We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, lots of extra nice details” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong to your Saves list
Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Mong Kok)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% OFF!
Ranked #12 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Convenient location, lots of extra nice details”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Langham Place hotel offers excellent customer service, superbly clean facilities at a great location. The hotel is connected to a large shopping mall with many fast casual dining options and a nice grocery store with many U.S. products. The subway is also in the basement of the mall making getting around very easy. This hotel is not located by the waterfront, main train station (for transferring to Mainland China) or convention center, but the subway takes you there with ease.
We stayed in a double room for one night. The rooms are not large, but they have plenty of space for everything as they have been well designed. The bathroom wall is glass and has a curtain into the room which gives a lot of extra light and makes the room feel even bigger. The shower and tub are split. The shower had excellent water pressure. The bar soap holders were even a unique design allowing for the water to properly drain off and not leave a gooey mess. The hotel provides an iPhone to lend out for navigating around town. In room Wi-Fi was included with our room. It connected easily and was fast. The air conditioning worked well and everything was conveniently controllable from a panel next to the bed. The business center loans out iPad for use on property.
We also used the workout room. It is located at the top of the hotel so you can workout surrounded by stunning views. Each locker room had a sauna.
The only low point for me was the breakfast buffet. They intend to provide coffee service, but it was poor service. Many guests ended up trying to work the coffee machines on their own because the wait was so long. The food was not on the level of the Langham we stayed at in New Zealand. I did enjoy the machine that baked single pancakes. The options seems limited for such an expensive buffet.
If you only have one night in Hong Kong or want to splurge on a shopping visit, this would be the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,144
    927
    171
    46
    24
See reviews for
910
1,535
335
787
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Like most of the other users have already noted in their reviews, this is a great modern/trendy hotel located in a desirable part of Kowloon - Mong Kok. It is close to shopping, a few touristy attractions, and to an MTR station with access to two lines.

We selected this hotel because it is one of few that would allow four people to a room. The four-person family room is a GREAT VALUE! It is still rather expensive, but you get a lot for the price you pay ($350-$400ish?). The four-person room we stayed in was a rather large room for Hong Kong standards - plenty of space to walk around after placing your suitcases in the room.

My only complaint was that this hotel does offer smoking rooms so traces of the god awful smoking smell was still mildly detectable even though we were placed in a non-smoking room. They really just need to make the hotel entirely non-smoking! I HATE smoking and HATE EVEN MORE the smell that lingers, but this complaint is not enough for me to not recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and 3 year old daughter, I can not talk highly enough about the Langham Place. The rooms were very clean and well appointed, staff were very friendly and most importantly very accomodating to childeren.

I cant wait to stay at this place again.

Oh, did I mention the Langham Place Shopping Mall next door with great restaurants and great access to the MTR. 5 Stars *****

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My favourite hotel in Hong Kong.

Great location in the heart of the shopping district of Mongkok and excellent service all-round. But what makes this hotel stand out from the crowd is its customer-centric management.

Their branding is superb and always has the customer in mind. Eg providing complimentary Langham Place peppermint holders which has a handy mirror on the inside and can be used as a business card holder when empty and lending iPhone 4s for easy navigation around Hong Kong,

The facilities are top-notch and I sleep like a baby. It's clean and the breakfast is wonderful.

Great place to stay for special occassions or if you want to splurge once in a while.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 5days on first week of Nov.

Just like the thousands of great review for this hotel, it live up to all my expectations.
Centrally located due to easy and short walking distance to MTR. Plenty of restaurants and shop around the area. 3 MTR station to TST.

TST and Nathan road are more crowded than Mongkok and that is one of reason we choose langham place. The main reason is the great reviews.

The staff are all professionally trained and provide top notch service. The room are well maintain and of highest quality. we stayed in 30th floor with good view of the city.Breakfast is not the best but its ok. Plenty of options.

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for great city hotel both for business and pleasure stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed during the last 8 years often at the Langham Place. It is always like coming home when I arrive here.
What I like:
* Location: Mongkok is great. You are close to MTR and train station when you want to head towards Shenzhen. It is even easy to go by public transport to the airport.
* Rooms: Enough space, even the standard rooms. Well designed and decorated. Nevertheless some rooms are a little bit worn. Always clean.
* Spa and gym: Gym is nice, not outstanding. Spa offers good treatments, but not cheap. Sometimes I don't see a good value proposition...
* Langham Place Club: Nice lounge, continuous improvements. One of the better hotel clubs in HK. Good food, middle priced wines, good selection. AND: Outstanding team. The club team makes everything possible. You can ask for everything, they help you. I didn't have seen such an engagement in a hotel before.
* Service and team: Outstanding. The Langham Place team makes the difference. As said before the club team is great. But also waiters, concierge, etc. are friendly, competent and supportive.
* Restaurants:
Ming Court: Very good restaurant. But even with 2 Michelin stars it isn't my favorite. I miss the "easy going" of the hotel.
Tokoro: Yes, this is the langham place style: Good japanese food and outstanding beef. Mr Hirayama is an excellent chef de cuisine. If you are there, then give them a try.
* Pricing: Compared with other 5* hotels in HK Langham Place offers a very good value for your money. I'm used to Grand Hyatt and Shangrila, too. Both are mostly more expensive.
* Summary: Very good hotel. It is not a classic "Grand" hotel, it is a superb place to stay and to enjoy HK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPHKG, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hi TMG001,

So pleased you continue to enjoy your stays with us after eight years and appreciate your honest review. Look forward to welcoming you back to your Hong Kong home soon.

DREAM BIG!
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Spent three days here. This hotel is smack dab in the middle of Mongkok, attached directly into the shopping mall. Flavoured air was a nice touch. Modern almost floral tones to all the decor of the hotel, gave it an extremely polished and beautiful look. The rooms were spectacular -- new, clean, iPod dock, TVs, ours had a great view of Mongkok in all its glory. Price point was a bit high but for location and quality of hotel, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong

Address: No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004 and rising 42-storys from the epicenter of Mongkok, the Langham Place Hotel features spectacular views of the Kowloon peninsular and the breath-taking backdrop of Victoria Harbour. Rooms feature oversized baths, blissful beds and large plasma screen televisions. Alongside a lexicon of technological treats including state-of-the-art IP phones you can update with photos, flight details and more before you arrive, and there's a mobile version you can take anywhere in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Place Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Langham Place
Langham Place Hotel Hong Kong
Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.