We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Hotel on Electric Road, Hong Kong” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Newton Inn North Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Newton Inn North Point Hotel to your Saves list
Newton Inn North Point Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Chun Yeung Street, North Point, Hong Kong, China (North Point)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #340 of 693 Hotels in Hong Kong
New Bombay
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Business Hotel on Electric Road, Hong Kong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is situated on electric road, near the MRT station. It is a oldern type of hotel, mainly for business travellers. The entrance is not grand, and we had to search a bit right in front of the hotel to locate the same!
The staff is courteous, but language is a problem. They know English well but the accent was different and took some getting used to. Free wi-fi was available in the lobby area only. The rooms are comfortable, neither too large nor too small. The rooms facing the electric road have a nice view of the Kowloon Area across the bay, since the plot exactly opposite the hotel is empty currently.
We did not have any complimentary meals with our stay package, and did not try the fare in the restaurent of the hotel. Instead we went out and got ample choice of cuisine due to the location of the hotel. The MRT station is just behind the hotel, so one can even take the train to go to other areas for food and shopping.

Room Tip: Chose rooms facing Kowloon Bay for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    46
    38
    10
    3
See reviews for
14
13
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

The hotel is located in a market, so be prepared for the dirty environment! Room is large by Hong Kong standard. If possible, ask for a harbor view room higher up. The breakfast buffet was really bad with limited choice. It's very noisy down at the lobby as there're lots of tour groups staying at this hotel. No free wifi in the room and you need to go to the lobby for it.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Located at the middle of the wet market. Once your outside the stinky smell of fish and meat is in the air. You have to walk 1 minute to reach your tour bus or service coach because they cannot access the front of your hotel. He rooms where regularly cleaned but the carpet is very dirty. Facilities are not available. The swimming pool is under renovation. Hotel is outdated. Wifi is only available at the lobby. Bad experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is far from the elevator and request a room that has a good view of the sorroundi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in the middle of a wet market. So, you'd be really somewhere surrounded by the locals. But, don't forget about the fishy smell too once you step out of the hotel.
We got free upgrade of room, so thumbs up for that. Staffs were quite friendly. The room is old but clean. The rails for the curtains in our room is quite rusty. We got a little problem with our toilet, but the housekeeping solved it promptly.
The breakfast was not so good. You might want to consider to skip that and try some real HK food outside.

Room Tip: Tell the reception that you don't want a room directly in front of the elevator. You'd be wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I used to stay here on business occasionally many years ago. I don't have high expectations, just a 3 star and clean crash pad is fine for me

But it's gotten worse now, and I don't think I will return

Service
Seems its mostly frequented by mainland China tour groups. Reception was overloaded, and I had to cheekily push past them to get attention. They were acceptable at checking

Value
I think it was peak season end Nov. totally not worth USD 150

Sleep quality
One of the worst. The beds were so tiny, maybe smaller than the IBIS. My feet were hanging over the end, and the mattress felt like sleeping on a cardboard carton on concrete.

Cleanliness
Some disgustingly huge hairs in the bathroom. YUKKY YUKKY (see pictures). Carpet was ok

Location
Ideal, just steps from the MTR underground line. Plenty of taxis on Electric road

Rooms
Feels like a 1920s New York 2 star hotel, with a vinyl worn sofa chair, dingy desk size of a kids computer station, and pretty small (ok, so this is Hong Kong). Tiny flat TV, I think it was 22inches, with only mainland China and local TV stations. Not even CNN. Unless you are into Jiangsu province TV, forget it mate. Aircon was fine, not too hot or cold. Overall I didn't feel grimly, but felt like I was staying in a dive

Overall
Don't waste your money unless you're desperate. The IBIS is similarly tiny but leagues ahead on cleanliness and service

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoakesieMoo
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I liked this hotel, staff were always helpful. Room was a very god size and very clean. I used the gym and communal cooking area a lot and had all the utensils you need. I loved the swimming pool area nd especially the views. Great location, right in the middle of hong kong island with easy access to MTR and markets and shops etc. get the feel for the real Hong Kong.

Room Tip: The rooms with kitchenette areas are good to eat in and save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

firstly, we were upgraded to the highest floor suite. so a special thanks to newton for that. all in all a positive recommendation. clean and courteous. you get what you pay for. hotel is located at 5-10 minute walk from the metro station, so accessibility is not a problem. also, very close to kings road, which has various options. the street where the hotel is located is sort of a typical market/bazaar, so that was another great experience. overall good hotel. no complains.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
North Point
The South China Hotel
The South China Hotel
#203 of 693 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#142 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Fortress Hill
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
#108 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#205 of 693 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#104 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Inn North Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Inn North Point Hotel

Address: No.88 Chun Yeung Street, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > North Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newton Inn North Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Newton Inn North Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel North Point
Newton Hotel Hong Kong
Newton Inn North Point Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newton Inn North Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.