We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Pacific Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Island Pacific Hotel to your Saves list
Island Pacific Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China (Sai Wan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extra 5% off Best Rate
Ranked #78 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Doing our research, we chose this hotel for the value for money and location, and weren't disappointed.

Service by the front of house staff was excellent. Free bus shuttle runs every half hour, for convenient access to IFC, or HK or Central station. Plenty of local cafes for a quick bite for breakfast, or supper. Close to fruit markets. Short walk to tram stops.

Short walk to the express bus shuttle to and from the airport. There is a money exchange shop just across the road, with no commission and decent exchange rate (ask for a better rate if changing large amounts).

Free wifi all over the hotel. Bed made up everyday, linen changed every day, as well as toiletries replenished.

Gym was only a treadmill and weights machine, but the outdoor pool looked excellent - pity we didn't have time to try it out.

The only thing I could fault was the overly hard bed - so firm that I woke up with a sore neck everyday.

Room Tip: Room ending in "12" on each floor is north west facing, for a glimpse of the harbour, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    695
    189
    22
    9
See reviews for
125
330
168
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are not clean and look very jaded. The bed linen had marks on them and the bathroom had not been cleaned thoroughly.

Rooms are big but carpets look soiled. Also, no bath robe which you would expect in a 4 star hotel.

Will not stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

It was a minefield trying to pick a suitable hotel for our stay in HK. The first thing I did was to draw up a checklist.
We decided to stay on Hong Kong island so that cut out the hotels in Kowloon and the rest. I read majority of the hotel reviews on TA and narrowed it down to locations, Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central and Western District. After reading the reviews I decided against Causeway Bay and Wanchai. The rationale for this is from my past experience of staying at Causeway Bay and Wanchai areas as they are both always hectic and heaving with hoards of people. It just wasn't for me. Central hotels were not within our budget so that was again ruled out.

So we chose the Western District/Sheung Wan. Finally settled for Island Pacific as it had a pool, huge early bird discount plus breakfast for one guest. I rang the hotel to check out the location, free shuttle bus timings and on both occasions I was pleased with the professional manner dealt with by the hotel staff and that finally helped make the decision.

We got ourselves an Octopus card each at the airport for a fee. Anyone over the age of 65 gets a special rate with an over 65 senior card. We then got on the A10 airport express. The stop for the hotel is the first stop after the tunnel and it is less than a minute to the hotel from the stop so no worries for those with loads of luggage.

Check in was speedy and we were offered one complimentary non alcoholic drink each. The hotel provides free wifi and newspaper. As breakfast for one guest was a bit of a strange offer, we saved up the number of breakfast offers (option offered by the hotel) and ate together one one day and the rest I let my husband have the pleasure. This was not an issue as the breakfast was not that exceptional and I wasn't that bothered.

The staff are very obliging and helpful. The room is not large but it was not an issue as we were only there to sleep. Just be mindful of the room safe. I had problems on both occasions of working out the instructions. By the way I hope I don't sound confusing. We stayed there twice, the second time was after our trip to Kuala Lumpur. On our second visit, we were upgraded which was great.

The location is great. We found the area to be quieter especially in the evenings. That was great, no pushing crowds or rowdy people. We mainly used the complimentary shuttle offer in the mornings and buses/ trams. There are shops nearby to top up the octopus cards if it is needed.

We found an authentic almond dessert shop in the next street which stays opens late at night and the drink/dessert is delicious. The downside for some would be the aroma from the dried seafood shops. We didn't mind that at all as it all makes it interesting.

Although there is an early bird discount, just be mindful that the rates vary between weekends and week days.

All in all we had a pleasant stay and if the price is right we will return. There are 2 other hotel reviews In HK for those who are interested.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights while attending training with a colleague. Everything is great from the moment of check in. Very strategically located, as it is near the ferry terminal and also a short distance to IFC.
The staff attention to details and customer services are highly recommended. My friend and I was told about the shuttle services available which we gratefully waited. Unfortunately the shuttle broke down, so instead of telling us that the shuttle is not available, they hailed a cab, paid for the cab to bring us to the MTR station that we originally wanted to take the shuttle to. The team of door man, bell staff and concierge are indeed highly recommended. Every time we head out, they are always there to help us to stop a cab or even escorting us to a better spot to hail the cab. They went to the extend of even waiting with us till we got on the cab.
Front office team are always ready to help with a smile on their face. Nothing is impossible for them.
Recommended hotel in Hong Kong indeed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed 8 days on the month of April 2013, with my young kids. Everything was excellent from check-in (they upgraded my room!!) till check-out.
What made me surprised, was even for the emergency situations, they handled and responded very well.
One night was my son got high fever and the face bit swelling. From duty Manager to the receptionist aware of it. And they sent the security (If I'm not forgotten, his name was A Lok) with me went to hospital.
I want to thanks for wonderful stay at Island Pacific Hotel.. Next time we will be come back here!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Located in Western District but only a tram ride or 30 minute walk from the Central area. Very helpful and friendly staff. Had a side room with harbour view. Bedroom rather small and dimly lit but comfortable. Buffet food superb, although the restaurant has no atmosphere, the tables in ranks, and paper serviettes.

Room Tip: Would probably opt for larger room with full harbour view next visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

You are staying in a lovely hotel, whit The "Pling-Pling" just around the corner.
5 min taxi ride away from the LTR. And whit you octopus card in you pocket ,it's hard to find a easier city to travel in.
The hotel got excellent breakfast , the staff bring it all together for you.
Swimming pool if you want to go swinging.
Newspaper outside the door ,every morning.
Beautiful whew over Victoria harbour.
Free shuttle buss ,if you don't want to walk or take a taxi.
All in all a lovely hotel and " I shall return"

Room Tip: Go high, the view is unbelievable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pacific Hotel

Address: No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#62 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Pacific Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is the centerpiece of outstanding waterfront landmarks in West Central, offering a superb retreat from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is one of the major Hong Kong Hotels of the area and a proven favourite Hong Kong base for discerning business travellers. The 343 room hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Sai Ying Pun Station and offers easy access to the Central business district and is only 15 minutes away from The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Serving as a relaxing retreat from the hectic pace of life in this vibrant city, the hotel offers boutique style accommodation at an affordable rate in a luxury environment. One of the world's great harbour views can be enjoyed from 80% of the hotel's accommodation, and all rooms and suites are configured to enjoy the optimum level of natural daylight through floor to ceiling windows. Plus, enjoy free WiFi access at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Island Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Pacific Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Island Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Pacific Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.