hong Kong
Hotel Stanford Hillview
Stanford Hillview Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Hillview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.