We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Island Pacific Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Island Pacific Hotel to your Saves list
Island Pacific Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China (Sai Wan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,189 Reviews
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in a deluxe harbour view room with free breakfast. Room was okay but lil small for a deluxe room but it was clean and comfy.

Food is average.

Hotel staff were polite and friendly.

location is near the bus and tramway station.

Wi-Fi connection is very strong.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    654
    180
    21
    8
See reviews for
116
304
161
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Durham. England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed at the Island Pacific hotel for three night early November, 2013, after a seven day mainland China holiday.
I had booked this particular hotel on the fact that my Son and his now wife had stayed there a couple of years ago.

We were not disappointing , our superior corner room on the 22nd floor had floor to a very high ceiling glass windows, a little disconcerting when we initially walked into the room, but we quickly got used to the magnificent view over the harbour and consequently never closed the harbour view curtains preferring to lay in bed and watch the numerous ferry boats going by.

The hotel standard was excellent and the free courtesy coach from the airport to the hotel made our first trip to Hong Kong much less stressful. Also the free coaches that ran on a regular basis from the hotel to central, being the point where the ferries departed from taking you over too Kowloon Island the shopping area was also extremely useful.

The coach would have been useful to do the return journey , but we seemed to always be returning later so a taxi was necessary back to the hotel.

The hotel was very clean, lots of hot water, and although we did not use the restaurant, the evening buffet looked very appealing. Also the bar area where snacks could be purchased was a very nice cosy place to relax after a hectic shopping day.

A very helpful business department on the 27th floor helped us check in for our homeward flight, and printed our boarding pass.

The creme del la creme for me was when i returned home and realized i had left, probably under the bed, one of my special fitflop sandals,, i was gutted but after a email to the hotel my sandal was return to me in the uk courtesy of the hotel management. This was truly wonderful
service.

Many many thanks to all the very helpful staff we meet at this wonderful hotel in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Delux full harbour view room are usually corner rooms with fantastic views. Worth the extra in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My family checked-in last Oct 17 to 19 at this hotel for a short vacation. The hotel structure speaks of elegance yet competitively-priced. It's one of the few hotels I got to visit that never had that old carpet smell. The entire hotel looks, smells, and feels great. Which adds to the comfort factor that most travelers look for after a day of touring.

One thing really admirable with this hotel is the staff's courtesy. From the moment that I booked to the time we checked-out, it's totally hassle-free. The front desk staff, upon learning that I was celebrating my birthday during our vacation, even offered to give us a room with a nice view of the harbor, at no extra cost, which I truly appreciate. Hotel attendants (be it room service, bellboys, concierge, etc.) are always attentive for the guests' needs at any hour of the day.

If your travelling with little kids, do make sure to bring a stroller/carrier especially if you intend to use the MTR to go around. It's a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel to the nearest MTR station.

Over-all, it was a very pleasant stay. Highly recommended hotel and on our next HK vacation, I would definitely consider going back.

Room Tip: If you can request for a room fronting the harbor, do so. It's so nice waking up with such a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hong Kong hotels above a certain price, are known for good customer service, but this hotel was just a notch above. My room on the 18th floor had a stunning view of the harbor & Kowloon side. The rooms were quiet and very spacious by HK standards. This hotel is a little further away from from some the destination spots of HK central, but in my opinion, that's not a bad thing at all. Its very easy to get to & from by bus, cab, trolley car. Sheung Wan subway station is only a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We used the free shuttle bus from the airport and found the staff very competent. We also used the shuttle bus to go to the centre of town, so even though this hotel is not near a MTR station it was not a problem.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel is in a good location. It is close to the ferry. The room had a great view.
They also have a free shuttle service is good. The rooms a bit small but it is okay for Hong Kong standarts.
I am happy to stay there next time. I would recommend it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here many times,mostly for business.located close to the ferry port and convention center. Rooms are a bit small but efficient. Breakfast buffet is excellent. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Free daily shuttle to most significant places in HK.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pacific Hotel

Address: No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#62 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Pacific Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is the centerpiece of outstanding waterfront landmarks in West Central, offering a superb retreat from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is one of the major Hong Kong Hotels of the area and a proven favourite Hong Kong base for discerning business travellers. The 343 room hotel offers easy access to the Central business district and is only 15 minutes away from The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Serving as a relaxing retreat from the hectic pace of life in this vibrant city, the hotel offers boutique style accommodation at an affordable rate in a luxury environment. One of the world's great harbour views can be enjoyed from 80% of the hotel's accommodation, and all rooms and suites are configured to enjoy the optimum level of natural daylight through floor to ceiling windows. Plus, enjoy free WiFi access at our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Island Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Pacific Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Island Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Pacific Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.