We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historical place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Grand Stanford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Grand Stanford to your Saves list
InterContinental Grand Stanford
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.70 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #37 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 1,211 Reviews
muscat.Oman
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“historical place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Been there and stayed for 4 nights, it was amazing place to stay, had great breakfast in coffee shop and walk distance to go to boulevard bay, so many pictures we made,and we all had very good time during our stay, will comeback again for sure

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    499
    114
    23
    11
See reviews for
218
323
96
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for a week. Had a little issue with our reservation not showing that we had Club access so the first day we stayed there we did not get to have the complimentary breakfast, but the staff was very accomodating and taking care of the issue. Great location in TST, within walking distance to the MTR station as well as to major tourist sites such as Avenue of the Stars, and the Star Ferry terminal. Room was large and the view of Victoria Harbor was breathtaking! We were sad to leave the hotel after having such a wonderful stay. Doris was great greeting us for breakfast and remembering what my wife and I both liked to drink! Would love to come back and stay at the hotel the next chance we make it to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hong Kong can be a noisy city in which to sleep, but InterContinental Grand Stanford delivered a peaceful night in a modern and comfortable room.

Check-in and check-out were fast and smooth. I was given a room described as renovated. It was certainly newly decorated, and well equipped with furniture and fittings. The desk was great, the chair was better than many I've used, and working in this hotel was easy.

The wardrobe held a good sized ironing board and an iron in good condition, so I was quickly able to prepare my clothes for the next day.

I slept well in a comfortable bed, with pillows that matched my preference.

The bathroom is well equipped, but small, and the shower is over the bath. It wasn't a problem for me, but if you like separate showers this may be a negative point for the hotel.

The best thing about the room was its silence. I heard no noise from adjacent rooms, no noise from the corridor, and (amazingly, for HK) no noise from outside.

I'll choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Positives: impressive lobby / reception area, good size room, nice bathroom, great value for a 5-star hotel in Hong Kong, check-in and concierge staff were very helpful
Negatives: view of harbour was half-blocked, decor a little dated

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

i thought i was booking the intercontinental on Salisbury road, so i was shocked at the killer price my friend was able to get me. I understood once we drove by the Salisbury road property I understood why she got such a great deal. I wasn't daunted and kept an open mind.
The Grand Standford service was top notch, with attentive and seasoned desk staff, breakfast buffet was very good, rooms were clean, renovated (At least mine was) and well maintained.
We also had lunch in the dim sum restaurant in the basement and were not disappointed.
The sister hotel is a notch above this place, with the Nobu restaurant on site and spectacular breathtaking views of the HK harbor, but the Grand Stanford has better rates, top class service and very good restaurants - a very good experience!

Room Tip: ask for room on the harbor side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Thank you Mr. Gary Neem, Duty Manager for your professionalism and providing me with the opportunity to stay in the refurbished room with a peaceful view with many relaxing nights Summer Dream. An ongoing knocking will continue to start after 10 am for those seeking to sleep in..
Refurbished room appears to be excellent and in good taste with marbled bathroom...
Staff is always on hand and helpful with initial mishaps when taking the hotel bus which is a flaw on the bus drivers part for no coordination as well as stopping on a curbside and did not offer assistance with luggages unless was told to do so; however, did make up for this lack upon pick up, Ty
Tiffany bar well worth dancing to after midnight when lounge music starts to pick up with rowdy crown to boot! Eateries and locations are the best in HK and within walking distance to MTR.
Make sure you get to the correct Intercontinental hotel location in TST East and not the one nearby Ave of the stars...the Harborview rooms are the best...no worries, quiet at noc although in am cars are passing by in both directions. The refurbished premier full view rooms are the best in HK in my humble opinion perhaps secondary due to the location of the hotel right in the middle of the best of the best....
Cheers!

Room Tip: Premier Harbor view refurbished room ..just like new. Quiet view of the harbor is spectacular at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have stayed here a few times (whenever I am in Hong Kong in fact), and have enjoyed it every time. The thing is, this is a good hotel-exactly what you would expect from an Intercon. Nice, clean, well furnished, excellent staff. But the beds... best I have ever slept in at any hotel, anywhere. They are so comfortable, i almost slept through a morning meeting, even WITH my alarm on my phone blaring in the dock. The beds make it my absolute favorite here!

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Grand Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Grand Stanford

Address: No.70 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Grand Stanford 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong was one of the first hotels on the Tsim Sha Tsui East waterfront of Victoria Harbour and still sets the standard for excellence in Hong Kong. As part of the Intercontinental Hotels Group, the five-star hotel is nestled in a quiet corner of the bustling shopping, business and entertainment district of Tsimshatsui East.The hotel is within easy reach of all major transportation systems including the world-famous Star Ferry and MTR. Situated 10 minutes away from the East Tsimshatsui Station and Hung Hom Station, the hotel also offers complimentary shuttle bus service to Nathan Road and major shopping malls along Canton Road within Tsimshatsui area. A prime locale puts you in easy reach of Central, Jade Market, Hong Kong Cultural Centre, Kowloon Park and Hong Kong Science Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Grand Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Grand Stanford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.