We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very ordinary” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Hong Kong to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #17 of 690 Hotels in Hong Kong
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very ordinary”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This would be the worst "five star" hotel I've stayed in. The rooms are tired, amenities (including the pool) are closed, the breakfast is uninteresting and poorly presented and the service is 3 star and clumsy. Still enjoying Hong Kong, just should have stayed somewhere else.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    334
    81
    24
    10
See reviews for
150
251
101
531
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very professional hospitality from the minute i enter the hotel, beautiful and very positive Russian speaking guest assistant Miss Maria Alekseeva with impeccable manners, fluent speaking and most knoweledgeble in Hong Kong
Perfect, prompt room service, great hospitality. I arrived for HK Fashion trade show and sum up, could not be a better connection and save time on walking to Convention centre.
Will be back again

Room Tip: I like futuristic space like feeling while in Hong Kong, and that was my request to have a city view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Mazalme

Greetings. Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We appreciate it. We will convey your praises to Maria and the Room service tam. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Rooms are good and overall very good feel to this hotel. We had our conference here and we were quite satisfied. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant lunch buffet was great with good spread. Breakfast spread is limited and a bit disappointing for a hotel of this callibre.

I would come back to this hotel and recommend it to my friends and colleagues.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, director of marketing communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear SamirRasam

Greetings. Thank you for your great feedback. Delighted to know that you have enjoyed our newly designed guestroom and the lunch buffet at Tiffin. On your next visit, you may please try the breakfast buffet at the Grand Cafe for a even bigger variety of breakfast items including Western, Chinese, Korean, egg station and fresly pressed juices. Thank you for recommending us to your friends. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Not usually in my consideration set when coming to HK for holiday, but had selected this for work as it is next to the Hong Kong Convention Centre.

Getting here. I took the airport express free shuttle bus, had a good trip cause the bus was empty. There are only 4 stops that the bus will make to get to the hotel, and unfortunately the stop for the hotel is the 2nd last. Took about 20 minutes to get to the hotel. If I stay here in the future, I would just opt to take a cab from Hong Kong Station.

Check-In was a great experience. Reception was very warm and check-in was completed very quickly. I was assigned a newly renovated room with King Size bed that did not come with breakfast as it was a corporate booking, but given the option to be upgraded free to the club floor with free breakfast but the rooms were not renovated yet. I opted for the newly renovated room to see what improvements have been made.

The Room was great. nicely renovated with marble surfaces, not so much dark wood so it makes the room look very restful. No curtains but electrically controllled blinds that open up to a view of the Central area and TST. You can sit at the couch just beside the window to enjoy the view. There is a 1m x 1m table which was great to use as my workspace while overlooking the city.

The Bed was nice and firm, came with 4 pillows. 2 firm and 2 softer. Had a great sleep!

The bathroom was quite unique. Its an open concept bathroom where the bath tub is between the shower stall and the bed. You have the option to drop the blinds but this gives the room a very open feel. Towels are plush and very lux. The supplied toiletries are more than sufficient. The water pressure in the shower stall was nice and there was a separate knob for you to control the temperature. The shower also comes with a rainshower.

My only dislike would be the toilet cubicle. You can't keep the door open, so its a nice open room, but when you need to use the throne, the door will not stay open and you are confined to this small space.

Overall, its a great comfortable stay. Location is in Wanchai and the MTR is a 8min walk away. I would recommend staying at the Hyatt.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear danmono

Greetings. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. Pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your stay in our newly designed room. Thank you for your compliments also for the check in process. It has been our honour to have your as our guest. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

No better hotel in Hong Kong., harbor view is wonderful and location is great, in between Central Causeway bay, great food, restaurants are great, original rooms or renovated rooms are great. fast, in and out, overall wonderful

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Frederick Willi...E

Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your compliments. Our pleasure to know that have enjoyed both our original and newly designed guestrooms, as well as our restaurants. Thank you gain for choosing to stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel location is excellent. For those traveling on business or pleasure, the location of the hotel will allow you to get about quite easily. Note that Wanchai is at your door step which has numerous eateries and late night bars. Traveling to Central can be done by taxi or MTR (nearest is Wanchai). You can take a tram to Causeway Bay for late night shopping, take a taxi to the Peak and experience a great view of Victoria Harbour.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Jeffrey M

Greetings. Thank you for your great feedback re the convenient location of the hotel. Trust that you had an enjoyable time in Hong Kong. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you again for your support.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is about as good as a hotel gets. From check-in - which is extraordinarily quick and personal (no need to queue up) - to the speed with which any matter is dealt with, to the food, comfort of rooms - one word sums this up: excellence. It is not the only hotel in Hong Kong which deserves such high praise. Whether or not you stay here will largely depend on location. The location is very good, but some travellers may prefer to be closer to their place of business, although most places in town are a short taxi fare or walk away. This is an excellent hotel. The staff are to be congratulated - thank you.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear WanderingAlbatross9

Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We truly appreciate your compliments to our service. We are grateful for having a professional and friendly team who strive to exceed guests' expectation. We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong is located along the prime waterfront of Hong Kong Island commanding beautiful views of the harbour. The hotel is directly connected to the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. The 539-room hotel is home to nine restaurants and bars. Located on the 11th floor of the Grand Hyatt, the Plateau Spa offers privacy, seclusion and an escape from the vibrant city of Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hyatt Hong Kong
Hong Kong Grand Hyatt
Hong Kong Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.