We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location is the best about this hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 32-34 Nathan Road | Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 696 Hotels in Hong Kong
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“location is the best about this hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I still remember when my family used to book here back in the 1990s. We raved about the location. The location is still the best thing about this hotel. I don't really expect a lot from a three-star hotel, but this hotel is showing its age. The rooms are still kept clean, and guests can feel secure in this hotel.

I understand Hong Kong land property is among the highest in the world. But for the prices they charge guests, the owners might be expected to allocate more in capital expenditures in order to give guests some feeling that they're getting value for their money. I have no complaints with the staff. They're efficient and helpful. I wouldn't really mind booking in this hotel again, except for the prices they charge. There are sure to be be better hotel choices for the same price; but you won't get the great location.

I give the hotel points for the self-service laundromat. It's very convenient for travellers with only a few change of clothes who don't want to pay through the nose for laundry services.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It's an okay hotel. That's about it. Dated, cramped, in need of a make over and none of the usual amenities (room service, etc) But, if you're just in town to do some shopping it might be okay but I'd rather check out the Holiday Inn a few doors down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJohn495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Barrigada, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Last year, this hotel was recommended as a good value. So I booked my family 2 rooms for 3 nights. It was horrible. The rooms stank and had a damp quality to it. And the whole place looks very dated. The surrounding area was so seedy looking with lots of hawkers outside. It was a matter of endurance staying here. Not to mention, the hotel charged us more than what we booked it for. The front desk agents were not as helpful (possibly due to the language barrier). There really is no value for the money here. The only thing redeeming this place is their location to bus stops and the mtr and close to the harbour. But that's it. Our room was so smelly, it wasn't funny. Plus I got bit by bugs. This year, I made sure to stay away from this place and booked a much better deal.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
376 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is located in Tsim Sha Tsui, very close to the waterfront and to the MTR (subway), thus the price is not cheap, but it needs to be renovated, as it is an old hotel. The staff is just ok. The breakfast is a cheap buffet that runs out of food quickly. Better to eat outside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Braddockrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khabarovsk, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Rooms is very small, but enough to sleep and take shower. All interior of hotel is not fresh, cannot say that is clean, everything is old or because too many people stay there.
Personnel is neutral to visitors, during 3 days always was a lot of people.
Location is good, very close to metro, bus stations, mall and shop "7-11", also close to harbor and pier.
If money not so matter better stay in Gloria or Sheraton that placed near with this hotel.
This hotel is normal for this price,only if they renew interior or make it more clean/fresh.

Room Tip: Take room with view to Nathan Road it's better than another view to gray walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serg Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was on a business turned fun Trip to Hong Kong where after one previous bad experience in a hotel, I found the Hotel Imperial. I had purchased a tour including stay & sightseeing from Antilog Vacations website which r best fr Hongkong-Macau tours..Cheap and A-1 Service.

The best thing about this hotel is the location, it’s on the Nathan Road just a minute walk from the metro station. It’s easy to access public transport, shops, cultural centre and star ferry. That was ideal for me.

Simple well-kept rooms and courteous staff make it a pleasant stay. A great deal for budget professionals indeed. However, if you are looking for the extra frills like pool or night club, etc, this place in not for you. It does make up for all the fun being in the Tsim Sha Tsui district where all the activities and shopping is.

Rooms are clean and service each day is excellent. Not good for families as rooms are very small in size. There is running hot and cold water, the towels are changed everyday, and the rooms are clean every time we get back from a long day of sightseeing. Some of the staff were young and very accommodating when we asked questions and when I requested for an adaptor for my laptop and phone chargers.

My only complaint about the hotel was the service we received from the staff. Everyone was cordial when I checked in and out however when I came to ask for directions and suggestions on where to go and what to do, they were immediately very uptight and unfriendly about it. There is a language gap if u can't speak local language.

The best part is the location of hotel and that too for people visiting for business purpose as it is located in the center of Kowloon and pretty close to ferry terminal.

All in all, it was a comfortable stay. We weren't bothered throughout our stay. I will definitely use this hotel again. Not recommended for families though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank divyam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My worst hotel in HK ever!! My room was: small, dirty, old, with some insects too!! Position is good, near mtr and all services but this hotel is too expensive for the quality offered. The price cannot be similar at Kowloon Hotel.

never more!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcowps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#141 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Ramada Hotel Kowloon
Ramada Hotel Kowloon
#318 of 696 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Kowloon Hotel
The Kowloon Hotel
#154 of 696 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 1,350 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#122 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Xi Hotel
Xi Hotel
#179 of 696 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: No. 32-34 Nathan Road | Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 696 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Imperial Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel guests were mainly from South East Asia & PRC. Due to our Convenient location, our guests can easily go around Hong Kong for Sightseeing, Shopping & Dining. Also, It was a perfect location for business travelers. Cause we were just in the Central HUB of all transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hong Kong
Imperial Hotel Hong Kong
The Imperial Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing