We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in Hong Kong” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Pacific Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Island Pacific Hotel to your Saves list
Island Pacific Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China (Sai Wan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extra 5% off Best Rate
Ranked #80 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A good place to stay in Hong Kong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Check in went without any problems and staff was very helpful. Room was of good size and had a nice view. Location is very convenient and you were able to get anywhere in Hong Kong quite fast. Since we had an very early flight they arranged for a Taxi for us. Good Shuttle bus Service to different places in Hong Kong, which was a very good service.
Will definitely come there again during my next stay in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    695
    189
    22
    9
See reviews for
125
330
168
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is reasonably priced, has great facilities, and is located in a very nice part of town, with public transport right outside the door. I am very happy here, but...

The one glaring FAILURE is the WiFi / internet - the hotel provides free internet access, throughout the hotel, and within the rooms (including wired LAN connection in the rooms) -- but the quality of service itself makes it UTTERLY USELESS.

The connection breaks several times a minute, and consistently stops loading pages, or just plain loses the connection. This effectively renders the service useless.

I feel that this could easily be fixed, if the hotel took this aspect of the service seriously - an upgrade to their services, as well as a better router would provide 1st class service.

As it stands right now, while I have had a great stay at this hotel, and I really feel that this is a great hotel (particularly for the price), I will most likely be looking at alternatives for my next trip. I wish I didn't have to.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights and found it to be very clean, fabulous views from the full harbour view room which we upgraded to (in our opinion, definitely worth the extra cost). All staff were courteous and helpful and the room was cleaned daily with tea/coffee/water being replenished. Great location as there were a lot of eating places nearby and the tram stop was just around the corner from the hotel, giving easy access to the attractions. The swimming pool was also lovely, if a bit small, and I could imagine it would get busy in the summer season although was quiet while we visited in April. The only downside was the cost of the drinks, although not uncommon for hotels to charge premium prices. We didn't eat at the hotel, as again we felt it was overpriced, and there was a great choice of alternative eateries close by at much better prices, along with a couple of little supermarkets. Unlimited Wifi available in the room.

Room Tip: Upgrade to harbour view and ask for high floor to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Second visit here and the staff and location are good. Needs a little upgrading in the rooms but apart from that you will have a good stay here. Wi-Fi worked very well and breakfast was excellent with a wide choice. Looking forward to my third stay.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The rooms in this hotel are smaller and older... the property as a whole was nice, great location with many small mom and pop businesses surrounding the hotel. The wifi seemed pretty good and it was free...the buffet breakfast was a little pricey, but the food quality was good.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed twice in this hotel and was very pleased both times. Hong Kong is an expensive city when it comes to hotels. This one has everything you might look for in a city hotel. It might not be luxurious but, should you require larger rooms, you can always upgrade your stay. No matter what room you choose, it will still be cheaper than the average nightly rate at it's category. The room is clean, with nice views and the staff is quite attentive. Mr. Wing at check-in was very helpful and understanding.
The only thing I would complain about is the doorbell. For some reason is quite loud and I would here every time some pressed one of the other room's. I also didn't get the option of not having a full serviced mini-bar.

Room Tip: Any room will have harbor views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Raquel D,

Thank you for your kind support and we are happy to learn that you enjoy staying at Island Pacific Hotel.

We appreciate your comment regarding the doorbell and mini-bar service, and will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Convenient location in the up and coming western district. Walking distance to the new MTR station. Hotel was very clean and tidy, staff very friendly and helpful. For the price, I was pleasantly surprised and this hotel exceeded my expectations.
Rooms were the usual small size, in HK it can't be avoided.

Room Tip: Higher level floors should give a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear SydneyTraveller001,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are grateful to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We have also shared your compliment with our team members.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pacific Hotel

Address: No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Pacific Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is the centerpiece of outstanding waterfront landmarks in West Central, offering a superb retreat from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is one of the major Hong Kong Hotels of the area and a proven favourite Hong Kong base for discerning business travellers. The 343 room hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Sai Ying Pun Station and offers easy access to the Central business district and is only 15 minutes away from The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Serving as a relaxing retreat from the hectic pace of life in this vibrant city, the hotel offers boutique style accommodation at an affordable rate in a luxury environment. One of the world's great harbour views can be enjoyed from 80% of the hotel's accommodation, and all rooms and suites are configured to enjoy the optimum level of natural daylight through floor to ceiling windows. Plus, enjoy free WiFi access at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Island Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Pacific Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Island Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Pacific Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.