We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elegant and modern (Langham) Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong to your Saves list
Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Mong Kok)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK NOW – UP TO 20% OFF
Ranked #11 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 4,060 Reviews
Latina, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An elegant and modern (Langham) Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful hotel during last July (three nights) and August (one night), for our honeymoon. As usual, we choosed it following the Tripadvisor’ reviews and comments.
We had a stopover in Hong Kong direct to Japan and coming back from Japan. We found the hotel to be a very elegant, modern, friendly and perfectly (perfectly!) located place to stay in Hong Kong. The hotel is located in the Mong Kok district. This district is characterized by a mixture of old and new multi-story buildings, with shops and restaurants at street level and commercial units above. We can have a very interesting shopping experience there. The Langham Place too is direct connected to a commercial centre.
The underground (metro) is close (no more than 200 metres) and one can use to get around Hong Kong. The Victoria Harbour is just two or three stops far.
In July as well in August rooms (Vital and Essential Place were the categories we choosed, the basic ones) were big, with a magnificent marble bathroom and a wonderful view (we were on the 30th floor!).
The breakfast at the hotel was absolutely fantastic: western and oriental food, a lot of fresh fruits, everything you can desire for a breakfast, independently of your nationality. The staff members were extremely helpful and kindly. We would like to give a special mention to Lorenzo: he is very friendly and professional. A nice person and a perfect receptionist.
In advance, the Langham Place sometime offers free Internet access in room if you find a package while you book the room. In the hotel there is at least one superb restaurant (we tasted it): the Ming Court, a Michelin Star Cantonese restaurant. There are also other two restaurants.
Finally, we suggest to book together with the room also the shuttle bus service: you can get to directly to the hotel from the Airport paying just HK$110.00 per person.
We would recommend this hotel for a great, romantic stay in Hong Kong, as well as for a business journey or something else. We believe that also families with children could have there a nice stay.
We are sure we will come back, one day.

Fabio & Roberta

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,959
    877
    159
    42
    23
See reviews for
840
1,458
319
746
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Have just returned from a brief 2 night shopping stay in Hong Kong staying at Langham Place Hotel. I could not recommend this hotel highly enough.
We arrived early after a long flight, and were able to check in very early as our room was avaailable. The staff are impeccably groomed and presented and courteous in every respect.
Having never been to HK previously, wasn't sure what to expact..but found this hotel to be in a perfect locaion for shopping. The adjacent Langham Place 13 storey Shopping Centre is terrific, with lots of more unusual shops. The hotel is also ideally positioned for easy acces to the Ladies Market, where bargaining is a must! The MTR system (subway system) makes it so easy to travel inexpensively, and the hotel is adjacent to Mong Kok station.
Our room had amazing views to the harbour, and was a good size.
The concierge was extremely helpful, and assisted us with maps and tips on where to go and the best ways to get there...nothing was too much trouble.
We ate one night at the ground floor restaurant, and enjoyed a beuatiful (and relatively inexpensive meal).
I found that the hotel was not as "stuffy" as some 5 star hotels can be, and loved the funky contemporary little marketing slogans used to brand the hotel eg: "My Place"
I dont believe you can go past this hotel for value and service...a must!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Our second stay here. Brilliant location in Mongkok, it's real Hong Kong out there and really easy and quick to get around as you are virtually on top of the MTR.

Spent 5 nights at Langham Place with our new daughter and my Mum. As before, faultless service, from limo pick up at the airport to housekeeping and the staff at breakfast. Very very professional but not too straightlaced to be really friendly too, especially with baby around.
Breakfast was excellent. And mountains of it should you feel able to carry on eating....
We stayed with baby in a Prime Place (with kitchenette and a wee bit more space) Mum had a standard room to herself. All totally comfortable.
One thing the hotel ought to consider is free wi-fi - especially as the hotel is marketed as really up with the latest technology. Having said that, the Portal area has usually got reasonable availablity of computers.
Other than that, the hotel is a fantastic package of comfort, service, location and amenities.
They even sent me up a (delicious) birthday cake and card, which was a total shock. Kind of softened the fact that my beloved family had forgotten it......

Would have to go some way to consider another hotel when back in Hong Kong next time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We chose Langham Place based on the reviews here and were satisfied with our weekend stay. Though it likely isn't the best in town in any particular dimension, it provides a good combination of comfort, style, convenience/location and price. Though our room rate did not include breakfast and in-room internet access was ridiculously expensive, the low cost of the room itself more than made up for it and is the single biggest reason why we would stay there again. Additional points for the free upgrade from 'Vital' to 'Essential' room ... was a nice gesture given that it was our anniversary

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123456789abcdefghi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Great middle market 5 star without the pretentous stuffiness, and price, of some of the high end hotels. The price was reasonable, though really they should be providing free wi-fi. It is a good location from which to access all of the greater Hong Kong area.
Very handy shopping centre in the linked tower where both eastern and western outlets are readily available. About 30 mins taxi from airport (approx 230 HKD).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed at the Langham Place for 3 nights at the end of our honeymoon and could not think of a better way to round off the holiday. We stayed in a club room and the facilities in the club lounge far exceeded all expectations. There was so much variety of food and drink provided that we barely needed to eat out at all during our stay. The views from the club lounge over the city are incredible (as are the views from the rooms) and the massage chairs were a really nice touch, despite actually being quite painful!

Our room was very modern and stylish and had all the little extras that you would expect from a hotel of this standard. Housekeeping also brought us little presents when they came to turn down the bed in the evening like a chill out cd, back massager and some bath salts which was lovely. As we were on honeymoon, the hotel also arranged for complimentary sparkling wine and heart shaped chocolates to be in our room on arrival.

The pool area is very nice, although many of the loungers seemed to end up in the shade for most of the day due to the roof structure above. The changing rooms are fantastic with steam room, sauna, relaxation bath and excellent showers with lots of fresh towels provided. This really made a difference on our last day as we checked out of the room at 12 but didnt leave the hotel until 8pm. It was great to be able to shower, blow dry hair and freshen up in such great facilities. There was even a sterilising machine full of clean hairbrushes and combs in the ladies room for guests to use and deoderant and toothbrush kits provided. We were also able to use the club lounge facilities until we left the hotel in the evening.

As a tourist, I didnt think the location was brilliant. Mong Kok was a good 40 min walk down to the harbour and we struggled to find any bars or restaurants in the area around the hotel. However, the MTR has a station just outside and from there, it is very quick, cheap and easy to get anywhere in Hong Kong so the location wasnt a problem at all. I would definitely recommend the Langham Place to visitors to Hong Kong and would certainly stay there again myself.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

This is my third stay at the magnificent Langham place hotel. I agree with some of the reviews that the hotel needs alittle fine tuning on some of it's slightly worn areas, but for me , its still a superb hotel and fantastic value for money.

The whole Club L experience is amazing. Premium free alchol from 11 am to 1am(most lounges have a 6pm to 8pm limit) lovely food throughout the day and a superb setting.Even on the day you check out you are encouraged to use the lounge facilities until you need to leave for the airport. so for those other review that such and such a hotel is better, it's all relative given the genuine hospitality and fantastic value.
The pool and Spa area are still top notch.

Great atmosphere in the longe and met some great people.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong

Address: No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004 and rising 42-storys from the epicenter of Mongkok, the Langham Place Hotel features spectacular views of the Kowloon peninsular and the breath-taking backdrop of Victoria Harbour. Rooms feature oversized baths, blissful beds and large plasma screen televisions. Alongside a lexicon of technological treats including state-of-the-art IP phones you can update with photos, flight details and more before you arrive, and there's a mobile version you can take anywhere in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, AsiaRooms, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Place Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Langham Place
Langham Place Hotel Hong Kong
Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.