We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive hotel that needs renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.32-34 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #269 of 692 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
376 helpful votes 376 helpful votes
“Expensive hotel that needs renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is located in Tsim Sha Tsui, very close to the waterfront and to the MTR (subway), thus the price is not cheap, but it needs to be renovated, as it is an old hotel. The staff is just ok. The breakfast is a cheap buffet that runs out of food quickly. Better to eat outside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    174
    180
    68
    72
See reviews for
90
76
57
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Khabarovsk, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Rooms is very small, but enough to sleep and take shower. All interior of hotel is not fresh, cannot say that is clean, everything is old or because too many people stay there.
Personnel is neutral to visitors, during 3 days always was a lot of people.
Location is good, very close to metro, bus stations, mall and shop "7-11", also close to harbor and pier.
If money not so matter better stay in Gloria or Sheraton that placed near with this hotel.
This hotel is normal for this price,only if they renew interior or make it more clean/fresh.

Room Tip: Take room with view to Nathan Road it's better than another view to gray walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipur
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was on a business turned fun Trip to Hong Kong where after one previous bad experience in a hotel, I found the Hotel Imperial. I had purchased a tour including stay & sightseeing from Antilog Vacations website which r best fr Hongkong-Macau tours..Cheap and A-1 Service.

The best thing about this hotel is the location, it’s on the Nathan Road just a minute walk from the metro station. It’s easy to access public transport, shops, cultural centre and star ferry. That was ideal for me.

Simple well-kept rooms and courteous staff make it a pleasant stay. A great deal for budget professionals indeed. However, if you are looking for the extra frills like pool or night club, etc, this place in not for you. It does make up for all the fun being in the Tsim Sha Tsui district where all the activities and shopping is.

Rooms are clean and service each day is excellent. Not good for families as rooms are very small in size. There is running hot and cold water, the towels are changed everyday, and the rooms are clean every time we get back from a long day of sightseeing. Some of the staff were young and very accommodating when we asked questions and when I requested for an adaptor for my laptop and phone chargers.

My only complaint about the hotel was the service we received from the staff. Everyone was cordial when I checked in and out however when I came to ask for directions and suggestions on where to go and what to do, they were immediately very uptight and unfriendly about it. There is a language gap if u can't speak local language.

The best part is the location of hotel and that too for people visiting for business purpose as it is located in the center of Kowloon and pretty close to ferry terminal.

All in all, it was a comfortable stay. We weren't bothered throughout our stay. I will definitely use this hotel again. Not recommended for families though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My worst hotel in HK ever!! My room was: small, dirty, old, with some insects too!! Position is good, near mtr and all services but this hotel is too expensive for the quality offered. The price cannot be similar at Kowloon Hotel.

never more!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed for one night (coming from Macau) prior to catching an early flight out of HKIA. Selected hotel based on relatively low price and location. Check in was delayed a bit as room wasn't ready at 1:30 pm, but they got us a room, as promised by 2 pm. Some of the the check in staff were pleasant, others not so. Same with the others encountered later, with the cashiers being the most unfriendly to the point of being rude. Room was small but clean, as was the bath. Was given a room with two (small) single beds, told I should have requested a double bed if we wanted that. But there was nothing on the booking page that said I could. Got totally conflicting info on the shuttle bus to the Airport Express station, so decided not to take a chance on that and just got a taxi for HK$30, which was a good decision as it was quick with no waiting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

had to make a quick trip and after last years livestock infested accomodation thought i'd upmarket a bit. The room overlooked a courtyard. But it was the other hotel guests that were noisy late at night in the corridor. As this was a business trip, i had to be up early. carpet was dirty and there was a bad smell in the room the whole time. internet usage was disproportionally expensive. disappointed.

Room Tip: make sure your room is on a quiet corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We took the bus from the airport and even if it were my first time in HK, i did not have trouble finding it. Bus stops exactly in front of hotel and mtrs that can take you just about anywhere are walking distance from it. Concierge was ok, they let us leave our luggage in the lobby when we arrived early and went home late. I think often misconception of people are they are not polite or they seem rude but i guess that's just how they talk or act. Room was alright. We had twin beds (for my sis and i) and there has hot water in the shower. I had a little trouble with the drain in the bath tub though because i thought it was broken but eventually i found out that you have to "flush" it like a toilet bowl. Towels were provided along with bottles of water each day and some toiletries. Overall, it is a value for your money spent.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: No.32-34 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 692 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Imperial Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel guests were mainly from South East Asia & PRC. Due to our Convenient location, our guests can easily go around Hong Kong for Sightseeing, Shopping & Dining. Also, It was a perfect location for business travelers. Cause we were just in the Central HUB of all transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hong Kong
Imperial Hotel Hong Kong
The Imperial Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.