We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1000HKD notes are not accepted” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Plaza Metropolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Plaza Metropolis to your Saves list
Harbour Plaza Metropolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 Metropolis Drive, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Hung Hom)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #150 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,035 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“1000HKD notes are not accepted”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

A few hits and misses by this hotel. stayed for a total of 3 days and 2nights.

I arrived at 7am and was able to check in immediately as the hotel wasn't full, and was given a room on the 18th floor. Pretty good view. However, not too sure if it was the early hour but there wasn't a bellboy in sight and the counter staff didnt seem intent on signalling for one. oh well, saved myself a tip there.

Hotel staff was very prompt in replenishing the complimentary bottles of water but the water had a funny smell, small issue here. bought and boiled my own water instead.

Stay was ok and more or less in line with that I expected, but my main gripe was during checkout. I chose to settle my room by cash but was informed by the checkout staff that 1000HKD notes are not accepted due to counterfeit notes being circulated. Since when did that become my problem? Had no issues using 1000HKD notes at the shopping malls, in fact, even the MTR station has a device to verify the authenticity of the note upon purchase of an Octopus card. Can't believe that a supposedly 4star hotel did not invest in such a device.

Was rushing for my flight thus did not attempt to escalate the matter then. Once I was back I emailed the Guest Relations Manager and was brushed off with a very standard template saying thanks for my feedback.

Will not stay here again unless I have no choice. it's quite far from TST, even with the scheduled buses going to Middle Road. It also seems like the hotel has no intention of capturing repeat guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    506
    224
    54
    36
See reviews for
197
273
82
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
197 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
509 helpful votes 509 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Having been to Hong Kong for the past 20 or so years, and stayed at numerous hotels (Peninsula, Intercontinental, Four Seasons, Langham Place, The Langham, Novotel Century etc), this is certainly one of the few Hotels that offers a great view of the Hong Kong Island skyline. However, other than this superb view, the Hotel fails to deliver in almost all other instances ... read on.

Check in was a long 20 minutes wait, even if you were to book a Deluxe harbour view suite, it does not matter to them. Upon arrival at 2.20pm, we were told that our suite was still not ready, so I asked to upgrade to an available Grand Harbour view suite, and was asked to top up an extra HK$400 per night, fine, I agreed and we checked in right away.

Upon entering the so called Grand suite, my heart sank right to the bottom of the HK harbour ... Was told that the 'Grand' suite was around 70sqm, but it had felt more like 50-55 sqm at the most. Though the views of the Hong Kong island skyline was unblocked and very nice indeed, all other things are wrong. Firstly, our room 2001 was under some lounge or something, with constant furniture moving and walking sounds ... worse in the hall area but luckily, not so bad in the bedroom.

The Queen bed was as hard as a ÇONCRETE block, trust me, as I did not feel there were springs in it, seriously speaking! And like someone else had commented, the bed was rather short and we are Aisans of 1.65-1.7m height .... cannot imagine how taller Western guests were to cope? Asked for twin beds and they said there were none in these suites. As I was nursing a cold, and had wanted to sleep separately from my husband, their solution was to place a bed sheet over the two seater sofa in the sitting hall and they would call that a ''Bed'' - not good enough when you are paying this much to stay in a so called Grand suite, agree?

The odd shaped bedroom has its small bathroom with a small shower, sink, WC but no tub. And you would thought that a suite would have a second bathroom or WC in the hall area, no, not here!. In it's place, there was a kitchenette instead - an old microwave oven, a mid sized fridge and a few gas stoves. But where are all the pots, pans and cutlery? We asked and was told to check with Reception ... So, there you have a kitchenette but with no utensils in order to use it - proven totally useless to us!

Needless to say, the whole suite has no wow factor! It felt very cheap, as wear and tear could be seen at places, rotten door frames, not enough hangers, cheap shampoo with hair lotion combined into one bottle, etc etc. No Wifi in the suite (walk to the adjoining Shopping Centre to enjoy free Wifi) and no Lounge access, either! And although our Suite Stay Package had included both Chinese set breakfasts and Late check out at 4pm - we checked out early after 3 horrible nights here.

After years of travelling, we had finally had our worst Hotel breakfasts here - imagine, 3-4pcs of dim sum, a plate of vegetarian noodles and a bowl of plain porridge, all with no ingredients in it, and a cup of coffee or tea. If you think your budget does not allow you to serve your suite staying guests a free breakfasts, must as well say NO to them, no breakfasts is included. Why serve your most high paying guests such a breakfasts (see picture)??? So silly and mean of them.

On our second day morning, we voiced our concern and was given extra condiments like peanuts, spring onions and fritters for the plain porridge - a tad better but still not good enough! And so we decided to upheld our dignity and skip the free breakfasts on the third day and bought cakes in advance to have it in our suite instead. True enough, we felt so much better not having to eat nor see their so called ''Çhinese set breakfasts' early in the morning - sort of spoils your day!

To be fair to the Hotel, we did receive a plate of 3 pcs of fruits, two bottles of mineral water and an English newspaper daily, The free 3 times hourly shuttle to their sister Kowloon Hotel is also useful and proven very efficient indeed. And like my title had said, superb views of the Hong Kong island but the New Year's Eve fireworks countdown was a let down (not the Hotel's fault, but we had seen better in Venice, Italy and Singapore).

Overall, if you are a first or second time visitor to Hong Kong, then this Hotel may not be for you as the MTR line it is on is not directly linked to the rest of the more useful MTR lines. You would need either to walk long distances or make changes at certain stations. Unless you are travelling to or from Mainland China via the opposite Hung Hom station, then its a rather good reason to stay here, but do insist on Twin beds with a Harbour view if you must stay here.

For us, this Hotel is a no no, we will either go back to The Langham again or try the new Madera Hotel in the Jordan area (smaller rooms with comfy twin beds is more important than anything else I guess).

Room Tip: Higher floor, twin beds with harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Nice hotel with a nice view, very close to subway station, did not have breakfast there because it was overpriced. One remark: staff is incredibly slow, it took us 20 min just to check in and everytime there was a huge line of people waiting at the reception

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Good sized one bedroom apartment style room, very average toiletries and towels. Kitchen very, very basically provisioned and the hotel could not provide a toaster in the room which seemed odd for a long stay room. Bedroom is a bit small so better that you unpack but the bed is big. The gym is large and the cardio machines look over a nice pool, weights etc are downstairs with the rowing machine. Lots of bus groups come through this hotel so it can be pretty noisy in the corridors and restaurants and the front desk always seems understaffed. As other reviewers said, there do seem to be a lot of staff standing around doing nothing while only 3 of them work at the desk. It's very annoying. Bell boys are either very good or very lazy, if you can make sure they give taxi drivers your destination's full address. The whole place is a bit hit and miss. Well located next to a mall with a food court, supermarket etc if you are staying for a long time and Hung Hom station is a 5 min walk too.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs, the walls are thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel is very busy with long lines at the lobby desk always. The rooms are highly variable in size, cleanliness and amenities. I stayed in three - a suite with a kitchen, a balcony room over the pool and a standard room. All of the beds are short and hard. The front desk staff was highly variable - some excellent, others lacking training. When checking in the first night, the clerk did not know how to type in credit card numbers when it would not scan. We received multiple different quotes on the cost of a room when flights home were cancelled. Eventually, a highly skilled clerk helped us re-book and made it easy though the room was extremely over-priced. The location is good for travel to mainland. Those hotels around the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station are more convenient to HK.

Room Tip: Some rooms do have harbor views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We are in Hk, before CX n book this hotel for second time, since the price n the location are so convenient, located just crossing the street from Hung Hom train station n metro station, adjacent we got a medium size mall, with pharmacies shops, mini supermarket, and food court , getting to town we just need to get in the MTR or by shuttle bus from the hotel, we even got an upgrade and my room has pool view n a wooden bath tub in the balcony, to get warm baths every night after all the shopping n waking that Hk brings !!

Room Tip: Ask for the wooden bath tub !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We have been in asia for many years and staid at the Metropolis for 2 months as a long term stay in a very nice 1 bedroom suite. All very good with good gym and Pool and wonderful staff especially the bellmen. We checked out today after a 2 day stay and would not recommend to an enemy. 25 minute que to check in, the smallest room in asia, and lots of managers standing around as the staff tried there best. There is something very wrong with the GM and front desk manager, as the HP North Point and Grand are both fine properties. SuperMan LKS needs to look into this!

Room Tip: Get a room looking at the railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Plaza Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza Metropolis

Address: No.7 Metropolis Drive, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Plaza Metropolis 4*
Number of rooms: 819
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harbour Plaza Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza Metropolis Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Metropolis Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Plaza Metropolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.