We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Competitive price for excellent location in Kowloon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Hillview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stanford Hillview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanford Hillview Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.13-17 Observatory Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 651 hotels in Hong Kong
Albany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Competitive price for excellent location in Kowloon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a reasonably priced, well appointed hotel within easy walking distance of the MRT and Nathan Rd. The rooms have everything that you would need and the bed was very comfortable. Staff at checking in and out were friendly and efficient. We stayed for 3 nights and were very happy here. This is an excellent hotel for your visit to Kowloon and with an Octopus card an ideal base to explore Hong Kong.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here.

We are looking forward to welcoming and servicing you. Hope we can make your visit comfortable and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    205
    69
    11
    5
See reviews for
42
129
32
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

When looking for a reasonably priced hotel in TST, I came across the Stanford Hillview. It was well reviewed here, so I thought I'd try it. The hotel is modern and clean, and the location is right at Knutsford Terrace restaurants and bars! It's not far to the MRT, and a little over five minute walk to Nathan Road. Just far enough away to avoid the tailor touts and watch guys. Easy walk to the Temple Street night market. The price is very attractive, and the rooms, while not large, are very nice. The only criticism is the breakfast buffet, when I went they were out of several items and slow to replenish. The airport shuttle they have makes getting there easy. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
It was indeed our pleasure to have you stayed with us and thank you for your comments delivered. Your remark given on the shortcomings in the breakfast buffet which you experienced has been directed to our prompt attention and follow up for improvement in this area.

With our repeated thanks for having your patronage and apologized for the inconvenience which may cause you. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as my husband had stayed here the previous year when attending the Hong Kong Electronics show, as we did on this stay. It is a reasonably priced hotel, the rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast buffet more than adequate. It is in a convenient place and we had no problems in getting about from here. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located near TST station. The hotel is on a hill which you may find a struggle if you have a heavy luggage. However, you can take a short cut at Knutford Terrace which has a row of restaurant. Once you are at the hotel location, there is an entrance for taxi which is part of the hotel. Use the entrance and go to the lift to the reception.

Rooms are fairly standard, TV, kettle, complementary water bottle, and some fruits. Free wifi service which is quite fast.. Room is nice and tidy.. Bathroom is basic but is good enough..

There is a complementary shuttle service (K4) in Kimberly room which takes you to Kwoloon station to catch the Airport Express.

Walk to Kwoloon Park which is a stone throw away and it's a good way to be away from the busy life of Hong Kong.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This place is not very flash but has all the amenities you need, has helpful staff, is very well-situated, and is very good value. I'd rather spend the $100 difference per night in price compared with the Nikko on Hong Kong's great food and stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Location was good (tst). Walking distance to Avenue of Stars (only a MTR station away-east tst), temple street market (1 station away-jordan), ladies market & not to be missed sports goods (2 stations away-yau ma tei). Kowloon Park is just infront. Up the hill behind Mirama Tower. Hill is steep. Take a short cut by Knutsford. Shopping all around the streets area. There's a shop selling affordable tops compared to the high end shopping centre. 7-11 stores all over the place. Room pretty small but clean. Daily housekeeping. Change towels & stock up toiletries daily but not bedsheet. Paid wifi is for 24hrs use, ask frontdesk.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a perfect balance for a budget-conscious (but not cash-strapped) traveler who a hotel right in Hong Kong (Kowloon really) and wants no compromises in a room that you'd find in a good European hotel but who is willing to walk a little to the nearest MTR station. And that's what I got in the Stanford Hillview Hotel. Good, safe, clean hotel up to European standards. Room was small, but I've stayed in smaller. It was something like a Hotel Mercur property.

If you are a tall Causasian male, expect to be offered a custom-made suit on every walking trip to or from the MTR during regular business hours. It's not a big deal, but don't let it surprise you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanford Hillview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Hillview Hotel

Address: No.13-17 Observatory Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanford Hillview Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Stanford Hillview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hillview Hong Kong
Hotel Stanford Hillview
Stanford Hillview Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Hillview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.