We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal treatment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Plaza Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Prince Edward)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 652 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Royal treatment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I booked more than 21 days in advance for a grand plaza double double room and got more than that! Although I knew the hotel was under renovation I chose it for the location, the double size beds and the Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries. I also wanted to stay near an MRT and also somewhere nice in Mongkok where my family could stay somewhere nice while I went out shopping to the Ladies Market and Langham Place (H&M) nearby!

When we arrived we got upgraded to the executive floor on the 19th. Although we had to walk up two flights of stairs to the executive floor as there was no elevator to that floor, the room
was ultra modern and the bathroom was amazing with a separate bath and shower! The glass panel between the bathroom and room made it more spacious. The beds were so comfortable and fitted my family of 4 as well as there was a nespresso machine to indulge my coffee habit! You could hear a bit of the renovation going on but it didn't bother us at all.

The hotel is connected to the Grand Century shopping mall which is also under renovation but once it is done should be awesome. We managed to get a few bargains at Espirit and Bossini as in Hong Kong winter clothes were on special and it was perfect time as it would be winter once we got back to Sydney. They had a McDonalds downstairs so you could have breakfast there or at the bakery and there were other restaurants and café so you didn't need to go out at all. I kept going back to one restaurant for their thai pineapple fried rice yum!

We had an incident coming home from HK Disneyland one day, but the duty managers were so quick and helpful to resolve the issue and apologise to us even to the point that we got given a buffet breakfast, lunch and limo transfer to the airport now that's what I call excellent customer service and definitely royal treatment.

Even if this didn't happen the staff were very polite and accommodating they certainly know how to take care of their customer! I wouldn't hesitate to come back to this hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    682
    132
    56
    24
See reviews for
599
304
85
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Staff was friendly and helpful. Location is good and centralised. It is somewhat pricey, but worth for the stay and convenience. Room is spacious and well-equipped.
On one occasion, I didn't have the room card and went to the receptionist for assistance. They were careful to check against the particulars registered under the room before helping me to tap the lift to get to the level.
Hotel should provide free local calls from the room as part of the service package which could enhance the stay experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Truly enjoyed the 5 days stay here. Stayed in Royal club deluxe room & it is nothing short of splendid. Being a frequent traveller to HK, and trying different hotels each time, this is by far the best in HK I have stayed. Definitely considering coming back here each time. Hotel staff are very polite and helpful, awesome service and attitude. Room is very clean, spacious and modern. They have a very nice Chinese restaurant named Di King Heen which I have dim sum breakfast for. Definitely will try La Scala on the next visit. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your valued comments towards our newly renovated rooms and your wonderful compliments to our outstanding guest services.
We are glad to know that you enjoy the food at Di King Heen and look forward to serving you at La Scala soon.
Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good:
-Walk a few steps to the nearest mall.
-Cosy lobby.
-Lobby has a comfortable bar, for drinks.
-Front office staff is helpful.
-Breakfast buffet has a good spread.
-Nearest hotel to Shenzhen, China.

Bad:
-Standard room is small.
-Because of its old age, interiors maybe outdated.
-Not convenient compared to the city hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

A good place to spoil yourself. The executive floor option is well worth the extra expense. The service is detailed and attentive. The room is excellent, however, it follows the ridiculous trend in providing a clear view of the bathroom from the living area, requiring an electric screen to be lowered for privacy. The club floor gave excellent service and a very quiet area to enjoy the provided food and beverages, with a view. The breakfast at the club floor was very pleasant and more than adequate, as opposed to the much broader selection but greater chaos provided at the general breakfast restaurant. As we were catching an early morning flight, the club floor reception organised a 5:45 AM room service breakfast. Try it once.

Room Tip: The club floor is worth the extra expensive. The provided food and beverages in the evening are exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your choosing to stay at Royal Plaza Hotel as well as your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the food and beverages we provided at our Royal Club Lounge.
Your compliments will definitely motivate us to continue delivering guest experience that exceeds your expectation.
Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The location is good very near to MTR Mong Kok East station and very near to shopping mall.
The room is luxury and the bed is very comfortable. We stay on the double double room which fits 4 adults with 2 king beds. You can travel back to airport via taxi (around 300 HKD). The Lion Rock bar on 3rd floor has enjoyable cocktails.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location.

Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My family had stayed in Royal Plaza for 4 nights. The rooms are well maintained and spacious for a family of 4. The city view from the room was nice, we love to sit at the bay window for some relaxation. The beds were comfortable enough, though i find the pillows abit too soft. Security was good. A hotel staff will be stationed near the lift lobby and will ask guests for their room number in the nights. The complimentary shuttle service to Tsim Sha Tsui always arrive punctually and very systematic - queue tickets were given beforehand. We also took the free airport express shuttle service from the hotel with ease. Shopping mall is linked to the hotel and many small shops within the Mongkok East MTR station. But i do not really fancy the glass bathroom. I had initially booked the room without the glass bathroom but was somehow assigned one when we checked in. Maybe the hotel staff can just confirm with the guests before they assign rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your choosing to stay at Royal Plaza Hotel as well as your positive comments towards our newly renovated rooms and the convenient location. Your compliments will definitely motivate us to continue delivering guest experience that exceeds your expectation.

Regarding your comments about the glass bathroom, this design definitely makes room look more spacious. All of our new guestrooms feature with glass bathroom with electronic curtain so it still can remain guests’ privacy if necessary.

Please do let us know when you will be visiting us again and we will be delighted to extend our genuine hospitality to you and your VIP guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.