We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Plaza Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Prince Edward)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

Had an excellent time at this hotel. Stayed in a family room, which is a queen bed and a single (meant for 3 but we stayed the four of us). It had a simple cooking area and a microwave, and was quite spacious / enough for our needs. It is a bit of a walk from Mongkok station (it is very near east mongkok, but that station is less connected to where we tended to want to go), but there is a covered walkway to mongkok station. Furthermore on the way back we could stop by to get fruits or other things we needed. Ladies and other markets were quite near by. To put it into perspective, we needed to walk quite a bit no matter where we went in hong kong, so it wasn't bad at all. If you are muslim then Islam food on Lung Kong road is excellent - around HK30 each way for taxi. The hotel has a shopping center attached, with a mcdonalds.

  • Liked — everything went smoothly
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    745
    145
    59
    27
See reviews for
663
343
90
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

I spent numerous weeks researching a HK hotel that could provide a FAMILY room as that's what we normally prefer, plus also due to the expense. I thought I'd hit the jackpot when i finally found a HK hotel with a decent family room.

According to the website it was perfect. Some may call me fussy, but when we were shown to our room (after having check in delayed due to "room being checked for you") it was a triple, and not a family room.

The website says "one king or queen plus one double". It turns out that its actually one king or queen plus a single (albeit slightly larger than a UK single).

When the managemnet were questioned "all our family rooms are like this" and " our single bed is a double bed" I kid you not.

WE specifically chose this hotel becasue of the website's description and even had an email dialogue with their staff before booking the so called family room.

If I had known what I know now I WOULD NOT HAVE BOOKED THIS HOTEL due to :

a) obviously the bedding config
b) family breakfast cost us short of 80 pounds!! (just the one day)
c) location
d) hotel was cold
e) main lobby lounge area even more cold and dark.

WE would have been better off booking a king bed (plus an extra bed) in a better located and more modern hotel with breakfast INCLUDED in the rate, rather than this old hotel that doesn't know the difference between a single and a doubled bed.

RANT OVER!

  • Liked — notthing in particular
  • Disliked — mis representation on their website plus its all cold
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabah - Land Below The Wind
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

We (3 adults + 2 kids) stayed at Royal Plaza for 4 nites with connecting rooms. Room are spacious with a queen bed, 2 seat couch, coffee table, kitchen facilities (e.g. sink, microwave, fridge, cabinet, etc).

Location wise, next to a shopping mall, short walk to street markets, abit far from MTR stations though. Hotel provides free shuttle bus to Tsim Sha Tsui but not very frequent. Area was mostly typical blue collar working class area unlike the business district in HK island.

Comparing to other hotels in town, I would say its good value for money.

  • Liked — Room facilities esp. the kitchenette
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensvale, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

Great hotel in excellent location. Large rooms, a little bit outdated but very clean and comfortable. Shopping Centre next door with MTR Mong Kok a short walk way. Direct access to Lo Wu for shopping in Shenzhen.

Had the breakfast included in my room rate, very nice choice, more than I could eat. Staff friendly and attentive.

I can recommend this hotel, I will definitely stay here again when in Kowloon.

  • Liked — Large rooms, good location
  • Disliked — Crowded reception area
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

I booked the Royal Plaza hotel because it had a great rate that included breakfast and free internet. The room (1551) was very nice and had a decent territorial view. The bathroom was rather luxurious.
The included breakfast buffet was quite good, and included everything from standard western fare to Chinese dim sum.
The outdoor pool was nice, although it was closed the first day that I was there because there was a minor typhoon warning. The gym was decent but small.

The location is fine - the hotel is right over the East Mong Kok train station, and there is a long covered walkway that goes to the Mong Kok subway.
Instead of paying extra for a fancy waterfront room with a view at another hotel, I spent the two evenings I was in Hong Kong at the Intercontential hotel lobby bar, which has an amazing view and great service.

  • Liked — the value for the money
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

This hotel is in a great location on Kowloon Island. It is within walking distance to the Prince Edward Metro Station and also to the attractions of the Flower Market and the Bird Garden. It is also close to the electronics district. We visited the hotel in September and it exceeded all our expectations. The hotel is modern and located right next to a large shopping centre with all the shops you could wish for. The rooms are really well appointed and modern and above all clean, cool and quiet. They also offer Wi-Fi at a cost. The pool is fantastic and provides a lovely getaway after a day of walking, sightseeing and shopping. It has a lovely setting and the music playing underwater is very calming. We experienced one of the restaurants which was buffet style but also served a-la-carte meals. We wanted to dine at the other restaurant, but because of the mid-autumn festival we were unable to do so as the restaurant was booked out in advance. Our only minor grievance was that at check out we had a long wait as a whole load of new guests had arrived in addition to a load of others checking out at the same time as us. This is hardly the fault of the staff who handled the crowd well. In short, we would happily stay at this hotel again as it provides a great launching pad to seeing all the sights of Hong Kong.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southcoast Aussie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

Stayed here with family in two rooms, same floor. Having often stayed on the island, we were a bit unsure of how we would take to the Kowloon experience. As seasoned frequent travellers around most of the world, can say with complete candour that this is my first and only choice for Hong Kong in the future. Staff at the desk, on the floors, in the business centre, restaurants and health club areas were all attentive, polite and ultra competent. The restaurants all provided such an array of choice for any meal that we couldn't fail to find lots to please. And with a huge and diverse mall adjoining, along with "real street life" within a block away (with its combination of local shopping and food options), this was an ideal blend of posh inside, and genuine Hong Kong outside.

We strongly recommend it for business and tourist travellers. Overall, it was a wonderful experience that, after seven days, we were very sad to leave.

  • Disliked — Beds are a little too firm for Western tastes
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.