We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bigger room than other hotel in HK based on same price & location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nathan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Nathan Hotel to your Saves list
Nathan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.378 Nathan Rd, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Jordan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“bigger room than other hotel in HK based on same price & location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked 3 rooms with Nathan hotel, spending a weekend at Hong Kong. The hotel provided free upgrade and allowed early check in.

Room: Spacious room than what we expected with comfortable bed & pillow. Free wifi in the room and counter staff are all very friendly too.

Meal: we don't book the hotel with breakfast because there is a famous breakfast stall (Nathan Congee and Noodle) located just 2 min walk next to the hotel building. It is offering Hong Kong style breakfast which recommended by Hong Kong Tourism Board website. As for lunch & dinner, we found yummy good food not near the hotel but at Harbour City (taxi: HK$45 from hotel) and Causeway Bay.

Transportation: Initially we are thinking to take either taxi or MTR to the hotel from airport (due to our 4 big luggages), surprisingly the airport bus A21 is so convenient and cheap way to take passenger to the hotel from airport. No worry if you have big luggage as these double-decker bus is designed in such a way that it has an area to accommodate passenger luggage. If the fist deck is full, passenger can go up to find your seat at second deck. and the good point is the bus has CCTV on second deck so that you still can keep an eye on your big luggage. The cost of airport bus is HK$33 for one way, which is cheaper if you buy two way.

Overall we are quite happy about our stay except the only negative point about this hotel. i found the lobby area has some sort of 'moldy' damp smell..not sure if any air purifier or freshener can hep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    417
    111
    21
    15
See reviews for
155
260
59
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is my 1st stay with Nathan Hotel HK. Personally I do not have any negative comments about this hotel except 1 small thing - distance from MTR is slightly far (10mins walk) but I felt it is still alright overall as you can walk n shop along the way to MTR Jordan Station. Hotel gave me a free upgrade from Nathan Grand Room (original booking) to suite room! We were impressed when we stepped into the suite room too! Room is clean, big and nice! Service in the hotel from door to reception to floor to cafe is very good! Though hotel lobby is not big but it is overall clean and well managed. K1 airport shuttle bus has a stop at Eaton Hotel which is just a small lane opposite Nathan Hotel so it is very convenient. Hotel also allow me to take a shower in the gym shower room although I've checked out of the hotel already.

Room Tip: Travellers should book Nathan Floor or Platinum Floor rooms as they are bigger and new rooms too. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

we stayed a week for holiday on beginning of june..love it..
we arrived very late..around 2 am..n the staff there makes the c/i very quick..not even 5 minutes..we already at our room n feel so happy to get rest.
they even upgrade our room to a very big room.
love the free wi-fi..coz u know how expensive to get internet connection in any other hotel in HK.
satisfied with the hotel..i'm willing to extend my holiday.. too bad i can't change back home flight date..all full.
so everything have to back on schedule :(

Room Tip: i'm on 9th floor..smoking floor.. big rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The best thing about Nathan is the service! We booked the hotel through asiatravel and requested for connecting rooms if possible. From the airport, we went straight to the hotel at around 11:30 am, hoping to drop off our bags and have lunch somewhere nearby while waiting for check-in. We were pleasantly surprised to be told that one of the rooms can be made ready in 15 minutes and the connecting room can be ready when we come back after lunch. Tracy Lee from front desk was very efficient in handling our check-in. She had a smile that made us feel very welcome.

You can tell that this hotel puts great importance on providing good service. They have an "employee of the month" form which you can fill up to nominate anyone who you think provided you with the best service. So you feel the warmth and willingness to help from the guy who opens the door, to the guy who takes the luggage, to the front desk staff and even the housekeeping!

- very convenient location; a 10 minute leisurely stroll from Jordan station; a McDonald's right across the hotel, and a Starbucks on the ground floor; Temple St. Night market is about 5 minutes away
- we booked the Nathan Grand rooms on the 12th floor; rooms are modern and clean; aircon is strong; beds are comfortable
- access to Nathan lounge was not a big thing for us; the lounge is much smaller than it looks on the website
- breakfast is ok but not great; choice is not extensive but at least you get the basics - eggs, bacon, beans, noodles, cereals; the only thing we didn't like about the restaurant is that the staff spoke little English so it was quite difficult to communicate

Room Tip: For a small difference, book the Nathan rooms. I think these are newly renovated floors/rooms so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We were surprised to see a bigger than normal room in Kowloon. We only stayed for the night. We had 2 kids with us and the size of the room were just right for all of us to move around. There's free wifi in the room. Also a Starbucks right by the lobby. The nearest MTR is about 2 blocks away. 7-11 just in the next street, mcdonalds across the street and temple street market is a few blocks away too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early May and had a really pleasant stay. The hotel is well located on Kowloon Road and is very easy to get to from the airport via the A21 airport bus ($HK33) which stops right outside. The room dimensions and bed (a double not a queen or king) were actually quite small for what we are typically used to in Asia but as we were out and about most days this didn't bother us at all (Note the nearby room allocated to our travel companions who had a combined booking with us & paid the same rate was much bigger so maybe its just luck of the draw?). The included buffet breakfast had a good selection and the staff were attentive and helpful. The only negative comment we can make is that the plumbing from the room above must have been located in the wall beside our bed as we were woken by the noisy gurgling each day at 6am when the occupant took an early shower :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Located on the main drag of Kowloon, the Nathan Hotel is well situated if you are keen on shopping / sightseeing around this area. It's very close to the Jordan station on the MTR and will get you easily up the road to Mongkok for the markets or down towards the harbour and TST for the sights. Being in between has it's benefits in that there are also the original markets just across the road (Jade markets etc)

Plenty of good and cheap eats, plus shopping around.

I arrived early in the morning and unfortunately my non smoking room was not available yet. The staff did offer me a smoking room with deodoriser, but of course these never work so I passed and refreshed myself with a free drink in the Nathan Lounge ( I was staying on the new renovated Nathan floors) so I decided to go shopping and came back around noon when they said the room would be ready.

The kind staff mentioned that my room was still not ready (check outs are midday) , however arranged a free upgrade to a King Nathan room which was appreciated.

The room was spacious by HK standards, big in room safe, clean, and well maintained. The choice on TV channels is a bit average, but good size flat panel and audio.

Room was quiet on 9th floor and it did include a buffet breakfast up on the 14th floor penthouse...the breakfast quite ok with the usual fare of mixed breakfast treats. Despite loathing Starbucks Coffee, the benefit of it built into the front of the hotel was handy and the serving sizes were huge.

I was happy with all aspects of the hotel, though the wifi was pretty poor with many drop outs and re-log required all the time....frustrating!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nathan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nathan Hotel

Address: No.378 Nathan Rd, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Jordan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#73 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#80 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nathan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located at the heart of Kowloon's Golden Mile Nathan Road and only 3 minutes by walk from the Jordan MTR subway station. It is surrounded by a large variety of restaurants, transportations, retail shops and night markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nathan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nathan Hotel Hong Kong
Nathan Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nathan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.