We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hard to get better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong to your Saves list
Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Mong Kok)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% OFF!
Ranked #12 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very hard to get better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed at the hotel over 3 nights. It was a business trip so did not really get the chance to really enjoy hong kong. The hotel however was really fantastic. Right from check in the service staff were really helpful and maybe more importantly they were very sincere with their offers to help. Have stayed in quite a few hotels and I rarely feel a truly sincere welcome like the one I received here.

The rooms are really nice, up there with all the other 5 star hotels. Very comfortable bed with a great view. Very clean and well taken care of. Free wifi is included and absolutely useful although wifi can get pretty slow at times. Upgrade options are available but I went with the cable option in the room which kinda solved the issue. My devices just used data roaming throughout the stay.

Had breakfast throughout my stay there and it was as you would expect from a 5 star hotel, all the usual stuff is there for you.

Location seems to be really good though. It was just a few minutes to most of my meetings and the fact that there is Langham Place mall connected to it makes it really convenient for you to get anything that you need/want. During my taxi rides to and from the hotel, I saw a lot of shopping and food options around it.

In Summary, a great place to stay for work or shopping and leisure. Sincerity is the key here and I was really impressed with that.

Room Tip: Not sure which room I got but it had a really great view of Hong Kong. It was facing Langham Place M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,144
    927
    171
    46
    24
See reviews for
910
1,535
335
787
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here with my young family (toddler + baby).

As far as the hotel and room are concerned, the other reviews are pretty correct - it is the hotel's location and the covenience for shopping and sightseeing that made it stand out for us.

For young kids, one positive service of this hotel was that they had toys and DVDs to be rent for free which helped keep the kids entertained.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I had been at this hotel many times. And came back this time with my family.

Checkin: Fast, easy, friendly.

Room:
Rooms are really ok, good size. But after all those years a little bit worn. We felt the rooms we had always a little bit humid. And there are a few details which are not perfect any more.
They try really to offer special amenities also in the room, but you can see and feel that a kind of renovation should be done during the next years.
Overall: Not bad, but it is not excellent anymore.

Spa & Pool:
Both are very nice. The spa is also a little bit worn, nothing serious, but after years of perfection, maybe I became too critical.
The pool is a real asset. Perfect for swimming and relaxing. Loved it.

Club L:
Very friendly people. Engaged. Trying hard. But I missed the "friendship attitude, I loved so much". This is -of course- due to the "changes". People come and go, and so the team does.
Overall: A very good performance.

Breakfast in the lobby restaurant:
Very good. Lot of people, lot of live. Good food, nice team.

Value:
For HK one of the best values. You will hardly fine a hotel offering more for the buck.

Location:
Yes, this is HK. Love the location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Check-in/out process was quick. Room was clean & staff was courteous. What pleasantly surprised us was that staff was not merely efficient but, actually warm and friendly. That, I think, is rare in HK. So, kudos to the staff and those who have mentored them on customer service. Our family room for three had two large and I must stress, very comfortable beds and pillows. (How I wish though that they would sell the square pillow variant in the hotel shop). The August temperatures forced us to stay indoors much of the time. Thankfully, annexed to the hotel was Langham Mall with many interesting shops and local restaurants. On the basement level of the mall is the mtr-- very convenient, indeed! We are looking forward to staying here again in December.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Good location, good friendly service and downstairs areas of hotel very nice, as was bar which was cool had very good service, god entertainment and very good drinks / cocktails.

Room though we had was disappointing for the price and category, a bit scruffy and dated and not completely clean. It was a bit like leaving one hotel and going to another.

Handily located adjacent to new mall and MTR station and a number of snack and eating options. The hotel Cantonese restaurant Ming Court was absolutely excellent and well worth a visit in its own right!

Room Tip: Try and ask ofr renovated room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

As I write this there have been 2,313 reviews rated excellent and another 667 rated as very good. I can confirm, that in my opinion, this is an excellent Hotel. We stayed for 3 nights on our way home to NZ, it was an inspired choice. The first thing to strike you was the remarkable service. We landed at 7am so were in the lobby checking in well before the check in time. The young lady on the desk could not have been more helpful and ensured we were first in the queue for a room. We had lashed out and booked a suite so were quickly ushered into the Club facilities for approx. a hour, when the suite was ready. Everybody was charming and helpful.

The suite was everything we hoped for, a corner location (37th floor) with panoramic views of the most amazing cityscape you would wish for. The room was very well appointed, great bed and a super bathroom. We spent a fair bit of time in the Club L - the facilities were superb, breakfast was served here but snacks, light meals and drinks were available all day and until late. It was well worth the upgrade. The roof top pool was splendid as was the spa/sauna. I am no gym person but it appeared that all the required gear was present.

The Mong Kok location was fascinating, you really felt you were in Hong Kong and not in another bland high rise hotel district. The flower and bird markets were nearby as were the various night markets. The Mong Kok metro station was downstairs; the metro/underground system is busy but modern and a great cheap way to get around. Tip - tube to Tsim Sha Tsui, catch the Star ferry to central and bus to Stanley Bay. Great little trip.

Thoroughly recommend Hong Kong as a destination and this Hotel as a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Langham is located adjacent to the Mongkok MRT, (4 stops to central) and the Langham shopping centre and is one of the better Kowloon business hotels with several good restaurants. The staff are friendly and efficient though without the polish of the upper end chain hotels. The business centre though small is fine and the meetings rooms good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong

Address: No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004 and rising 42-storys from the epicenter of Mongkok, the Langham Place Hotel features spectacular views of the Kowloon peninsular and the breath-taking backdrop of Victoria Harbour. Rooms feature oversized baths, blissful beds and large plasma screen televisions. Alongside a lexicon of technological treats including state-of-the-art IP phones you can update with photos, flight details and more before you arrive, and there's a mobile version you can take anywhere in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Place Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Langham Place
Langham Place Hotel Hong Kong
Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.