We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One bedroom suite perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Plaza Metropolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Plaza Metropolis to your Saves list
Harbour Plaza Metropolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 Metropolis Drive, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Hung Hom)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off and free wifi
Ranked #142 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
geelong
1 review
“One bedroom suite perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

This hotel is in Hung Hom, only 20min walk along the promenade to Kowloon or hotel shuttle bus less than 10 minutes, also just a couple of minutes from the Hung Hum train station. Very good location. Hotel buffet breakfast and dinner are sensational, fairly high price but well worth it. Staff are friendly, especially in the bar, Dorathy, Monica and Denis added to a great holiday. Appartments are too small so upgraded to a one bedroom apartment and well worth it. Views are great and even the rooms at the back have part harbour views. Rooms are really clean.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    537
    242
    59
    38
See reviews for
214
289
84
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights on our way home from a 6 week holiday in Europe. The location was good because you were away from the hussle and bussle of Nathan Road and the free shuttle every 20minutes to Nathan Road was great. We read so many reviews about small rooms in Europe but the rooms here were smaller. Had an upgrade to Harbour view room, but as mentioned in another review the view is only a corner view and not of Victoria Harbour which I had imagined. The front office staff were not very friendly and when we declined the offer to pay for an upgrade to the top floor the girl quickly fobbed us off and didnt tell us anything about the hotel. We didnt even no where to find the lifts to our room and didnt know about the swimming pool until I looked out the window and saw it. Eating in the hotel is very expensive, so ate in the mall which is attached to the hotel and also had a mini market. This hotel is very busy with business people and the reception area was always busy with people milling around.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladivostok, Russia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

The hotel has everything you might dream about - clean and cosy room, nice widow view (at least we had), swimming pool, friendly staff.
The hotel is located a bit far from the centre (Tsimsatsui area), but with the hotel bus service you can easily get the place and it's free. Buses run every 30 mins from the hotel. It takes about 10 mins to get Tsimsatsui. The same route is from Tsimsatsui. Also you can go by metro - you need just go through the shopping mall connected to the hotel.
The hotel staff is well-trained, helpful and friendly. They organised a sending off part of my luggage by post (I just could not pack all the new things I bought to my suitcase - shopping is one of the main attractions in Hong Kong :-). I only grabbed my luggage to the lobby and put to the box given by the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Spent 4 nights at this hotel in June. We checked in after a very late arrival from Australia and were given keys to a room on the 9th floor. We had booked a harbourview room and could not even see the harbour from this room. Upon calling reception, we were moved to a slightly larger room on the 21st floor. This room had a much better view and as mentioned, was slightly larger than the previous room (still absolutely tiny though). The room was very clean and as comfortable as can be when there are 2 people and 2 large suitcases in the room.

The location has both positives and negatives. I liked that it was away from most of the hustle and bustle, but so easily accessible. The complimentary shuttle is fantastic and made it very easy to get back after a long day of sightseeing. The Hung Hom MTR station is adjacent the hotel (accessed by walking through the Metropolis Mall) and the train system is so user friendly.

The pool was outdoors and heated with a view of the harbour. Definitely a nice way to relax after a hot and busy day. I disliked that the steam rooms were located in the change rooms and hence separate male and female rooms.

The restaurant had a nice layout for breakfast with lots of choices (both western and Chinese). I ordered room service from the Japanese restaurant on one night and was horrified at the price for the size of my meal (tempura consisted of 4 pieces of vegetables with a dipping sauce for $35AUD) Much better options in the mall and much cheaper.

I would have no hesitations in recommending this hotel, but suggest if you don't want a tiny room, to upgrade to a suite.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We opted to stay in this hotel based on advise on TripAdvisor although there are a number of hotels located in this neighbourhood. Where this hotel was the best was in terms of connectivity to public transport. A 5-min walk to the metro (trains to Shenzhen start from here) and a bus stop through the Metropolis Mall (inter-connected) makes this hotel a really good choice for people who want to move around HK on their own. In addition, the hotel runs a bus service (every 20 min) to its other property in the downtown area which is free of cost for hotel residents. This makes it easy to access the ferry and some tourist locations in the city (such as the Star Ferry, Heritage 1881, Avenue of Stars, etc.) as well as some of the speciality restaurants and malls.

We found the hotel staff courteous and friendly in a business-like manner, although on a couple of occasions when we were in a spot, we received prompt assistance from the manager of the hotel.

The rooms are fine although I found them slightly cramped. The bath was certainly cramped. But there are internet facilities in the room and if you are on the higher floors, then access to personal printer/fax machine, etc.

We did not try out the restaurants at the hotel, but the breakfast layout was pretty good. There was a decent choice including for vegeterians.

I found the pool, jacuzzi, sauna and gym (use is complementary for hotel guests) worth a re-visit, although it is better to use the pool early in the day.

Although the hotel participates in the Symphony of Lights (biggest live sound and light show in world), I dont recollect any place inside the hotel from where we could see this.

The adjoining Moetropolis Mall also provides options for shopping (7 Eleven, etc.) and food (Japanese, Indian, Thai, etc.)

In all, I may consider staying here again if I want to move around the city on my own (i.e., not with a guide taking you around).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

We read the reviews but stayed here anyway and LOVED it! It is a very busy hotel and I can see why people were upset that they didn't get the service they would have at the Peninsula or Mandarin, but neither were the prices! Jeff the concierge was nice, professional and caring. Yes, the hotel is a bit out of the way BUT there is a shuttle every 20mins that takes less than 10mins to the MTR or you can walk along the promenade and get a great view (15-20min walk), Or you can easily walk to the Hung Hom rail terminal. And there is a complimentary shuttle to and from the Kowloon Airport Express station. Yes the rooms were small but they were clean and modern. Every evening housekeeping dropped by and asked if we wanted extra towels or a new bathrobe! The only negative thing is everything is expensive at the hotel (but then it is Hong Kong!) and bottled water is not provided every day and we ended up paying 30HK$ for a bottle of water we drank in the minnie bar. And the i-net could have been cheaper or free.
But I must add that some of the negative reviews just don't make any sense to me and we have stayed in the Mandarin Oriental! Glad we stayed and would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

I stayed at the Harbour Plaza Metropolis for 3 nights while traveling to Hongkong with family.

The biggest plus point of the hotel is the convenient location. The hotel is right next to the Hung Hom MTR station and is a 5 minute ride from the main shopping district of Kowloon, Nathan Road, Tshim Tsha Tsui. The hotel has an excellent free shuttle service to and from TST every 20 minutes. We had no trouble commuting from and back to our hotel owing to this shuttle as we could take the MTR connection back to Nathan Road and conveniently hop on the shuttle which would take us back to the hotel. The shuttle is available till 2310 hours, and in case we returned later than that, we could easily take the MTR to Hung Hom station which was a short walk from the hotel.

Also it is a large hotel in a decent area in Kowloon. We happened to see a lot of other Kowloon hotels which were situated in the middle of no where or amongst cramped buildings and were thankful to be staying in a better area.

The biggest draw back of the hotel is, however, the fact that rooms are tiny. Though we had a side harbour view room, it was too tiny and poorly lit. As typical tourists would, we spent the entire day outdoors and returned late at night only, thus we were able to overlook the size of the room.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was very good. Breakfast included quite an elaborate continental and chinese spread.

Staff was fairly unfriendly. Bell boys are especially rude and expect a tip for nothing.

Overall I would conclude that I had a pleasant, comfortable stay at the Harbour Plaza Metropolis. Since we were out most of the day and till late at night, we managed to ignore the room size.
The convenient location and excellent shuttle service was a big plus.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Plaza Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza Metropolis

Address: No.7 Metropolis Drive, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Plaza Metropolis 4*
Number of rooms: 821
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your Harbour Plaza Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza Metropolis Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Metropolis Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Plaza Metropolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.