We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Plaza Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Prince Edward)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,701 Reviews
Airlie Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Well done, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here on the way home from london july 2012, for four nights. The hotel was being rennovated but we knew that when we booked so no problems there, i would love to go back once refurbishment is completed. When I say well done staff I mostly mean the doormen, I think they deserve a pat on the back as i never once opened the front door myself. Overall I felt the service at the royal plaza was fantastic. We dined in the restaurant one evening and felt it was a great meal(we didn't choose buffet style, but tried that another evening)
Our room service meals were fantastic also! I loved the close proximity of the markets and that both the tours we booked picked us up from the hotel. If your after a little relaxation but still want to sightsee,a trip to Lantau island is definately worth it. Well done!

Room Tip: A little dated but being refurbished as we speak, may even be finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    750
    145
    59
    27
See reviews for
670
345
90
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
DKI Jakarta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on August 6 - 9 '2012. The staff is friendly and helpful , the check-in is fast and the room is nice too. I'd like this hotel because the location is in the heart of Mongkok. Also connected with Shopping centre and MTR East Mongkok Station. The hotel also gave free shuttle bus to Tsim Sha Tsui, Element shopping malls for free. But its a lil bit noisy in the afternoon even until late night because of renovation until next year. But overall this hotel is nice

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were booked here by a tour operator who did not tell us that the place was in the midst of major renovations. So we thought we were getting a great deal, when actually we weren't. The hotel itself is up-front about the work that is going on (they even give you ear-plugs when you check in) and warn you that between 09h00 and 19h00 there will be noise. And there is. It reverberates through every room at the moment. I'm not quite sure how, but it seems just to come out of the walls from the works below. If you arrived from outside Asia jet-lagged and wanted to sleep, it would be a nightmare. Fortunately, we were at the end of our holiday and, partially in compensation for the noise, I was able to negotiate a good price for an evening check out when we left for the airport.

All the staff were really friendly and helpful. There's a good concierge service, but don't let yourself be talked into taking a taxi to the airport. The free MTR shuttle bus stops at the door and will take you to Kowloon station for the fastest and cheapest airport transfer (I suspect that the concierge's advice is informed by self-interest and that he is a little too friendly with the taximan).

We were there during summer rains, and the pool is closed the moment there is the slightest prospect of lightning. (It will be closed altogether later this year as part of the rebuild.) We saw/heard no lightning whatever, but in three days the pool was open only briefly on two mornings and we didn't manage to swim once. I guess we were just unlucky, but it WAS a drag.

The hotel is built on top of a shopping mall with subway (metro) station, which is very handy when it's so hot that you do not want to step outside. A couple of the well-known market streets are around the corner, if you ARE ready to take on the heat: the goldfish market, the bird market, electrical goods, the so-called "ladies market" etc. And there is a regular shuttle bus to near the Star Ferry terminal at Victoria Harbour.

The food in the hotel is good. There's an all-you-can-eat lunch buffet. I hate buffets and I didn't try it, but it was very popular and I almost regretted my laziness. Breakfast (where I am happy to navigate a good buffet) was excellent.

Having enjoyed good free wifi everywhere else on our travels through China, we came up against hotel internet charges (€12 for 24 hours) in Hong Kong. It was fast though, and the main social media networks were again available (they are blocked on the mainland).

If you can score a good rate because of the renovations, it could be good choice. Otherwise I suggest trying somewhere else until the work is over.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Having read many reviews of Hong Kong hotels I was unsure what was in store for us. I was pleasantly surprised. Arriving at the hotel we were warmly greeted by a very polite receptionist who was expecting us. (Our daughter had checked in 3 days previously and requested a room closeby.) Checkin was completed promptly and efficiently as was everything during our stay.
We stayed 5 nights in a deluxe room on the 15th floor overlooking the pool which was extremely spacious by any standards. Totally unexpected for Hong Kong. Housekeeping was faultless. The air conditioning was heaven on returning to the room after the heat outside.
Our tariff included free wifi and breakfast. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet which included a wide range of both western and Asian food beautifully presented. It can be very busy in the restaurant during breakfast but the buffet was constantly replenished and service well organized.
The location of this hotel accessed through the adjoining mall to the Mongkok East Station and along the covered walkways to the Mongkok MTR was a great convenience with our grandson in a buggy.
The staff were the most polite and helpful hotel staff I have ever encountered. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to be close to the markets.

Room Tip: Good views on 15th floor, pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We've stayed with kids for 4 nights. Room was average and clean. Construction works were a bit of a nuisance but not too much trouble as we were out during day time. But for people wishing relaxed late morning sleep this can be a problem. Wifi Internet was not free, which I found rather disappointing. We dined out and haven't tried hotel restaurant, there are some nice reastaurants in the city. All in all, the place was relatively cheap compared to other places and not too bad, although it's certainly far from perfect.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPHHK, Director of Sales at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed in Royal Plaza HK for 3 nights and it was overall quite a good hotel.

Booked a deluxe room but we were upgraded to a Family Room without additional charge. That was a good start and good impression from the start. Check-in was fast and hassle free. As the hotel is going through a major renovation, we were given ear plugs by the front office.

Rooms are spacious by HK standard and the Family room came with one King size bed and one Super single bed. Just nice for myself and two travel companions. Beds are comfy and sheets clean. Stayed at the 9th floor, not much of a view.. except for a small pool. Room design is so-so, a bit dated in fact. Our room came with free wifi but only for one device which is kind of silly especially when we have more than one guest in the room or one might have more than one device to log in. Subsequent devices are chargable at abt HKD200 for 24 hrs or HKD40 per hour.

This hotel is connected to a shopping mall and Mongkok East MTR station. Another 10-15 mins brisk walk will take you to Mongkok Station area where there are street stalls (really nice to shop if you like street shopping)and nice teahouses and restaurants. We were told htat most of the locals shop and hang out in that area and therefore the prices of food and other items are pretty reasonable there. Hotel also provides free hourly shuttle to TST area. You may get a copy of the schedule from the conceige.

We tried the room service on the 2nd night and food is ok but took about 45 mins to arrive. Paid about HKD 400+ for one serving of Dumpling Noodles and Fried Noodles. No choice, we were too lazy to walk all the way out for supper after a whole day of shopping.

Service around the hotel is pretty ok.. but doorman needs to smile more. Concierge is friendly and gives good recommendation for eateries and travel options.

Hope to see a fresher and more modern looking Royal Plaza after the renovation. By the way, the renovation will start at 9+am ,so..this hotel is good for early risers during this period.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I am very disappointed because the renovations made me feel like living in a dust storm. When I checked in, I was unaware of the renovations and the receptionist named Sarah was extremely rude. I had booked for five nights and it was very painful and to live through. Only through the manager were we able to change to an acceptable room, but there were still renovations was above us. They said the noise would only be from 9am to 7pm, which is understandable. However this was not the case, as preparations for working started at 7-something am and started dragging equipment on the floor above us, which was even noisier than the renovations themselves. When we complained about the noise at 7 something am, the staff would apologise, but did nothing about it. The staff are nice with the exception of the rude receptionist, Sarah, who by the end of our stay still had her terrible and disrespectful attitude. I wouldn’t come back even if the renovations finished because although the staff are nice they can’t do anything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.