We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived here for few months in 2003” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newton Inn North Point Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Newton Inn North Point Hotel to your Saves list
Newton Inn North Point Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Chun Yeung Street, North Point, Hong Kong, China (North Point)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #319 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 105 Reviews
MoakesieMoo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lived here for few months in 2003”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I liked this hotel, staff were always helpful. Room was a very god size and very clean. I used the gym and communal cooking area a lot and had all the utensils you need. I loved the swimming pool area nd especially the views. Great location, right in the middle of hong kong island with easy access to MTR and markets and shops etc. get the feel for the real Hong Kong.

Room Tip: The rooms with kitchenette areas are good to eat in and save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    46
    36
    10
    3
See reviews for
14
13
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

firstly, we were upgraded to the highest floor suite. so a special thanks to newton for that. all in all a positive recommendation. clean and courteous. you get what you pay for. hotel is located at 5-10 minute walk from the metro station, so accessibility is not a problem. also, very close to kings road, which has various options. the street where the hotel is located is sort of a typical market/bazaar, so that was another great experience. overall good hotel. no complains.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed at Newton Inn on July 2011

The hotel is a 5min walk from MTR NorthPoint. If you have luggage with you while coming out from the MTR station, take the lift, it's a faster and easier way than to fight with the stairs and endless escalators. The hotel is also near the ding ding electric tram terminal, which is a cheap and fun mode of transport where one gets to take great pictures of hong kong streets especially when sitting on the first seat on the upper deck. However, do note that the trams are non air-con and much slower than travelling in an MTR. The trams also do not operate till as late as the MTR.

Check-in at the hotel was fast and the front desk staff kindly upgraded my parents' and grandparent's rooms to a suite with 2 bedrooms, so that it's easier for them to look after one another. However, the suite comes with only 1 common bathroom (with bathtub) and the 2 bedrooms are so small that it was nearly impossible to open the doors of wardrobe fully. The suite also comes with a small kitchenette, small dining area and sofas.

My room (a normal room), on the other hand, comes in quite a comfortable size. Both the suite and my room offer harbour view, which is fantastic (for this, opt for higher floor).

There is a very small and rather old swimming pool at the roof top, take the lift to the top floor and follow the signage to the swimming pool after climbing some flights of stairs.

The hotel is located right in the middle of the market, which i think is a great way of experiencing the local life and there is a famous egg roll shop near the hotel (492 King's Road), opens at 9.30am and sold out by 11am! Locals can be seen queuing outside the shop from 8am+. There are many other eateries near the hotel as well, including a bakery. Convenience stall is located just a few shops down the same street. Besides, there is a 2-blindings shopping mall at Tai Koo (one MTR stop from NorthPoint). But if you are thinking of shopping at Kowloon, Newton Inn may be a little out of the way.

Being located in the middle of the market, hygiene may be a cause for concern for some, the smell of market at the hotel lobby and luggage being pulled along watery streets. Cleanliness in the rooms may not be top-notched as well, given the stained carpets and bathtub. Besides, the hotel is rather aged, same goes to the furniture, fixtures and fittings in it. Other than this, i did have a good stay.

Room Tip: Opt for higher floor for the harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiplun, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

3*** hotel at island hongkong

50 meters from metro station. disappointed thing - swiming pool and Gym on opposite building

coffe shop, money exchanger mcdonalds in next building

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We are a company of four and we stayed here because it is much cheaper than other decent hotels. I think this is decent enough compared to the hostels in hongkong. This is a 2 star hotel. There is private toilet and bath. The view is spectacular- overlooking the vioctoria harbour. We had the room 25 and it's really high. The view at night is amazing because you can see the lights in the harbour.

The bed is a bit small and the sheets are okay.

The hotel is close to the mini train, public market and 3 blocks from the MTR Station. This is close to the Supermarket-"Welcome", some stores like "Giordano" and "Sasa"

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Dismal hotel in a dismal location. Small room with hard beds. Breakfast was a 2/10, plenty there but none of it very appetising. Use the train from the airport which is brilliant and cheap, avoid the taxis, they all think they're F1 drivers!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This hotel has some pluses, but is in dire need of a renovation. The rooms and common areas are dumpy and dirty, but they do have free wifi in the lobby, and the staff are reasonably nice. The hotel is located in the middle of the North Point area street market, not far from the subway and the tram actually passes right by the door. On the down side, because they are in the middle of a busy street market that sells everything from raw meat and seafood to handbags, stockings and toys, it can be a bit of a drag if you have suitcases to take through the wet fishy walk. We stayed 3 restless nights (our hotel booking was prepaid so we could not go to another hotel without losing our money) and we kept our things in our suitcases to keep everything clean. I would actually rate this a half star higher since they did have wifi and the staff are nice, but the fact is we couldn't wait to leave.

Room Tip: It is better to ask for a single bed hotel room than twin beds because the twin bed hotel room is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newton Inn North Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Inn North Point Hotel

Address: No.88 Chun Yeung Street, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > North Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newton Inn North Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Newton Inn North Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel North Point
Newton Hotel Hong Kong
Newton Inn North Point Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newton Inn North Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.