We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Plaza Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Mong Kok)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here with our 3 month old baby for three nights, we stayed in the royal club deluxe room with access to the royal club.
Big room, comfy big bed, big plasma tv, free wifi, coffee making machine, free water tea and coffee, breakfast included (both western and local options).
tv screen in bathroom, nice modern fittings, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, 2 items of clothing pressed daily. Cot provided nice and compact. Room quiet.
Royal club on 18th floor, free tea and coffee all day, snacks from 3-5pm, cocktails from 6-8pm, free wifi with a couple of booths to work from.
Close to MTR, Grand Century Palace mall and several markets(Ladies, flower and electronics) all in walking distance.
160 HK dollars per adult catching shuttle from airport or catch a cab 30 mins from airport 280 HK dollars.

Room Tip: Room facing the street is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your choosing to stay at Royal Plaza Hotel as well as your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location.

Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    843
    152
    61
    28
See reviews for
769
393
96
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed 5nights in this hotel with my family. The newly renovated rooms, the convenient location are all nice, but to me what sets this hotel apart is the staff and the friendly and professional service they provide. Any hotel is as good as its staff, and this hotel have mostly the right people doing the right job, from concierge to front desk to the restaurants. Also, they made every communication clear about the renovation work, and the regrets associated with it during the reservation process itself. So there was no surprise.
Out of all of them the one staff that needs special mention is Sam, in the La Scala restaurant. He was extremely proactive in understanding our needs(given we have two small kids), and was always eager to go out of the way and help us.
The only issue that I think needs improvement is serving exactly the same breakfast menu everyday. The same food, same taste kept in the same place became bit boring after two days, and the choices of food are a bit limited compared to other hotels of same standard in other cities. (I haven't stayed in any other hotel in HongKong though)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are glad to receive your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location. Your valuable comment regarding the breakfast menu has been brought to the attention of the concerned department which would help to improve our service quality.

Your compliments will definitely motivate us to continue delivering guest experience that exceeds your expectation.

Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel with 6 of my family. We were give interconnecting rooms - one with King Bed and the other with double beds. Then rooms a huge. I think it can accommodate more than 10 people. This hotel has a mall below it and a direct access to the MTR. From the lobby to the MTR station is just like 2-3mins walk - air-conditioned! There is a free shuttle bus to and fro hotel to Airport Express - Mongkok station. This made our traveling easier. There is also an overpass directly going to Mongkok station- this is like where all the shopping stalls are! The MTR near the hotel made our stay avery convenient since we don't need cabs to go around. The hotel has good breakfast buffet at a very minimal price (try to look for an offer that includes breakfast since I cant find one). I will come back to HK on November and I will surely book with them again :)

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your choosing to stay at Royal Plaza Hotel as well as your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location.

Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and this hotel is awesome.The room is new renovation and of course it is very clean, spacious and modern. They gave us to up grade the room become the royal club room and it was very nice.
The bed is very comfortable and clean, i can sleep well. They provided us coffee maker too in our room and we love it.
I love the bathroom. They have separated toilet and shower , they have nice bath tub too with small TV/LCD in front of the bath tub. The staff so kindly, friendly and very helpful.
This hotel also provide free shuttle bus to tsim sha tsui and kowloon station.

About location, this hotel is on the top of MTR Mongkok East and directly linked to shopping center, Grand Century Place. So, it is very easy to go everywhere by MTR. Also, this hotel is very near with Mongkok and Ladies Market, just need a walk (you don't need to take the MTR to go to Mongkok Area besides you don't want to walk) because you can find a brigde near this hotel or Grand Century Place and you can pass through the bridge to go to Mongkok area. There are so many cheap and delicious cantonese restaurants there. You also can find some bakeries around there which sell yummy bread, chicken pie, egg tart and bakpao ect.

So, I will back to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your choosing to stay at Royal Plaza Hotel as well as your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location. Your compliments will definitely motivate us to continue delivering guest experience that exceeds your expectation.
Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a fantastic hotel great for family's great location staff very friendly and so helpful . Rooms where spotless and the security was very high . My next trip to Hong Kong will be at the Royal plaza I would not stay anywhere else when visiting Hong Kong

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your choosing to stay at Royal Plaza Hotel as well as your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location. Your compliments will definitely motivate us to continue delivering guest experience that exceeds your expectation.
Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My family and I had stayed in this hotel in August 2011 and 2012. The room is very spacious. We always booked for double double room which are big enough to accommodate four of us with a lot of luggages. The room is clean and they provide us with tea, coffee and mineral water complimentary. The bathroom is spotless and spacious. Staffs are polite and helpful. They provide free shuttle bus to go to Mongkok and tsim sa chui. There is mtr station connecting to this hotel. If you plan to go to Shenzhen. You can directly take the mtr from the east Mongkok station located next to this hotel.
There are only two drawback of this hotel are very limited eating places. If you plan to go to Hong Kong disneyland, causeway, the peak, you need to change the mtr station twice before reaching those places. There is no direct connection from mtr service to those places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location. Your compliments will definitely motivate all the hotel staff to keep on delivering the best service as we can.
We have 3 dinning outlets in our hotel, western restaurant La Scala, chinese restaurant Di King Heen and a new bar Lion Rock Bar are providing a wide variety of gourmet cuisines, ranging from Chinese fare to international favourites.

Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Selangor
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Firstly, I would have rated this in between "Average" and "Very Good", i.e. just "Good", but unfortunately Trip Advisor does not provide that option.

Lets start with the positive. The hotel staff are friendly and accommodating. The location is certainly good (but not great, I'll explain why in the next paragraph). There is a shopping mall attached to the hotel with a subway (MTR) station just connected at the lowest floor of the shopping mall. The room was spacious (by HK standards), the bed was comfortable and the in-room amenities were certainly great. The complimentary high-speed wifi access in the room was certainly a big plus. My wife also ordered room service one night and I was told the food was tasty and in good portions. I was out that night so I didn't manage to sample the food, but I will take my wife's word for it since she is an expert when it comes to food!

Ok, the not so positives. Firstly it took a very long time to check it. We were traveling in a party of 7 adults and 2 toddlers, so we booked 2 family rooms which accommodated 4 adults per room. At check in, they had to register each and everyone of us according to the rooms we were staying, so that's 9 passport details they had to take down. Secondly, the hotel is undergoing some kind of major renovation presently (July 2013) and so the lobby area was really noisy and had very limited chairs, so naturally we didn't appreciate the long check-in process with all the noise in the background. While the location is convenient, it is far from ideal. The hotel is connected to the Mong Kok East station, which is part of the East Rail Line (or light blue line), and really, where you wanna be is closer to the Tsuen Wan Line (red line) or the Kwun Tong line (the green line). That's where the action is! For example, if you wanted to get to the Mong Kok or Tsim Sha Tsui station where a lot of the attractions are situated, you'd have to change several trains and it is very time consuming. As an alternative, you could walk to the Mong Kok station using the pedestrian bridge which is convenient, but not so much if you were traveling in a party with toddlers (and strollers) and senior citizens who don't appreciate the walk! Also, it's a pretty long walk to get to the street where the convenient stores and local eateries are situated - you need to take the escalator or take a walk on the said pedestrian bridge.

All in all, this was a good hotel but I think there are better. Also, I can't comment or complain too much about the pricing as we traveled during Hong Kong's peak summer period, so we expected to pay a premium. But after the whole experience, I can't help but wonder if perhaps we could have gotten something better for the price we paid.

Room Tip: If traveling in a large group, the Family Room is definitely worth it. 2 queen beds per room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments towards our newly renovated rooms.

Regarding the time for check-in process, we have been brought to the attention of management about our service standard. We will take all necessary actions to improve our guest satisfaction. We collect all guests details helps us to provide a high standard of security accommodation for all our valuable guests.

The renovation of the main lobby was recently completed.

Besides the MTR Mongkok East station next to our hotel, we have providing free shuttle bus for our guests to MTR Prince Edward Station(for both red line and green line), Elements (MTR Kowloon Station) and The Sun Arcade (shopping area in Tsim Sha Tsui).

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#48 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.