We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My "Go-To" place in Hong Kong!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Grand Stanford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Grand Stanford to your Saves list
InterContinental Grand Stanford
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.70 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #37 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 1,211 Reviews
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My "Go-To" place in Hong Kong!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stay at this property every time I am in Hong Kong, and for good reason. The location is hard to beat... just across the harbor from a world class view of the stunning Hong Kong skyline. Minutes away from the Avenue of the Stars and the TST MTR station. Neighborhood abounds in shopping and restaurants. It's only minutes away from the Nathan Road shopping complexes. Finally, the airport express that drops you off at Kowloon has a free shuttle to and from the hotel.

Check-in is always pleasant, with smiling faces and respectful recognition. The hotel lobby is impressive and wide open in architecture.

Rooms are spacious and if you are lucky to be on the harbor side, the rooms have a magnificent view! Comfortable beds, nice amenities in the decent sized bathroom. Rooms are quiet and you can certainly enjoy a relaxed night's sleep here.

Hotel feels welcoming, secure and very comfortable. The bar is cozy and has quite a nice collection of single-malt Scotch. Bartenders are friendly. I have not eaten at the restaurants in the hotel.

It's not cheap but it's worth the premium that it commands. And it's certainly cheaper than other hotels I would consider to be its peers. Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would readily recommend this well managed property to anyone in this price range.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor-facing room on a high floor if possible. Worth paying a small fee for the upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear bn1511,

Warm Greetings from the entire team at the InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with the tripadvisor community, we are pleased that you choose us your hotel of choice while in Hong Kong. Your highlights on our location, property and amenities are appreciated as is your observation on our staff.

I hope that you will return again soon, please email me before you return.

Best Regards,
John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    499
    114
    23
    11
See reviews for
218
323
96
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

For some reason, they just decided to upgrade to us to a room with a view. An the view was spectacular. It was like a front seat show to Harbour View and it so beautiful you would not want to leave your room.

Their chocolate cookies which is a part of their welcome drinks are so good. It's enough reason to stay here again.

Service is quite good. Although I would appreciate if internet was free.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear lexbonife,

Warm Greetings from the entire team at the InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with the tripadvisor community, we share all reviews with the team and your review is showed us that the little touches make a difference for our guests.

I hope that you will return again as we look forward to welcome you both back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.


Best Regards,
John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed here for business in February. I was a bit sceptical as I usually stayed at Sheraton in TST being a Platinum SPG member. As I was only a gold with IHG I thought I would give this hotel a try. It turned out to be a rather nice experience.

My arrival was via MTR from Kowloon on the free airport bus. My advice is don't take the bus from Kowloon but rather the taxi as it's not that far. The free airport bus stops at about 5/6 hotels before Intercontinental and if the traffic is bad, it takes more than an hour to get from Kowloon.

The hotel is located in East TST and the building is quite grand. There is a main road that runs at the back of the hotel facing the harbour which can be a bit noisy, I didn't get a harbour view room but one that's facing the front of the hotel. The road in front of the hotel is not a busy one. The view is another shopping/office block which to me is fine.

The check is was good. The lady at the Reception speaks very good English. I was given free internet and drink coupon for being IHG Gold member. My room is quite nice and spacious, think I was upgraded too. The bed is clean and comfortable. The bathroom has all the amenities. Nothing to fault in terms of the room.

The location is to me a little away from TST. It's a 7 mins walk to East TST station but bearing in mind that is the entrance of the station. It then takes about 10 mins walk to the trains! That's what Hong Kong stations are usually like. The underground passage are huge and takes forever to actually get to the train station. The opposite direction takes you to Hung Hom station, again a good 15 mins walk. Directly opposite the hotel, hidden away is a pedestrianise area with lots of restaurants and places to shop. Also a few bakery.

I like the hotel and might stay again but may try another closer to the action of TST, Kowloon

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear R L,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Grand Stanford as your hotel of choice while in Hong Kong.

We appreciate your detailed review, which we are sure will help other travelers.

Here at the hotel we hope you will return as look forward to welcoming you back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a perfect harbor view... awakening to the view every morning for a week, enjoying the view at night with the lights , in a very well appointed room with all the comforts. The service was friendly , helpful , excellent staff. We were given tea /etc while we waited for our room at 11 am, early arrival and they had the room finished within minutes. We were a few minute walk to the MTR, got a week long senior pass and thoroughly enjoyed our week in Hongkong. The tour desk/Grayline, was very helpful as was the concierge desk. Getting a taxi took seconds. We relaxed in the bar , happy hour inc entertainment. A perfect view, awesome room, great service , what more could one ask ? Stay here!!!

Room Tip: Full Harbor view... well worth it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear allipali62,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Grand Stanford as your hotel of choice while in Hong Kong for a few days we are thankful also for your feedback on tripadvisor.com, we thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience with us and the rest of the online community.

We appreciate you enjoyed awaking daily for a week to the harbour view, not forgetting the lights at night; we agree that it is spectacular. In addition we thank you for the feedback on the staff and service, especially our tour desk.

Here at the hotel we hope you will return as look forward to welcoming you back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a friends birthday. We had a wonderful time thanks to the care and attention by the manager John Drummond and his excellent staff team. We found all the staff from the concierge, front desk, room service, housekeeping and the restaurants to be professional, polite and helpful. The hotel has a traditional feel which is welcoming and well maintained. We had lunch at the other Intercontinental and found this to be large, contemporary and impersonal so it does depend on your preference.
We had a room overlooking the harbour (as booked). The room was modern, spotless and contained everything a traveller could possibly need. We appreciated the nightly turn down service. We would not hesitate to return to this hotel on a heartbeat so I can thoroughly recommend it to others. The breakfast is up there with the best that we have ever experienced (and we travel a lot). An extensive buffet all freshly prepared and well displayed - fabulous. We were able to visit all the sites on our agenda using various modes of transport quite easily. The concierge were very helpful in providing maps,directions and making recommendations. All in all a great stay - Thank you

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Soozysue,

Thank you very much for choosing InterContinental Grand Stanford as your preferred hotel for your Hong Kong visit. We are delighted to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us and truly appreciate that you have taken your valuable time to share your experience with other travelers online.

I appreciate you highlighting our staff’s helpfulness in making your stay more memorable.

We all hope that you both will return for the next birthday celebration as we look forward to welcoming you back. At any time in the future I can assist with any arrangements please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Wishes and Regards,
John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, USA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived in the afternoon and had a very nice reception at the Ambassador check in. I was informed that even as a Royal Ambassador that since I was using a free night cert that no real benefits would apply, only paid nights. This is within the terms of the program but a good reason why I stick with Hilton as my first choice in hotel programs. As we proceeded with check in the agent informed me that being my first stay they could upgrade me to a suite but it wasn't ready yet so we could check in later or take a regular room, we elected to go shopping and take the suite upgrade.

As we started to explore the area around the hotel it is an area that we were not familiar with despite being regular visitors to Hong Kong and we liked it a lot. Plenty of shopping and varied dining options in the immediate area and just a quick walk to the main shopping areas of Kowloon. They did mention something about a shuttle but we just walk as it is not really very far.

Once we returned another agent immediately knew who we were and had our room key ready and off to our room we went. Despite the room upgraded which we appreciated it was very dated décor even though it was well kept and clean.

As this was only a one night stay the only dining we did in the hotel was room service breakfast which was a great value we thought since room service at any hotel can be very expensive but it was reasonable here especially considering the quality and the quantity of food.

I am not sure I will stay at this property again given the rooms as I can easily get rooms like this for a lower price in Hong Kong but I will say that I have never had service this good at any Hong Kong property so that does count for something.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear mcgahat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and with the online community.

We are delighted to know that you have chosen us as your preferred hotel whilst in Hong Kong. We are also pleased that our staff recognized you upon your return to the hotel, I would like to recommend that on future visits you try our Premier Harbour view rooms, I assure you that you will not be disappointed as these rooms have just been recently renovated.

Here at the hotel we look forward to welcoming you back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

The best customer service I have ever experienced in this wonderful hotel. The staff are so willing to help and nothing is too much trouble - it absolutely puts the UK to shame and I can't imagine what people from Hong Kong must think when they visit.......

My only complaint was about the breakfasts not being hot enough but this was put right after I spoke to a manager and then received personal service for the next three mornings.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Michaelbristol,

Warm Greetings from the entire team at the InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with the tripadvisor community, we share all reviews with the team and your review is touching, on behalf of the entire team thank you.

We are also pleased that our staff were able to rectify the breakfast for you, showing us that our service recovery does actually work, I hope that you will return again as we look forward to welcome you both back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.


Best Regards,
John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Grand Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Grand Stanford

Address: No.70 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Grand Stanford 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong was one of the first hotels on the Tsim Sha Tsui East waterfront of Victoria Harbour and still sets the standard for excellence in Hong Kong. As part of the Intercontinental Hotels Group, the five-star hotel is nestled in a quiet corner of the bustling shopping, business and entertainment district of Tsimshatsui East.The hotel is within easy reach of all major transportation systems including the world-famous Star Ferry and MTR. Situated 10 minutes away from the East Tsimshatsui Station and Hung Hom Station, the hotel also offers complimentary shuttle bus service to Nathan Road and major shopping malls along Canton Road within Tsimshatsui area. A prime locale puts you in easy reach of Central, Jade Market, Hong Kong Cultural Centre, Kowloon Park and Hong Kong Science Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Grand Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Grand Stanford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.