We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home in Hong Kong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong to your Saves list
Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Mong Kok)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK NOW – UP TO 20% OFF
Ranked #11 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 4,060 Reviews
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“At home in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The amazing staff makes you feel like you are almost at home. Great physical plant, comfortable rooms and very clean. I love their lavender pillows--ask for one.
In Hong kong for extended stays 3 or 4 times a year. Would not consider going to another hotel. One of the staff brought me homemade chocolate!

Room Tip: I have never had a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,959
    877
    159
    42
    23
See reviews for
840
1,458
319
746
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

How would you feel about a hotel where the teenagers can safely access a 13 level shopping mall without leaving the hotel. Where the younger kids can swim in the rooftop pool or watch videos and play xbox games in their own club room, with jars of lollies and treats to enjoy. Where YOU can go any time, day or night, and enjoy an ever changing array of snacks with a glass of French Champers (or any beverage your heart desires), whilst checking up on the latest news one of the hotel's iPad and enjoying the magnificent view over Hong Kong. (If you'd prefer you can relax in a massage chair and become mesmerised by the goldfish).

My two girls and I (aged 7 & 16) had a "sweet room" on the club floor. (room 3629) It comprised two rooms - a big bedroom with loads of cupboard space and large bathroom with bath/shower and double shower. The lounge room became my teenage daughter's room but there was also a couch, small dining table & chairs and cloakroom with loads of space and great lighting for a teenage girl's makeup needs.

The kids were thrilled when we came into the room to find Ben & Gerry's ice cream in the freezer with a little note "You Found Me!". and that's how our stay unfolded. Surprises and comforts at every turn. The beds are really comfortable, there is a pillow menu which included rose petal and lavender varieties; and a view to die for from both rooms.

A quick walk to the Ladies' Market, Night Market, Goldfish Street, Flower Street, Bird Garden, and of couse the huge mall attached to the Hotel. Easy access to anywhere you want to go - there's an MTR station in the mall's basement. (Cabs great are cheap and if you have young kids, make things so much easier.)

The only thing I could find fault with was the food (and I'm a bit picky). The breakfast buffet was a bit stale. We ended up taking breakfast in the Club Lounge, and as it was only a couple of doors from our room, I could leave the kids in the room and pop down for an early coffee or late drink. We had previously stayed at another hotel where the food was exceptional. Had we started our trip at the :Langham, I probably wouldn't make mention of the food. If the kids are fussy eaters or you're on a budget, just pop across to the food hall at the mall and bring back something - a much better option than room service which we found to be a bit ordinary. There seemed to be no clear focus in the food as to whether it was asian or western.

The Two Michellan Star Ming Court was a bit of a let down for me. Perhaps I was expecting more for the Stars?. We had Peking Duck which was fine, but I think not so good as many Melbourne restaurants. Ambience was somewhat lacking. Too bright, to open- a little like a function venue. The standout for me was the house-made beancurd with black truffle. It came with a piece of shimmering gold leaf to top it off. Sensation overload - so pretty, simple and delicious. The Chicken and mushroom consomme was also a standout. Served in a clear glass teapot with a clear glass cup - pretty, clear, aromatic and it just tasted like "essence of chicken'.

All in all - I could happily live in this hotel. The Club Floors are definitely worth the extra bucks. You save so much on eating out when your choice of breakfast and snacks are there whenever you want them. The staff are friendly and remember your name, your likes and dislikes. They are caring and seem quite genuine in their exuberance for what they do. Nothing is too much trouble. I LOVE this hotel!!

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room or suite with Club access. It's definitely worth the extra and will reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPHKG, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi noojeenut,

That you and your two daughters felt all your wants and needs taken care of here at Langham Place brings the team much satisfaction and we’re more than happy for you to call us your home here in Hong Kong! We’ve also taken note of your comments about our restaurants.

Best regards,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have stayed in Club Place in Langham and it was fantastic experience. Though the hotel is not very new, the rooms are very good equipped, with everything you need. The Club was onre of the best I ever been too, with the huge offer on food and drinks practically 24 hours a day. The service was perfect. The pool on the roof is a bit small and crowded on weekend, but still nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had a wonderful week relaxing and enjoying Hong Kong with this lovely hotel as our base. The staff are wonderful at anticipating guests needs and I especially loved the night bed turn down service with my little slippers by the bedside inviting me to relax after a busy day pounding the pavements of exhilarating Hong Kong!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I could not rate this hotel any higher after our fantastic stay here a few weeks ago. All the way through our stay, the service was incredible with every member of staff so keen to help.
A special mention should go to Sally and Ivan who were outstanding.

Our room had an amazing view of the HK skyline and we both loved the Mong Kok theme throughout the hotel. Within walking distance are so many markets (bird market, flower market etc) to see the buzz of the real Hong Kong but the hotel is also just moments away from the local MTR so transport is easy.

The spa and pool on the top floor were brilliant and we would recommend a hot stone treatment!

Having stayed in other hotels in HK, this one is the best by a long shot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I found this hotel on the internet. I was greeted by helpful staff at reception, and was instantly struck by the spectacular artworks in the lobby. My room was spacious and beautifully designed, and made the most effective use of space. All fittings were ultra-modern and of very high quality. This room was ultimate luxury. Importantly, the bedding was superb, and the bathroom spacious. The large dining room served great breakfasts, and the staff were well-trained, and courteous. I spent a lot of time in the wonderful and quiet courtyard where staff always looked after me extremely well. I would have liked to have spent more time there, but had other commitments. I will certainly always book my Hong Kong stays at Langham Place in Mongkok. There were many artworks in the hotel lobby that connected with a huge shopping complex. I highly commend this hotel to travellers who are used to living in a nice home--you will find this in every way as comfortable as home. In fact you will find it better, because the staff definitely will spoil you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPHKG, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hi mabel255060,

Wonderful to read that you felt so well looked after by our team and loved our art as well. Next time you might like to try our free iPod Art Tour to discover our top 21 pieces of the HKD20 million worth of contemporary Chinese art housed throughout the hotel. Look forward to having you with us again when you’re back in town.

DREAM BIG!
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZRH
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We - family of four, booked 2 Club Level rooms for leisure for five nights.
Location - top: MTR ... in the basement, along with many shops, restaurants... A couple of walking minutes to several markets (ladies', birds, fish, flowers), less than 40' taxi drive from the airport, read the other location reports below, it's all there.

Specials: we celebrated some family anniversaries during our stay and asked for nice views from the rooms. Not only did we get rooms on level 35, but also champagne (not sparkling wine!) in the ice cooler and a cake for my daughter's birthday!
The views from the rooms were stunning through the wall of glass some call window.

Very nice amenities in the bathroom, turn down service, separate individual reading lights and and and. Great beds!

Free Wifi @ Club Level! Speed - good.

Breakfast at The Place is very good, super coffee too (made to order, also, Espresso or a double one!), very efficient, friendly staff, a choice of Asian foods (very nice selection of dumplings, miso soup and sushi, congee, ...) all other dishes one would expect from a good hotel, fresh fruit, pancakes, marvellous hot chocolate. Haven't had breakfast in the L Lounge.
Yes, the Lounge on level 36. Very nice selection of drinks, wine, good champagne and goodies throughout the day with incredible views over East Kowloon and NE HKG. Very accommodating and friendly staff.

The great extra came last: we leave for a short mainland holiday and the hotel again proved its attention to customers and the important details by storing part of our luggage till we return. And all this although we won't return to stay with them but with friends. Isn't this fabulous?

So: want real Hong Kong? This is the place to stay at.
Modern architecture, airy and inviting, good quality of ... everything, pool with a view at level 42, the real asset being the staff. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong

Address: No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004 and rising 42-storys from the epicenter of Mongkok, the Langham Place Hotel features spectacular views of the Kowloon peninsular and the breath-taking backdrop of Victoria Harbour. Rooms feature oversized baths, blissful beds and large plasma screen televisions. Alongside a lexicon of technological treats including state-of-the-art IP phones you can update with photos, flight details and more before you arrive, and there's a mobile version you can take anywhere in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, AsiaRooms, Expedia, getaroom.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Place Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Langham Place
Langham Place Hotel Hong Kong
Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.