We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for families and muslims” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel Hong Kong to your Saves list
Park Hotel Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.61-65 Chatham Road South, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Yearend Free Night
Ranked #103 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good for families and muslims”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights from 5-7june. booked online direct on the hotel website (book superior room with complimentary upgrade to deluxe room). check in was fast and we were on the 5th floor. we were with 2 kids (3yrs old and 10mths old), and got a queen bed and a cot bed with clean bedding. room was quite spacious but i drew the curtains on the small window as there was no view. my sister booked a deluxe plus room with 2 double beds which fit in 2 adults and 2 children comfortably. toilet was clean.

breakfast was decent (cereals, juices, breads and pastries, cheese and spreads, congee and oatmeal, and indian food). location was good with 2 entrances to the hotel, one with direct access to busy shopping street. ebeneezer kebab was just one street away on prat ave (good food but pricey). considering we were there more for sightseeing, we should have stayed at hong kong island instead. took cab to victoria peak and ocean park cost about HKD 80-100 per way.

i believe theres no pool or gym in the hotel

Room Tip: deluxe plus rooms have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    489
    133
    27
    17
See reviews for
191
242
47
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

To ensure I was posting my comments for the right hotel, I reviewed the photos just to confirm as this is NOT SO GOOD.

Arrived from Beijing and checked-in with a group of 12. This was the last of a 4-city tour. We arrived and checked in about 9:00 pm. About a 45-minute drive from the Airport and located across from HK Island in Kowloon. Check-in was simple as the group guide handled everything. This was the first of 4 hotel stays that each room had to leave credit cards for deposits. Not a big deal, just did not have to do it at the prior hotels.

Entered hotel from the Cameron road entrance. Fairly small lobby with concierge and registration desk. Located at the corner of Chatham and Cameron Rd. Very busy area and easy walk to waterfront, shops, Nathan Road, and subway.

The room is average Western hotel size but with twin beds. Note that we found the beds to be hard. But it was not as hard as our Shanghai hotel stay. It was manageable and we were able to sleep fine with minimum exterior noise. The bathroom was avg size with awesome shower head. Amenities were included and it was clean. The room had great technology that allowed us to manage the lights from the bed. The room was a little dark, even with all the lights on. Again it was manageable.

We awoke after checking in and prepared for tour. Roommate indicated she had a scratchy throat. We headed to breakfast on the 4th floor which was included in our plan. It is a buffet with a great selection for guests from multiple countries. Everything in the cafe was clean and the buffet was good.

Did some touring and returned late to rest. The next morning we each woke with scratchy or sore throats. As we spoke to others in our group, learned that several had the same symptoms. We returned early to our room and found it quite stuffy so turned the air down. When returned later that night after dinner, our room was freezing and our comforters and clothing felt damp. We figured it was due to the humidity.

The next morning we met up with some group members and went to Big Budda. During the ride we talked about our trip and hotel. We learned that we had the same challenges. Damp clothing and bedding as well as scratchy throats. When we got back to the hotel, we stopped at the front desk and told them our challenges. It was then that we learned there was a mold problem!!!!! I truly believe the person that told us let it slip. Because it was our last night, we decided to stay in the room. When we got to the room, we realized that the black marks all over the walls in the room was mold. We slept with our masks on thinking that we would be fine. Well, we progressively got worse and each woke with stuffy heads and sinus problems. Called the front desk to speak to the manager and let him know about our challenges. By this time, I'd lost my voice and it was obvious I was sick. The manager was gracious with offering assistance for anything we needed. He sent up extra water which we definitely needed as we warned water for neti pots ans tea. We must have looked really bad to the person that delivered the water. After he left, we got another call asking if we would like a doctor's consultation. I will admit, we were in pretty bad shape. And it was terrible as we were headed back to the states (36 hours of traveling).

While we waited to check-out, we were approached by a different manager about our stay and to confirm our room number (#620). He apologized for our stay. As we talked, another in our party expressed her disapointment. Turns out that we were all on the 6th floor and all had a scratchy throat of dampness in our rooms.

Needless to say, I cannot recommend this hotel. As I type this review, I am still sick. I am confident that it is no cooincidence that several in our group got sick and only after checking into this hotel. The air-conditioning system is not working well to combat the HK humidity. This is something that needs serious work.

Room Tip: Avoid the 6th floor until it can be confirmed that the mold issue has been resolved. Check all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHotelHongKong, Hotel Manager at Park Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Park Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay for your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were very disappointed to read your comments and would like to extend our sincere apologies to your disappointment and for the unpleasant experience you had.

We have noted your valuable feedback on the condition of guest room. Our Engineering Department has taken immediate action to improve our ventilation and air-conditioning system. Our room attendants have been reminded to be more attentive on every detail of the room. The Management is constantly taking steps to ensure the service quality standards set by the Hotel are being maintained at all times and we will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactorily.

We take all guest comments very seriously and once again, we sincere apologize for the unpleasant experience you had and hope this incident will not deter you from using our hotel. We certainly look forward to having another privilege of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Michelle Mak
Hotel Manager
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The hotel is well located, close to Nathan Street and the Waterfront. The rooms are spacious - especially after staying in hotels in Japan for a week. The hotel was let down by the small things, my room had th stale smell of smoke despite being a 'non smoking room' and everything felt a little old and used. It wasn't bad but wasn't great either.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHotelHongKong, Hotel Manager at Park Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Park Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay for your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. We at the Park Hotel Hong Kong were very disappointed to read your review and would like to extend our sincere apologies to your disappointment and the inconvenience caused by the condition of the guest room.

We have noted your constructive feedback on the room condition and appropriate actions have been taken by our Housekeeping Department to eliminate smoke smell in the guest room. Furthermore, our room attendants have been reminded to be more attentive on checking every detail of the room. We will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactorily.

We take all guest comments very seriously and once again, we apologize for the inconveniences you had on your last stay. We look forward to having another privilege of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Thank you,

Michelle Mak
Hotel Manager
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel 8 times..have been to HK 8 times since past year...Every time i visit Hong Kong, Only one hotel comes to my mind..The Park Hotel...The hotel staff are very Polite and kind and helpful and speak good English as well...
The rooms are very beautiful, comfortable and have the best rates...
I love Park Hotel...
I will stay there every time i visit Hong Kong.
Pranav

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Good position and room service.
Crowded breakfast with many tourist.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Just got back from Hong Kong where we stayed at the Park Hotel.
Great location, easy to get around either on foot or by the metro.
lots of shopping and restaurants in the area.

The rooms have recently been refurbished and are of a great standard. Bathrooms are beautiful. All well cleaned daily.

Breakfast buffet was amazing offering something for all backgrounds.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

First time in Hong Kong and definantly not the last. The hotel was located in a great spot surrounded by shops and places to eat. The service was great, check in was fast and staff were very helpful.
Rooms were cleaned daily and at a great standard. The concierge was a great help when asking for directions and anything else we needed. The hotel was located a short walk from the Metro Station which was easy to use and a great way of getting around.
We went as a couple and found the room to be a perfect size, not small atall.
The breakfast was nice, there was a lot of choice.
Great Small boutiques around the hotel and on all the side roads.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.61-65 Chatham Road South, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#80 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the pulse of the city from the Park Hotel Hong Kong, strategically located in the heart of Kowloon’s entertainment and business district of Tsim Sha Tsui. At the forefront of Tsim Sha Tsui’s buzzing nightlife, you will be spoilt for choice with an extensive array of eateries and dining establishments. The Star Ferry, Kowloon Station for the Airport Express Trains and subway station are a five to ten minutes’ walk away, giving you easy access to the rest of this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.