We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just ok!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Panda Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Panda Hotel to your Saves list
Panda Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.3 Tsuen Wah Street, Tsuen Wan | Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong, China (Tsuen Wan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 693 Hotels in Hong Kong
manila
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“just ok!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here oct. of last year.. We stayed as a family with 2 kids (5 and 8). We arrived 10am at the hotel. Upon our arrival, bellman was helpful with our luggage. Front desk receptionist wasn't exactly friendly but offered us a room that will be ready by 12noon. Well this is fine with us considering that c/in time should be 2pm. We requested for a room with twin beds. The room was spacious enough and it allowed us to use the 54" width inflatable bed that we brought.. Though the MTR is just 5-10 mins walk, it is still too much for my kids after a very long day. Further, I think the location is not that appealing. It is very, very far from Nathan road and Mongkok's atmosphere. So basically it is a trade off between space and location. Another hotel in Mongkok area was offered by our travel agent for the same price but the down side is the very small space of the rooms.
My husband and my kids had a good stay. I, on the other hand didn't. The sheets that they used on the bed was awful. It made sound every time you move and it kept me awake. For the whole stay, I averaged 3 hours of sleep every night.. I wouldn't stay here again unless a different type of sheet will be used.

Room Tip: request for a room away from large group travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PH, Manager at Panda Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear kindheartie,

Thank you for staying at Panda Hotel. We are glad to know that you like our staff and room. If there’s chance you will stay here again, you may try our down town shuttle bus service travelling between Hotel and downtown, eg: Mong Kok and Tsim Sha Tsui. It takes only 30 minutes.

Regarding your comment on our bed sheet, we will put your points into consideration when sourcing new bed sheets.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Panda Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    550
    274
    59
    17
See reviews for
233
152
92
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paramus, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel itself was ok. The rooms are clean and about average-sized for Hong Kong. The staff was helpful, efficient and courteous.
There is a 7-11 located right outside the hotel and a 24-hour McDonald's nearby.
However, it is very far from Tsim Sha Tsui. The nearest MTR station is a 10-15 minute walk and the train ride to TST takes a least 30 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PH, Manager at Panda Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear rubyp196,

Thank you for staying at Panda Hotel. We are glad to know your appreciation to our Hotel and staff.

We understand that our Hotel’s location may not be convenient to you this time. For your convenience, you may take our Hotel shuttle bus to shopping and entertainment hubs like Mong Kok and Tsim Sha Tsui. It takes only 30 minutes.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Panda Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because it was close to transportation and markets, I stayed there for 1 night. The rooms were small and I ordered a Queen Room but, the beds were very small, like twin beds, I wasn't impressed with that. it's not that far from the hong kong airport, it takes 5 min of walk to the MTR station. The furniture were very old and there was not much place to walk in the room, we were 4 people. The lobby always has a lot of people, so it's difficult to circulate. The advantage of the hotel is a Japanese restaurant with reasonable prices

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PH, Manager at Panda Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear kychin15,

Thank you for staying at Panda Hotel. To have a more comfortable stay, you may consider choosing our decent-sized two bedroom suite, which is able to accommodate 4 people.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Panda Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czestochowa, Poland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here twice. Location is OK if you don't plan frequent trips to Hong Kong Island or Tsim Sha Tsui area. Not far from the airport/Disnayland. It takes at least 10 min to get to MTR station on foot but all the way leads under a roof. Rooms are small but not much smaller than at other places in HK. The furniture are visibly very old. The hotel is usually very full and the lobby is crowded. It seems to be a favourite hotel of Mainland China visitors. The main advantage is a small Japanese restaurant with reasonable prices. There are lots of shops in the basement including Welcome. A big department store is located just 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PH, Manager at Panda Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Jacek Z,

Thank you for staying at Panda Hotel, and we are glad to know that you chose our Hotel again. Our team looks forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Panda Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

First, the things I didn't like about this hotel. When we first checked in, Elaine was our front desk person and honestly could use some training on how to smile. She asked for our names and for some bizarre reason she can't find our reservation. Its a good thing I have a printed copy, then I guess she didn't want to help us she passed us along to another front desk person who i had difficulty understanding. Nevertheless, we got our room which was 2 twin beds rather than the 1 double I wanted. What was really horrible was the way she felt that she was superior to us and i felt like she didn't want to check us in. I honestly have been to a lot of countries and checked in a lot of hotels this is the first time I ever felt about a front desk person.

Other than that our stay was uneventful, it was a place to sleep, rooms are small but clean and its a 5 minute walk to the MTR which is a plus. We like staying in hotels that are off the beaten path just because we always discover something new about the city we visit.

ONE IMPORTANT NOTE: When taking the MTR and first time going to this hotel, please don't take the Tsuen Wan exit ... take the Tai Wu Hau exit instead. That is actually closer to the hotel than the Tsuen Wan exit.

They also have a very good Japanese restaurant on site ... good price for their menu set and is quite good!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PH, Manager at Panda Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Bee M,

Thank you for staying at Panda Hotel and sharing your comment. We are sorry for the situation you encountered during check-in. We always strive for providing a pleasant stay to our guests and we will reinforce the training on our staff to improve our services.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Panda Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Location - Not city centre , but lots happening around - Tseun Wan MTR Mall and lots of shops and malls around . Rooms very good . Staff friendly and helpful . Breakfast excellent . Overall a great experience and highly recommended .

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PH, Manager at Panda Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear ShaliniSippy,

Thank you for staying at Panda Hotel. Your appreciation is definitely a powerful encouragement to us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Panda Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Property: we booked with some trepidation regarding the location. I found it was unfounded. The hotel is about a 10min walk to 2 MTR stations which zip you into Kowloon (20mins), Disneyland/Airport (30mins). We did this with our family of 2 young kids with no issues. There is shopping and dining at the hotel basement which is quite good. 7-11s and Circle Ks around meet your other food/telecom needs. If you really want the views and sights of Kowloon/Hong Kong Island close by, be prepared to pay much higher for smaller rooms and dont stay here. For us the Metro system solved the problem and we could get to and enjoy the sights when we wanted to.

There has been a lot of stuff written about the lobby..the crowd there didnt bother us at all. Our request for an early checkin was accepted and we were in our rooms within 15 mins of arrival at the hotel.

If you have luggage, suggest you take the airport express to Tsing Yi and then take a cab to the hotel from there for 35-40HKD.

Dining: we had breakfast at the hotel on 2 days. This was not part of our package and the rate of 120HKD adult / 85 HKD for children, even with a 20% discount was a bit stiff, but we were ok with it. The food options was quite fine; they have a hot food (live) counter as well for omelets etc. We didnt do any other meals on the property.

Room: yes, there is a lot of smoking on the property and you can smell in the corridors (not other areas). But within the room, we didnt smell the smoke. The room was pretty decent size for our family of 4. We did get an extra bed for our elder son, but then there was little walking space in the room left. The bath shower and he toilets while a little dated, were fine for the money we were paying.

Tip: dont bother taking a taxi to/from the airport. Get a multi-ticket discount on the airport express to tsing yi and then transfer to the taxi (40 HKD). total time: 45 mins one-way.

If you are family with kids, skip the 3-day Tourist Pass and instead buy Octopus cards for each famil member + discounted one-way airport express tiks for the adults. Children ride free on the airport express with their octopus cards. This works much cheaper than the Tourist Pass which doesnt have a Child fare option, while the Octopus card discounts for children.

Room Tip: Request a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PH, Manager at Panda Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear VikramAndJay,

Thank you for staying at Panda Hotel. Your sharing about our Hotel is very detailed and useful to other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Panda Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Panda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panda Hotel

Address: No.3 Tsuen Wah Street, Tsuen Wan | Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsuen Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Panda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1026
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panda Hotel is one of the largest hotels in Hong Kong. The combination of our friendly service, approximately 1000 comfortable guest rooms and suites along with four highly acclaimed restaurants and catering venues with full range of business and leisure facilities, it makes Panda Hotel your true home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Panda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panda Hotel Hong Kong
Panda Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.