We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre, doesn't deserve its ranking, pick somewhere else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Island Pacific Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Island Pacific Hotel to your Saves list
Island Pacific Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China (Sai Wan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extra 5% off Best Rate
Ranked #78 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Mediocre, doesn't deserve its ranking, pick somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed at the Island Pacific for 26 nights in January whilst working in Hong Kong. I booked the hotel at least in part on the basis of its good reviews on Trip Advisor, as well as a competitive price. While you could certainly choose a worse place to stay, there are many far better options on Hong Kong Island and in Kowloon (I have stayed in many), both for the purposes of business and leisure.

ARRIVAL

Arrived at the hotel by way of free transfer from the Airport Express station. The hotel is the last stop on this particular bus' route, so if you want a speedy transfer, pay the small amount for a taxi. Upon arrival, concierge were proactive in retrieving luggage from the bus and delivering it to the room after check in, so no problem here.

The lobby is very typical of mediocre Chinese business hotels - shiny floors, lots of chandeliers, too many people standing around doing pointless things such as pushing lift buttons and gesturing in the direction of the escalator. The service that actually matters was delivered badly: reception staff seemed uninterested and performed the check-in robotically. The girl gave no genuine welcome, which would have been appreciated given the length of my stay.

ROOM

Upgraded to a harbour view room on floor 7 (706), which, judging by the floor plan on the back of the room door, was probably the best located room in the building, although a higher floor might have been better. While the upgrade was appreciated and the room was probably an improvement on the room overlooking the dirty, 'dried seafood' street that I had originally booked, it was nothing spectacular.

In my humble opinion, the view of Victoria Harbour from Hong Kong Island is nothing to write home about at all: the view is industrial and monotonous, generally quite depressing. If you want a nice romantic view of the harbour, do yourself a favour and pick one of the hotels on the Kowloon side.

The room itself is adequately large, by Hong Kong standards, furnished in soft tones with a marble bathroom. This might sound nice, but remember that this hotel is more concerned with first impressions than underlying quality. Pull back the curtains and behind them you will find a thick layer of dust. Ask for a double bed room and what you will actually get is two singles pushed together. The mattresses are the cheapest you could find - the spring type, just like a trampoline.

Perhaps the worst thing was the standard of housekeeping. My partner typically slept in after I had gone to work in the morning, and even though the do not disturb sign was unfailing hung outside the door, she would always get a call asking if we wanted housekeeping. What a stupid question - if we want housekeeping we would put the 'make up my room' sign on the door; if we hang the 'do not disturb' sign, we expect not to be disturbed.

One day, we returned to the room in the evening only to find the room had not been cleaned. A call to housekeeping revealed they had 'forgotten' to clean our room. So we had to go downstairs at 10pm while they cleaned it.

After a couple of weeks, they clearly got bored of having us to stay, since housekeeping became more like making the bed and replacing the towels. Toiletries were not replenished and the room was definitely not cleaned.

LEISURE

There is a small gym, overlooking the swimming pool. The latter I did not use, but I did use the gym a few times late in the evening. No one was ever there. Generally fine, though the dumbbells only go up to 10kg and there's very minimal strength equipment, only a few cardio machines.

LOCATION

The hotel is located 10 mins walk west of the western-most MTR (metro) station. In practice, this means that to get to anywhere you are likely to want to go, you either need to jump on the tram (which is fine if you are short and/or can get a seat) or take the relatively frequent hotel shuttle bus. You could take a bus (generally the ones going to Causeway Bay and Happy Valley are useful) but familiarising yourself with the bus numbering may be something you can't be bothered with.

In my opinion, the logistics of getting around are less of a problem than the facilities of the surrounding area. It is located on Des Voeux Road West, otherwise known as 'dried seafood street'. Some might say this is the 'real Hong Kong', which is true to an extent, but for the traveller it means eating at cheap local eateries with little in the way of English menus and generally pretty poor quality (do not eat at the hotel, where the food is not fresh at all). If you want to live in a 'local' area on Hong Kong Island, pick a hotel in the area between Causeway Bay and North Point.

OVERALL

The hotel is not so bad that you will want to move somewhere else on the first night, just so average in every respect that you should just not bother staying there. There are better places in the same price range.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Brushwing,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Regarding your comment shared above, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay. We are extremely grateful to you for sharing your open feedback with us so that we are able to monitor our operations more closely and take corrective measures for improvement accordingly. As a token of appreciation, we would like to arrange a free upgrade to Executive Harbour View Room for your next stay.

Please feel free to contact me at generalmanager@islandpacifichotel.com.hk or our Director of Operations at anthonycheung@islandpacifichotel.com.hk regarding the free upgrade and for other queries in which we could assist.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Island Pacific Hotel on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Wishing you a prosperous Year of the Horse!

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    695
    189
    22
    9
See reviews for
125
330
168
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a stopover for a overnight flight back to Canada. Originally we were hoping to stay near the airport (Regal Airport Hotel) but the total cost for one night was more then the round trip train ticket and taxi to this hotel. Their are two shuttles that to and from the hotel one operated by the hotel and the another operated by the MTR. The MTR shuttle stops at many different hotels while the hotel shuttle stops at Hong Kong Station and Central Hong Kong. However the shuttle stops running at 11 so if you have a late flight you'll have to take a taxi to the hotel, which is actually cheap about $39 CAD because it's past rush hour and not a lot of car are on the road. The staff were helpful and friendly and spoke flaunt English. The room is big for a Hong Kong Hotel. One problem we have had while staying here was the elevator wasn't working but the staff got it going quickly.

Room Tip: Want a view get a Harbour View Room you'll pay a bit more though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

When I was looking for an accommodation in Hong Kong, This particular hotel offered what we exactly needed.
First, the location must be in Hong Kong side ,with easy access to public transport including the Airport express Bus. Secondly, I specifically wanted a harbour view room that is comfortable , quiet and very clean (including the bathroom) & Lastly, the rate was reasonable for the amenities, and buffet breakfast for one was included in the price which was a bit odd considering there were 2 people booked in the room (double room) which means the other guest has to pay extra for breakfast.
Anyway, the breakfast spread has variety of options and it was very delicious and filling. The breakfast staff were organized,polite and attentive.

Other than this breakfast for one only for a twin/double room occupancy minor flaw.
We loved this hotel.. Great customer service ,very clean spacious room ,comfortable bed, there is a pillow menu for your preferred type, non-smoking room with spectacular view of the Harbour and the Express way.
Without question, We are going to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Good hotel in a very handy location for seeing the sights. Very friendly helpful staff, my only qualm would be that the fridge in the room was pretty noisy and what I can only assume was the pipes between our room and next doors made an awful noise when they were using the shower!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear James,

Thank you for your valuable comment and we will look into this issue further.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Overall it was a nice hotel but we did have some issues, including a shower that backed up. We called to have it fixed and they misunderstood so it didn't get fixed that day. We called again the next day and they came to fix it - it worked better for about fifteen minutes then it was backed up again. So basically the bathroom floor flooded everytime we showered (there was a drain on the floor though that did work thank goodness,) So our case was more so a water closet than a bathroom. This was their platinum suite. The second big issue we had was probably fluke, but a big one - on Christmas day the hot water went off for almost a full day. (We traveled there for Christmas so going out on Christmas day without a shower was not exactly what we had in mind.) They gave us a coupon to come back, but honestly I wouldn't. The location wasn't too bad, but not terribly close to the train. The bus stop is close though. Internet worked well in the room without issue. The staff was nice enough and spoke English so that was helpful. The bed was okay, room was nice enough, but the plumbing issues really put a damper (quite literally) on things.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Ourdogrocks,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Regarding your comment shared above, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay. We are extremely grateful to you for sharing your open feedback with us so that we are able to monitor our operations more closely and take corrective measures for improvement accordingly. As a token of appreciation, we would like to enclose a complimentary two nights’ stay coupon with free buffet breakfast to your email address directly.

Please feel free to contact me at "generalmanager@islandpacifichotel.com.hk" or our Director of Operations at "anthonycheung@islandpacifichotel.com.hk" regarding the redemption of complimentary room night stay coupon and for other queries in which we could assist.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Island Pacific Hotel on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Wishing you a prosperous Year of the Horse!

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpe
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hotel itself is a bit dated but with a great view if you take the rooms with ocean view.
Only a nearly 3-star hotel.
Staffs are nice and keen at serving guests.
About 10 mins walk from the metro station.

Price is acceptable given its conditions, i.e. dated deco, and poor facility.

The only reason I stay here is its proximity to the University.

Room Tip: Rooms with Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malmesbury town
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great location off the beat but with some stunning views of the harbour, the room was very clean but could have been a bit fresher smelling, food was good be be aware breakfast is quite expensive if you have not included it in your package, hotel staff very professional and helpful if you take a taxi always ask the bag man at the entrance for a hotel card so your taxi will get you back with no problems just show them this, you can get a taxi to the centre for around £2.00 I hope this helps.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pacific Hotel

Address: No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#62 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Pacific Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is the centerpiece of outstanding waterfront landmarks in West Central, offering a superb retreat from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is one of the major Hong Kong Hotels of the area and a proven favourite Hong Kong base for discerning business travellers. The 343 room hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Sai Ying Pun Station and offers easy access to the Central business district and is only 15 minutes away from The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Serving as a relaxing retreat from the hectic pace of life in this vibrant city, the hotel offers boutique style accommodation at an affordable rate in a luxury environment. One of the world's great harbour views can be enjoyed from 80% of the hotel's accommodation, and all rooms and suites are configured to enjoy the optimum level of natural daylight through floor to ceiling windows. Plus, enjoy free WiFi access at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Island Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Pacific Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Island Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Pacific Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.