We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   No.41 Salisbury Road, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just spent 5 nights at the Y-the room renovations were fresh and light although aesthetically a monochromatic beige. We were thrilled to be able to stay at the Y because in prior trips they had always been booked. The location and view are the reasons to stay here, however a harbor view room was approx $200 USD per night which is the price of many hotels in the area. But the view is spectacular. That being said, be prepared for lots of children and a very busy lobby. Room has individual climate control and a small mini bar with reasonable prices. Very roomy for Hong Kong. Easy to take the airport train to Kowloon Station (21 min) then a cab to the hotel (cab was approx $5 USD). If arriving after 11 pm, make other arrangements b/c the queue for the taxi was over 30 min., and buses had stopped running.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    742
    106
    19
    10
See reviews for
481
569
200
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nantwich
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

A centrally located hotel in Kowloon giving easy access to the Star Ferries and other forms of transport. Staff were helpful and the unreported rooms were comfortable, if a little dated (the reason for the renovation). The cafe was good value and the buffet in the restaurant was very good. Would definitely recommend as a centre for visiting the city.

Room Tip: Go for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is in a great central location in Kowloon, they work with the airport to offer a great airport/hotel bus transfer which is reasonably priced and easy to use. Whilst we stayed at the hotel it was being renovated, the disruption wasn't great but necessary as the room we stayed in was both dated and tired looking. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice. My only other complaint is that they charge for Wifi, I have stayed in several hotels in Asia and this is the only one that charges - this needs to be addressed and offered to customers for free. The light show advertised in our room which was a partial harbour view was disappointing, if you want to watch this book a full harbour view room or watch outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Suites have already been renovated, partial harbour view rooms will be ready April/May time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I had to find a place to stay for night in Hong Kong. Every hotel in downtown Kwoloon is ridiculously expensive. Having eaten breakfast at the "Y" several times previously - I knew it was a clean and safe place. Price wise it's almost 1/3 cheaper than any other 4-star place in Hong Kong. Breakfast is great, rooms are clean - I would stay again!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I spent the yearend there. We were there early around 11am so the room wasn't ready yet. But they allowed us to sign all papers, leave our luggages so once the room is ready we can just get the keys and go in.

The room was not big but not as cramped as other hotels in Hong Kong. But i saw some stains on the bedsheet. This hotel also has a rule of not changing bedsheets unless you inform them. I noticed that some toiletries are missing, like shaver, cream, slippers and it took them so long to bring it up to us. No idea why, but this is always the case. I notice there were no tissue paper on the 2nd day, and again it took hours before it arrived.

But the room was generally clean and well lit. But the lobby needs some renovation as it is already old and dark.

During yearend wherein roads near harbour area were closed due to fireworks, the hotel allowed its guests to go to rooftop and watch the fireworks which was really great.

The location is very convenient to almost everything. I like the location.

Another downside is that they do not have complimentary internet, not even on public places, such as lobby. You have to pay for it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is the 3rd time we've stayed here! This time we stayed 3 nights in a newly renovated harbour view room which was amazing! Brand new, all shiney clean with an amazing view of the HKG skyline! For an expensive city like Hong Kong it is a great find! Despite it being a YMCA (which might turn some people off) It is in a perfect location and very modern (they have made a lot of improvements since we were first there in 2004) including free Wifi, which was exceptionally fast, will stay again next time we're passing through :)

Room Tip: Book a harbour view room if u can afford, great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here twice in January this year, one night and two nights. For the two nights they gave us a free upgrade to the harbour view rooms on level 8, which were great! Free wifi for all of your devices is appreciated also. I also used the pool which was nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong

Address: No.41 Salisbury Road, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salisbury-Ymca Of Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ymca
Ymca Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hotel
Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.