We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Grand Stanford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Grand Stanford to your Saves list
InterContinental Grand Stanford
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.70 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #37 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Itunesjamie
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel is well positioned to explore Kowloon area. The hotel was undergoing refurbishment which the reception informed me, but my travel booking company did not. The reception staff gave me a room with a great view of Hong Kong from my room window. The room was tired, but as stated the hotel was undergoing a refurbishment , so unfair to complain. I was able connect with a great jogging track across from the hotel along the shoreline of Kowloon. The wifi was not free , but was good, breakfast was excellent, though reception area could do with checking the AC's as it was very humid in this area, compared to other hotels in the area which had better AC in the reception area. Overall it was good location and clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Itunesjamie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you found your stay enjoyable and enjoyed the jogging area, I thank you for highlighting the lobby temperature we are currently looking at solutions to improve this.

Here at the hotel we hope you will return as look forward to welcoming you back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    499
    114
    23
    11
See reviews for
216
322
96
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parrish, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I've stayed here numerous times for good reasons. Staff are efficient, friendly and helpful - rooms are clean, modern with everything you need and beds are comfy! If you are lucky enough to get a room with a harbour view the night time spectacle of the Hong Kong skyline is breathtaking. In house restraints are fab (try the duck in Chinese restraint!). Conveniently located for MTR stations, Star Ferry and within walking distance of local shopping and museums. A perfect place to stay - I love it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear LADYLUCINDA,

We are delighted to see at the end of your review that you wrote “A perfect place to stay - I love it!” We are humbled by your very flattering review and hope you will return again soon.

If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I often stay in HK for business and this is the hotel that I use most often. Based in TST on the Kowloon side it is very conveniently located and is only minutes in a cab to Harbour City - great for shopping!
The rooms are always kept very tidy and clean and I have always found it to be a quiet hotel when you are in the rooms - there doesn't seem to be a lot of noise on the floors unless you are near the lift shaft.
The food in Café on M is great - but make sure that you book for weekend / evenings as there is a buffet as well as Al a carte menu available and the buffet is very popular. Breakfast always has a really wide selection.
Tiffanys bar is great for an early or late drink - I find that it either is a bit too quiet and no atmosphere or there are singers in there with the microphones turned up ridiculously loudly so I avoid it between the hours of 8 and 11!
The bathrooms could do with an update - I am told there are certain floors that have glass walk in showers but I always seem to get a room with the bath and the shower curtain *shudders* - why haven't these unhygienic things been banned yet?
Staff are always incredibly helpful and unlike hotels over the border there are never hard feelings when I arrive and haven't managed to get local money yet and can't tip just yet!

Room Tip: Not too near the lifts which can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear LoveToShopLondon,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Grand Stanford as your hotel of choice while in Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback with us and the rest of the online community.

I see from your review that you stay here with us regularly, I would like to ask you if you could email me on the below address.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Overall a positive rating but mainly because for breakfast , tea and pre-dinner drinks we were isolated from many of the guests staying at this large hotel in Kowloon with access to the Intercontinental Club. The lobby is large , noisy and generally full of locals and Chinese which means there is no quiet area by the main entrance.
The rooms are smallish but contain everything one needs and the wifi is also included if you have access to the Club. The showers are powerful with a bench seat and there are always plenty of towels. The hotel has a couple of decent restaurants ( Cantonese and Italian ) - we ate in the Cantonese Restaurant which was quite OK but nothing special. Our room had a nice view over the water and was not at all noisy but the key to a successful stay at this hotel is access to the Club where the staff are efficient , helpful and where the food and drinks served are good.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the water on the 8th floor or above with access to the Intercontinental Club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Michael J,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Grand Stanford as your hotel of choice while in Hong Kong for a few days we are thankful also for your feedback on tripadvisor.com, we thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience with us and the rest of the online community.

Your highlight on our Breakfast , Afternoon tea and pre-dinner drinks in our Club InterContinental lounge is appreciated, we are sorry that you found Hoi King Heen to be ok and were not overly impressed.

We also thank you for your highlight on our staff in the Club InterContinental lounge, here at the hotel we hope you will return as look forward to welcoming you back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel for 4N and had a very pleasant stay. Very well located within walking distance from the TST MTR / Avenue of Stars / etc.
Check-in / Check-out was very smooth and the desk staff very friendly.
The Bell Boys were a big disappointment - rang the bell and kept my luggage outside the room. I had to drag them in and then they expected me to tip them - the young man did not budge till I did not give him something. This is not expected.
Rooms were big compared to what is generally available in HK - comfortable for 2 Adults and 2 Children. Breakfast was well spread and service was excellent. They even catered to our special requests.
But the major disappointment was the Concierge - he did not have the correct attitude to help us - I did feel an racial undercurrent. I might be raising a very serious allegation but am firm about my opinion.
No free WIFI inspite of this being available across HK free of cost. Not expected for in-house guests.
One must take advantage of the free hotel shuttle service.

Room Tip: Must take rooms on a higher floor - lower floor rooms have no view. Stay here only for its location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear AshwinBagla,

Warm Greetings from the entire team at the InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong! Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your 4 night visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your review with us and with the tripadvisor community.

I appreciate you brining to our attention our concierge and bell, I assure you that I will look into this and take corrective action.

I hope that you will return again as we look forward to welcome you both back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.


Best Regards,
John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Can find no fault, check in and out was very prompt, pleasant and smiles were visible throughout.

Harbor view room was good but the housekeeping service made it superb! My personal stuffs were nicely arranged and extra amenities were given without being asked.

TST station is just 10 mins walk and plenty of bars/restaurants nearby. Take advantage of the free airport shuttle which runs every 12 mins, excellent!

Will definitely return...

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Tonelim,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to see that you found our housekeeping department to be the ones who made your stay memorable. Your encouraging review motivate the team and on behalf of the management I thank you for that.

Here at the hotel we hope you will return as look forward to welcoming you back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is located just steps away from the far end of the TST Promenade and the Avenue of Stars providing great access to transportation and attractions; including the Hong Kong Museum of Art and the beautiful Kowloon Park.

The rooms were spacious and spotless. Hotel offers 24-hour room service which was very welcome after a midnight arrival.

The breakfast buffet is lavish, well organized and hot foods are hot; not always something you find.

There's a pleasant lobby bar with live piano for pleasant relaxing after a busy day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear jwaite212,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. Your encouraging review helps us to constantly strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests’ to indulge in the best they deserve.

Here at the hotel we hope you will return as look forward to welcoming you back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Grand Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Grand Stanford

Address: No.70 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Grand Stanford 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong was one of the first hotels on the Tsim Sha Tsui East waterfront of Victoria Harbour and still sets the standard for excellence in Hong Kong. As part of the Intercontinental Hotels Group, the five-star hotel is nestled in a quiet corner of the bustling shopping, business and entertainment district of Tsimshatsui East.The hotel is within easy reach of all major transportation systems including the world-famous Star Ferry and MTR. Situated 10 minutes away from the East Tsimshatsui Station and Hung Hom Station, the hotel also offers complimentary shuttle bus service to Nathan Road and major shopping malls along Canton Road within Tsimshatsui area. A prime locale puts you in easy reach of Central, Jade Market, Hong Kong Cultural Centre, Kowloon Park and Hong Kong Science Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Grand Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Grand Stanford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.