We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong to your Saves list
Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Mong Kok)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% OFF!
Ranked #12 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at the Langham Place for 3 nights in February/March 2013. This hotel is at a great location, in the middle of everything - within easy walking distance to Nathan Road, to the various street markets, to the "bird street" and "fish street", etc. You walk out of the hotel, a few steps away and you get to a street lined with vendors selling fresh vegetable, fruits, meats, seafood, etc. The hotel is connected to a big shopping mall, which is convenient.

The hotel is relatively old. Our room was clean, as expected for this level of hotel, but the carpet showed its age. One thing that bothered me a little was there was the smell of "humidity" in the room - not as bad as mildew, but something. I did not complain since I did not think there was anything they could do. The hotel's service was good. The concierge was very helpful.

There is a 2-star Michelin rated Chinese restaurant "Ming Court" on the 6th floor of the hotel, which served good Chinese food. We had lunch and dinner there once each. The dimsum lunch was delicious. The dinner was good, but for the price I would not rate it excellent, and the service was so-so. There is a restaurant in the mall called "Jasmine Garden" which served excellent dimsum lunch and dinner! It appeared to be quite popular among the locals. We loved the food there better than Ming Court and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,134
    926
    171
    46
    24
See reviews for
906
1,533
335
784
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (880)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before and have always prefered this Langham over the one in Tsim Sha Tsui. This is a new building in Mongkok which I love as its easy access to great local food and not as crowded as TST.

The checkin process was efficient, friendly and the manager came to greet us. We got upgraded to a higher floor room which was nice and the room is very modern, clean and well serviced. The amenities were great and well covered for both men and women.

The best thing about this hotel as well for me is the rooftop pool. Its like being in a resort right in the middle of Hong Kong city! The pool was heated so using it in Feb was perfectly fine.

Two things that annoyed me but no big deal which led to the 'Very Good' over 'Excellent'
1. The reservation was made in my name and my partner's name was added as a second guest staying. on the second day, we noticed the booking was changed to his name presumably because they found out he is in hotel as well. I just thought that was inconsistent and rude considering I was paying for it.
2. Housekeeping was a little late.. We were out all morning and got back to the room about 4pm and the room still wasn't serviced. that was a little annoying because we wanted to take a little rest before heading out for dinner.

Minor things but overall great hotel and will certainly stay here again on my annual visit to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel offers for a fair price all you need in order to survive on a business trip or on your holidays in this dynamic city. The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated with a fantastic view on Hong Kong. Find yourself after a long working day in the SPA, gym or finish your day in the outdoor swimming pool on the 43rd floor. The restaurants are a little bit expensive but offer you the quality and service for the asked price. Breakfast buffet is motivation enough to start the day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

In the heart of the hustle and bustle of Mongkok, 2 minutes from the wonderful light rail and 5 minutes from the Ladies market, this magnificent but not pretentious hotel is the ideal place to stay in Hong Kong. We can't fault it. The staff really want you to enjoy their city and go to great lengths to help. The pool, the bar areas, the gym and spa area, all make your stay at the Langham a pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of prior occasions and I like it best of all the hotels in which I have stayed in Hong Kong. We booked on the club floor as we have with our previous visits. We got a great deal through Hotels.com. We arrived early in the morning and similar to our last visit they invited us to have breakfast on the Club floor and wait for our room. We were allowed early check in to our room which was wonderful since we had flown all night from Australia. The room was very comfortable, with great beds and lovely bathroom supplies. The food and drinks were very good in the Club.
The staff in the Club were the highlight as they were extremely helpful. My sister and I came primarily to shop. Unfortunately I had a problem with lost tailoring as the tailor claimed I had not given him the correct address for the hotel. The club staff followed this up and went to great lengths to contact the tailor and through their efforts I was ultimately united with my new clothes. I was very impressed.
I also love all the funky art through the hotel. Though it was cool weather and I didn't have a swim this time, I think it is a good idea to have access to a pool in Hong Kong (particularly if you come when it is warmer).

Room Tip: I have always stayed on the Club floor and think it is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the Langham Place hotel twice with our travelling party of 8 people, 4 Adult children (18 yo-22yo) and 2 Adults. we utilised the hotel service of the pick up from the airport which was a easy and quick process.
The check in was friendly with the staff being very gracious and helpful..
we had two rooms being a Quad room for the kids (4 ) and a corner essential plus room.
Both rooms were great sizes and the extra touches of the DVD player, pillow menu and turndown service first class.
We used alot of the services at the hotel, being the Gym,Club L, Portal lounge and Backyard.
The Gym is well appointed with the shower/change area, steam room a relaxing area.
The Club L staff, food and massage chairs are a slice of heaven after a busy day in Hong Kong.
We had drinks in the Backyard a couple of times after busy days of sightseeing and shopping.
we only found the Portal Lounge at the end of our time at the hotel, but were happy with the cheese platter we had and the drinks 2 for 1 at "Happy Hour" between 5pm -9pm ( a must)
As mentioned in other reviews the MTR is really close to the hotel and very easy to use.
The buffet breakfast and lunch in the Restaurant is great value with a huge range of foods from all around the world to choose from.
it is really hard to fault this hotel, and the Mongkok area is an exciting area to be in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

To Langham Staff from some very pleased guests a most gracious thankyou.
Previously stayed 5 nights early March.
From pickup at airport to drop off at airport in hotel limousine top service and amenities.
Celebrating 2 special events we were thoroughly looked after and spoilt.
A special thankyou to all Club L staff for looking after us, we really felt we were their special guests, so friendly, gracious and professional, we felt right at home.
The Club floors are extremely worth their value. All the special little touhes.
An intimate and filling dinner at Tokoro,and dinner at Ming Court topped off the stay, and the B ackyard late after dark, was so relaxing and quite intimate with the lighting and atmosphere.
Being attached to the shopping centre a big bonus, with food and shopping options galore.
Mongkok was a great location to stay being both new and very traditional in surrounds.
Easy to get around from here and knowledgable and helpful staff to assist you.
All in all a fantastic trip to Hong Kong, staying at Langham Place great to come home to at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Club room or suite for a relaxing stay especially if for a special occasion with everything turned o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong

Address: No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004 and rising 42-storys from the epicenter of Mongkok, the Langham Place Hotel features spectacular views of the Kowloon peninsular and the breath-taking backdrop of Victoria Harbour. Rooms feature oversized baths, blissful beds and large plasma screen televisions. Alongside a lexicon of technological treats including state-of-the-art IP phones you can update with photos, flight details and more before you arrive, and there's a mobile version you can take anywhere in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Place Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Langham Place
Langham Place Hotel Hong Kong
Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.