We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well deserved 10 out of 10” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Grand Stanford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Grand Stanford to your Saves list
InterContinental Grand Stanford
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.70 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #35 of 693 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A well deserved 10 out of 10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

The Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong (Kowloon) is an excellent hotel, top of its class in fact. Conveniently located close to the Harbour City shopping mall, it is in an ideal position. Upon check in we were graciously invited to view the allocated room in order to ensure its suitability. The hotel is in the midst of an upgrade, though no evidence of this was observed. The foyer is magnificent featuring 2 gigantic modern crystal chandeliers and masses of fresh flowers.

The staff were extremely professional, warm, knowledgable and approachable. The check in process was seamless despite a post midnight arrival.

Our newly refurbished harbour view 6th floor room was beautifully appointed with perfect lighting, comfortable beds and was well equipped in terms of toiletries, mini bar, towelling robes and slippers.

The bathroom was spacious and featured a lit magnified make up mirror which is the best of its kind we've encountered over years of travel.

It is however the outstanding service that positions this hotel as a true 5 star experience. The housekeeping in particular was faultless with toiletry supplies replenished daily. The room service food ,and speed of service was also exceptional. We were even treated to a box of fine chocolates by our kind and attentive room service attendant. It was a very kind gesture indeed.

We will not only return to this hotel, but will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear 1ndia,

Warm Greetings from the entire team at the InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Hong Kong; we appreciate your kind review and thank you for giving us 10 out of 10.

We share all reviews and yours has brought smiles to the faces of the team, I hope that you will return again as we look forward to welcome you back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    572
    124
    25
    13
See reviews for
279
374
111
416
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Checked into the hotel 2 hours earlier than the official check in time and was offered a room without any hesitation. Ours was facing the courtyard (read: dead wall) but nonetheless, we were very impressed by how beautifully furnished and clean it was. Think it was not too long that the room was refurbished since there was still works undergoing at the top floors.

Super efficient room service staff, whom might have take the effort to ensure that our stay was a pleasant one (I noticed that they must have come in to tidy at least 4 times a day but hey, not that i'm complaining). Shoes and clothes laying all over the room were found neatly folded and arrange, clean towels and bottles of water were replenished almost immediately. Personal belonging were left untouched.

Excellent variety and quality breakfast at the buffet (unfortunately, there was no fresh juice station). Didnt like the lady who greeted us though, she came across as very insincere and cold as she led us to our table.

Otherwise, everyone else were angels, Staffs at the front desk, concierge, boys at the gym and pool including those who handled our baggage after we checked out made our stay at the hotel one to remember.

Room Tip: Choose a non- courtyard facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Sarahnah,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with the tripadvisor community, we appreciate your feedback on your stay and thank you for very kind review, we appreciate the feedback and are really pleased that it was a stay to remember, I also thank you for your feedback on the Café, this has been addressed and we are sure you will see improvements in the future.

We do hope that you return to stay with us. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Sincerely,
John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
639 reviews
253 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

From the minute we checked in, the management and staff at the Intercontinental Grand Stanford stole our hearts. We're not sure what gifts were given normally and what were for our Ambassador gold status, but they included a box of nine delicious chocolates, a box of about 9 madeleines, a laundry bag welcome gift, welcome fruit, a stuffed bear to apologize for our "bearing" the noise of construction (we didn't hear any), free water bottles and chocolates at bed turn-down, and coupons for welcome drinks. Our room also was upgraded from a partial harbor view to a full harbor view room, no. 537. It put us in the right mood from the start, and we never felt let down.

Plus .
Nice view of Causeway Bay (and just a little of Wanchai).
Night lite under the bedside table and under sink in bathroom
Nice heavy curtains
Wi-fi was reliable and not difficult. Automatically logged back in when boot up.
Gave us 3 pm check-out.
Mat and slippers left by bed after turn-down.
Newspaper on door.
Friendly and helpful staff
Clean, good-sized room and comfortable bed
Close to East Tsim Sha Tsui MTR entrance

Minus
Crowded buffet breakfast at coffee shop. Walkways congested with diners and staff
Some traffic noise on 5th floor but not disturbing
Never got to use welcome drinks because drinks area was full whenever we thought of it

We feel the minuses are unimportant, and we remember most the comfort of the room and the generous gifts. We enthusiastically recommend Grand Stanford as a very good value in Kowloon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Staidthere,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with the tripadvisor community, we appreciate your feedback.

Your review touched our hearts, your feedback on your stay in appreciated as being part of the management there is no better team motivation than that of our guests.

I have shared your review as do all reviews with the team and we are humbled by it, we appreciate that you also enthusiastically recommend our property.

We do hope that you will return to stay with us. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Thank You,
John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My friends are currently checked in here and the service is terrible. Joy Man checked the party in; some of their rooms were checked in after 4.30 pm, they were denied water whilst waiting and when their 2 y/o child tried to eat a biscuit from his lunchbox in the lobby, he was told that "no outside food is allowed". Terrible and quite an embarrassing reflection of the Hong Kong hospitality industry. Unfortunately, my friends had prepaid for their stay.There are many hotels to pick from in Hong Kong, I would highly recommend taking your business somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear ahar83,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Grand Stanford, I apologize for your arrival experience and thank you for sharing your feedback with me. I hope that after the intervention of our front office manager your friends are having a better experience than the arrival.

I would be very happy to meet up with you and get more feedback from you, if you could just ask Leo our front office manager at the front desk at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Staying 4 nights with my family here. The hotel is great, location is perfect. Hotel facilities were well maintained and good service. Those who are in town, try the new Italian restaurant, it is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear DKurniawan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with the tripadvisor community, we appreciate your feedback.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our newly renovated Mistral Italian restaurant, we are getting rave reviews and for sure not to be missed.

We do hope that you and your family return to stay with us. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Sincerely,
John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed there for just one night for business, and were so impressed with
The setvices received.

Every staff have been so attentive, great location and pf course great harbour
View!

Great variety at breakfast as well!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Familyman085,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with the tripadvisor community, we appreciate your feedback, It is especially encouraging that you found our views from the room and breakfast as a memorable part of your stay.

We do hope that you return to stay with us. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Sincerely,
John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Well located close to the heart of Kowloon and not as expensive as the other Intercon down the road.Large, well-appointed rooms and it's worth paying extra for a harbour view room. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed all aspects of our visit.

Room Tip: Pay for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear wcraft,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with the tripadvisor community, we appreciate your feedback on your stay and thank you for highlighting your experience on your 2 night stay.

We do hope that you return to stay with us. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Sincerely,
John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 2,465 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#14 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 2,211 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
New World Millennium Hong Kong Hotel
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 693 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 3,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Grand Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Grand Stanford

Address: No.70 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Grand Stanford 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong was one of the first hotels on the Tsim Sha Tsui East waterfront of Victoria Harbour and still sets the standard for excellence in Hong Kong. As part of the Intercontinental Hotels Group, the five-star hotel is nestled in a quiet corner of the bustling shopping, business and entertainment district of Tsimshatsui East.The hotel is within easy reach of all major transportation systems including the world-famous Star Ferry and MTR. Situated 10 minutes away from the East Tsimshatsui Station and Hung Hom Station, the hotel also offers complimentary shuttle bus service to Nathan Road and major shopping malls along Canton Road within Tsimshatsui area. A prime locale puts you in easy reach of Central, Jade Market, Hong Kong Cultural Centre, Kowloon Park and Hong Kong Science Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your InterContinental Grand Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Grand Stanford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.