We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located in Kowloon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Hillview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stanford Hillview Hotel to your Saves list
Stanford Hillview Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Observatory Road on Knutsford Terrace, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BookDirect Save 15% Extra
Ranked #110 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well located in Kowloon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I was upgraded to the superior rooms on the top floor, which have had a recent makeover by the looks of them. They are a decent size and what I would expect for the same amount of money in London. The hotel is right on a decent strip of bars and restaurants. Yes it's up a short hill, like 50 metres. Not an issue for me at all.
The bathrooms do have a weird electric shutter rather than a door, which was fine as I was on my own, but if you're sharing with them, it could be a bit too 'intimate' if one of you had a few too many chillis for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    219
    76
    11
    5
See reviews for
45
134
34
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

My very first trip to Hong Kong was to deal with jet lag I was experiencing from flying back to Australia from Europe. Despite having to lug my 23kg suitcase up a steep road to the hotel, I was pleased that reception were able to allow me to check into my room at 8.30am (after a long 13 hour flight, I was absolutely stoked!). After having experienced small rooms in Europe, I didn't mind the size of the room I was given. I was disappointed though that my tv didn't work at all. Instead of asking to switch rooms with a tv that works, I chose to stay and just make the most of the room to deal with the jetlag.

It surprised me that housekeeping didn't use common sense when it came to following a simple sign that says 'DO NOT DISTURB' on the door....they proceeded to call the room phone to ask if I wanted the room to be made up....this disturbed me as I was dealing with the jetlag by...sleeping! Very frustrating! I also heard the fire alarms go off, however it was only briefly due to renovations being done on the hotel.

Aside from being disturbed, this is a pleasant hotel with good location and some great restaurants nearby (that were much cheaper than the restaurant in the hotel).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Chris & Hedy Felsinger Melbourne Australia.
This was a very nice hotel & the location was good. Only problem was the climb to get to it after shopping. The staff were courteous & friendly with the exception of one clerk named Tony. He was a bit up himself. Not very friendly at all. The rooms were good & clean. The price was good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

For the price, it's great. Hotels in Kowloon are pricey on a Fri or Sat night. This was our second stay at the Stanford, we felt qualified to write a review. Our room, 13th floor, clean and smartly decorated. Not that you're in the room much, but the tv has 9 or 10 odd cable channels. The breakfast buffet is very nice. It's next to Knutsford terrace, and within walking distance of anything in Kowloon. Our only gripe, the front desk staff were agonizingly slow during check in and check out. ( there was only one person )

Room Tip: the 13th floor is non smoking and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Location:
The best thing about this hotel is its location. It sits at the end of Knutsford Terrace, a street popular among foreigners as it offers restaurants of almost every imaginable international cuisine, as well as fun bars and great people watching. It is right in the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui (TST) and so practically anything you'd need is within walking distance. It's only a few blocks away from the train station and a taxi stand.

The hotel is situated on a steep hill. Usually there is a taxi parked out front waiting for hotel guests. However if there isn’t one, be prepared to lug your bags down a rather treacherous incline.

Room:
The rooms have recently been remodeled. The best rooms are on the 13th floor. In these upgraded rooms the decor is modern and chic, and well designed. The rooms on the other floors have had a much more modest remodel, and are very basic rooms. However if you stayed at this hotel several years ago you will see the update is significant. There is a Flat screen TV wall mounted and back lit, giving the room a hip look.

The bathrooms however didn't seems to get much attention from the renovation. The bathrooms are dingy and small. Also, if you aren't in the upgraded rooms on the 13th floor they don't provide you with toiletries, except for a plastic wall-mounted dispenser of shower gel/shampoo: not very glamorous.

The beds are very hard by American standards; however that is quite common for beds in Asia and I didn’t find it difficult to sleep on.

Wifi:
The wifi is free, which is great. It worked quite well and relatively fast. Passwords are available from the receptionist.

Breakfast:
Everything is served buffet style, and was included with the room. The offering is very basic and doesn’t seem especially fresh.

Room Tip: The 13th floor has beautiful upgraded rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

This hotel is incredibly basic. I was staying for two nights, and asked to be upgraded from a standard room to a better quality room. I was assured that I had been (Room 805). If that is the case, I would hate to see a standard room! This was by far the least comfortable and “unadorned” hotel room in which I stayed during four weeks in China.

The room was very small, the bed was rock hard, and the pillows were too thick. The shower was over the bath, with a curtain, and there was mould in a few spots. The towels were quite thin.

On a positive note, the bed linen was excellent, and there was no discernible noise from outside.

The air-conditioning worked well. However, it was freezing, and the only way to make the room any warmer was to turn off the a/c completely, as turning up the temperature dial had no effect.

The in-room wifi signal was weak, and dropped out frequently.

Reception staff were friendly, and the housekeeping staff were delightful.

When I asked if a late check-out was possible, given that I was catching the hotel’s 3.35pm shuttle to the airport, there was no hesitation in giving me a 3pm check-out. However, the shuttle bus did not arrive, and the reception staff, after a number of phone calls, organised for a taxi at no charge to me (5 times the cost of the shuttle bus), helped transfer the luggage to the taxi, and at my request, asked the driver not to drive too fast. And, he didn’t!

Would I recommend this hotel? It depends on what you are looking for. During the previous week, I had stayed for 4 nights in Hong Kong at CHI Residences 314. It was only $40/night dearer, and a far better proposition (see separate review), comfortable, spacious and only two minutes' walk from Jordan MTR.

On the other hand, if you just want a cheap room with a rock hard bed to crash in, and you don’t mind waking with a very sore back, then the Stanford Hillview might fit the bill!

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Very centrally located hotel, not far from MTR. Yes, the final bit of the hill is a bit steep but do not let this put you off. Friendly, efficient staff at hotel, good room service, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanford Hillview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Hillview Hotel

Address: Observatory Road on Knutsford Terrace, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanford Hillview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Hillview Hotel is located on Knutsford Terrace in a quiet corner of Kowloon's busting Tsimshatsui; Hong Kong's premier shopping and entertainment area, well-known for its late night chats and cheers, and great dining experience. The Hotel features 177 elegantly furnished rooms and suites. Wi-Fi High Speed Internet accesses are available within Hotel premises. Stanford Hillview Hotel offers complimentary scheduled shuttle bus service to Hung Hom MTR Station, Airport Express Kowloon Station, China Hong Kong City Ferry Terminal and Stanford Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stanford Hillview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hillview Hong Kong
Hotel Stanford Hillview
Stanford Hillview Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Hillview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.