We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet market hotel!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Newton Inn North Point Hotel

Save Saved
You added Newton Inn North Point Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newton Inn North Point Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Chun Yeung Street, North Point, Hong Kong, China (North Point)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #264 of 645 hotels in Hong Kong
Santa Rosa, Philippines
1 review
“Wet market hotel!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Located at the middle of the wet market. Once your outside the stinky smell of fish and meat is in the air. You have to walk 1 minute to reach your tour bus or service coach because they cannot access the front of your hotel. He rooms where regularly cleaned but the carpet is very dirty. Facilities are not available. The swimming pool is under renovation. Hotel is outdated. Wifi is only available at the lobby. Bad experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is far from the elevator and request a room that has a good view of the sorroundi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    46
    36
    10
    2
See reviews for
13
13
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in the middle of a wet market. So, you'd be really somewhere surrounded by the locals. But, don't forget about the fishy smell too once you step out of the hotel.
We got free upgrade of room, so thumbs up for that. Staffs were quite friendly. The room is old but clean. The rails for the curtains in our room is quite rusty. We got a little problem with our toilet, but the housekeeping solved it promptly.
The breakfast was not so good. You might want to consider to skip that and try some real HK food outside.

Room Tip: Tell the reception that you don't want a room directly in front of the elevator. You'd be wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I used to stay here on business occasionally many years ago. I don't have high expectations, just a 3 star and clean crash pad is fine for me

But it's gotten worse now, and I don't think I will return

Service
Seems its mostly frequented by mainland China tour groups. Reception was overloaded, and I had to cheekily push past them to get attention. They were acceptable at checking

Value
I think it was peak season end Nov. totally not worth USD 150

Sleep quality
One of the worst. The beds were so tiny, maybe smaller than the IBIS. My feet were hanging over the end, and the mattress felt like sleeping on a cardboard carton on concrete.

Cleanliness
Some disgustingly huge hairs in the bathroom. YUKKY YUKKY (see pictures). Carpet was ok

Location
Ideal, just steps from the MTR underground line. Plenty of taxis on Electric road

Rooms
Feels like a 1920s New York 2 star hotel, with a vinyl worn sofa chair, dingy desk size of a kids computer station, and pretty small (ok, so this is Hong Kong). Tiny flat TV, I think it was 22inches, with only mainland China and local TV stations. Not even CNN. Unless you are into Jiangsu province TV, forget it mate. Aircon was fine, not too hot or cold. Overall I didn't feel grimly, but felt like I was staying in a dive

Overall
Don't waste your money unless you're desperate. The IBIS is similarly tiny but leagues ahead on cleanliness and service

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoakesieMoo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I liked this hotel, staff were always helpful. Room was a very god size and very clean. I used the gym and communal cooking area a lot and had all the utensils you need. I loved the swimming pool area nd especially the views. Great location, right in the middle of hong kong island with easy access to MTR and markets and shops etc. get the feel for the real Hong Kong.

Room Tip: The rooms with kitchenette areas are good to eat in and save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

firstly, we were upgraded to the highest floor suite. so a special thanks to newton for that. all in all a positive recommendation. clean and courteous. you get what you pay for. hotel is located at 5-10 minute walk from the metro station, so accessibility is not a problem. also, very close to kings road, which has various options. the street where the hotel is located is sort of a typical market/bazaar, so that was another great experience. overall good hotel. no complains.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed at Newton Inn on July 2011

The hotel is a 5min walk from MTR NorthPoint. If you have luggage with you while coming out from the MTR station, take the lift, it's a faster and easier way than to fight with the stairs and endless escalators. The hotel is also near the ding ding electric tram terminal, which is a cheap and fun mode of transport where one gets to take great pictures of hong kong streets especially when sitting on the first seat on the upper deck. However, do note that the trams are non air-con and much slower than travelling in an MTR. The trams also do not operate till as late as the MTR.

Check-in at the hotel was fast and the front desk staff kindly upgraded my parents' and grandparent's rooms to a suite with 2 bedrooms, so that it's easier for them to look after one another. However, the suite comes with only 1 common bathroom (with bathtub) and the 2 bedrooms are so small that it was nearly impossible to open the doors of wardrobe fully. The suite also comes with a small kitchenette, small dining area and sofas.

My room (a normal room), on the other hand, comes in quite a comfortable size. Both the suite and my room offer harbour view, which is fantastic (for this, opt for higher floor).

There is a very small and rather old swimming pool at the roof top, take the lift to the top floor and follow the signage to the swimming pool after climbing some flights of stairs.

The hotel is located right in the middle of the market, which i think is a great way of experiencing the local life and there is a famous egg roll shop near the hotel (492 King's Road), opens at 9.30am and sold out by 11am! Locals can be seen queuing outside the shop from 8am+. There are many other eateries near the hotel as well, including a bakery. Convenience stall is located just a few shops down the same street. Besides, there is a 2-blindings shopping mall at Tai Koo (one MTR stop from NorthPoint). But if you are thinking of shopping at Kowloon, Newton Inn may be a little out of the way.

Being located in the middle of the market, hygiene may be a cause for concern for some, the smell of market at the hotel lobby and luggage being pulled along watery streets. Cleanliness in the rooms may not be top-notched as well, given the stained carpets and bathtub. Besides, the hotel is rather aged, same goes to the furniture, fixtures and fittings in it. Other than this, i did have a good stay.

Room Tip: Opt for higher floor for the harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiplun, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

3*** hotel at island hongkong

50 meters from metro station. disappointed thing - swiming pool and Gym on opposite building

coffe shop, money exchanger mcdonalds in next building

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newton Inn North Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Inn North Point Hotel

Address: No.88 Chun Yeung Street, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > North Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newton Inn North Point Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Newton Inn North Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel North Point
Newton Hotel Hong Kong
Newton Inn North Point Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newton Inn North Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.