We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST hotel service ever experienced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Mong Kok)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LINGER LONGER!
Ranked #10 of 645 hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“BEST hotel service ever experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at Langham Place, Mongkok, from 25-28 Nov 2012 as a family on vacation. We booked their Club Studio, and when we checked in at 1pm on the 36/F Club Lounge, we were told that the room was not available yet. We were offered drinks and options to rest and relax in the lounge (with food, drinks and massage chair) or we could opt to have our lunch first at the connecting Langham Shopping Mall. Service was prompt, good and sincere by the service staff at the Club Lounge, good first impression.

Upon returning from lunch, we were promptly given our keys and they were nice to give us a room upgrade to 1 bedroom suite, which comes with a fully equipped kitchen, separate living area and 1 bedroom. The kids were excited to discover the little surprises at the suite (the FREE ice-cream at the freezer was a BIG plus, and the humourous sign that reads "You have found me, NOW I am yours for FREE". Service was very prompt when we asked for more slippers, children's bathrobe and our kids were given a kids' set each (a booklet, some stationery and a cap) to keep them occupied.

My boys enjoyed the macaroons and chocolates at the club lounge, and the icing on the cake was the free loan of the ipad which kept them occupied while the parents lazed around to have some free time. They even had a kids playroom just opposite to the club lounge, equipped with potato chips, M&Ms, jelly beans etc, very thoughtful arrangement and layout! The service staff at the Club lounge was top-notch, always happy to serve, and service comes from the heart. We felt welcomed during our entire stay and our boys were extremely sad to leave Langham Mongkok during check out, even though we were checking out to check in at Disneyland HK hotel! During our stay at the Disneyland HK hotel, our boys were still missing Langham, and harping to go back and stay during our next HK trip! To think that kids actually prefer Langham over Disneyland HK Hotel, this says a lot about how happy they were with the hotel. We will DEFINITELY go back soon! THUMBS-UP to the dedicated Langham Mongkok staff! :)

P.S. I travel frequently on business, and I dont normally like to leave review for any hotels, unless the service is EXCEPTIONALLY BAD or GOOD. I must also add that I am quite a fussy traveller as I had stayed in a lot of good hotels in various countries, this Langham Mongkok comes up as one of my top choices, quite effortlessly, kudos to the Langham team!

Room Tip: definitely go for the CLUB ROOM if you have the budget. it's worth every cents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,772 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,748
    817
    142
    42
    23
See reviews for
764
1368
300
677
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Prien am Chiemsee, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

6years, twice a year I am staying at 'Home' @ the Langham Pl. The rooms would need a little help soon, but over all I can highly recomment the area, service, friendlyness and concept! I have stayed in different hotels during the last 12 years but here I feel welcome and cared for. Thumbs up for the effort!
Ask for corner rooms: best ..01 or ..39, hogh floors...!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

For my second visit to the Langham Place in Mong Kok I returned with my family, staying in the new family rooms on 37 floor. We booked a Quad Place room for HK$2800 plus taxes and were upgraded to the new style room which gives a king room, bathroom and doorway to a twin share with separate toilet. Both rooms have flat screen TVs and storage space, and more toiletries than I have ever seen in a complimentary pack, including combs, toothbrushes, sewing repair kits, nail files, shoe shine clothes as well as the usual shower requirements.

The Langham lived up to my memory of superb service, from the moment you arrive to departure. My son was ill during our stay and nothing was too much trouble, including prompt housekeeping to change soiled beds, and the hotel manager arranging a doctor to whom I could speak with prior to arrival, this meant he came armed with the correct medicine. Loved the Sri Lankan waiter at breakfast who recognized our accents and immediately started a cricket conversation with our boys, as well as a discussion on Dilmah Tea!

We used the roof top pool which is a little oasis that gives amazing views from the 42 floor and the day spa, which deserves its rating as a top 10 day spa in Hong Kong. The relaxation room has floor to ceiling window views giving an amazing vista, and you can access this room without using today spa. The pool and spa change rooms have everything you need without having to access your personal toiletries. the is even a powerful swim suit spinner, high centrifugal force that spins your swimsuit to almost dry, perfect for a last swim before departure. If you join the 1865 membership, you can have an additional 30 mins to a booked massage for no extra charge. This is great value, as my 90 min deep tissue massage was about A$120 and the treatment was faultless. There is an excellent gym, on the same level as the day spa, great views to workout to.

The hotel location is terrific, shoppers paradise with the walkway to the adjacent mall. Great option for a cheaper family meal in the food hall. The MTR is handy and easy to navigate with all the signs showing where the hotel is. Ladies market is accessible via a Nathan Road underpass and 1-2 street corners and you are there. Unfortunately we didn't make it to the bird and flower market, which we read about in the in room guide to Mong Kok. We caught a taxi from Kowloon station and it was about 10 mins ride, very affordable rates. We had to catch a taxi to the airport at 5 am in the morning for an early flight, as the airport train was not operating at this time, and it was A 30min journey.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms give terrific views, and are in the same lift bank as the day spa which is on leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Staying at the Langham is very much a style choice - it's quite feminine with pink touches but it has a wonderful personal touch and you'll feel very welcome there. The staff were very pleasant especially the maid service. The front desk were very efficient and friendly but sometimes trying to do too many things at once so not quite the personal touch that other staff in the hotel have. The hotel is beautifully decorated, the rooms are exceptionally clean and look fantastic and the hotel provide lots of toiletries etc that go above and beyond your normal hotel room. I was unfortunatelly very ill whilst I was at the hotel and my maid was exceptionally kind, paid special care to me and offered to help my locate doctors etc.

Room Tip: choose a high floor. You'll obviously pay more for a room with a view but actually if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Good location, right on top of Mong Kok station. Reasonable size rooms, very quiet (a big plus in Hong Kong). Staff were nice and helpful at all times. Overall great value for money. From 29th floor, we had a nice view overlooking the eastern edge of Hong Kong island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Langahm place is a great hotel if you want to be right in the centre of the action in downtown Mongkok. The hotel is beautifully efficient and my room was spaciuos and well equipped. Placed right in the centre of the main shopping district its an absolutely perfect position for shopaholics and there is a huge mall attached to the actual hotel. planty of good eateries surround you and the buffet and Japanese restaurant in the hotel are amazingly. I chose a club room on the 40th floor and these rooms are a must for the best views. i will be back again and probably again.

Room Tip: Floor 40 club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Residence Suite, which also gave us access to the Langham Club Lounge.
We had the Langham "maxi cab" transfer and felt really ripped off as for a short 20 minute ride, we were charged about US100! In hindsight, we could have simply taken a taxi.
However, the negatives ended there. The driver informed the hotel as we were arriving, and a "Check-in Angel" greeted us with our room keys ready (and balloons for my 2 little ones). She walked us to our suite and explained everything to us. She was professional and check it was a breeze.
The Residence suite only had a King Bed and a sofa (Not pull out) in the living area, so we once again had to fork out cash for an extra bed, and when placed together with the sofa, could sleep both my kids (aged 6 and 3) quite comfortably.

The highlight of the hotel was the Langham Club. They served a good breakfast, there is always a wide selection of drinks available, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. In an adjoining room was a lounge area which had computer games, and my kids enjoyed it!

The location of Langham was also good, with direct passageway to Langham Place shopping mall. There was a lot of restaurants in the mall for meals too. It was also a stone's throw away from the ladies market and the MTR station.
Overall, it's definitely not the cheapest accommodation in HK, but well worth it, especially with young kids as we tend to spend more time in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong

Address: No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004 and rising 42-storys from the epicenter of Mongkok, the Langham Place Hotel features spectacular views of the Kowloon peninsular and the breath-taking backdrop of Victoria Harbour. Rooms feature oversized baths, blissful beds and large plasma screen televisions. Alongside a lexicon of technological treats including state-of-the-art IP phones you can update with photos, flight details and more before you arrive, and there's a mobile version you can take anywhere in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, AsiaRooms, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and HotelsClick so you can book your Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Place Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Langham Place
Langham Place Hotel Hong Kong
Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.