We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel but service can disappoint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Hong Kong to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Joy of Winter - Save 30%
Ranked #17 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grand hotel but service can disappoint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Starting with the positives, we had a beautiful room with great views across the harbour, which was impeccacbly turned out with every available accessory. The pool is wonderful and concierge & housekeeping staff very helpful, but frankly you would expect that at the HK$6,000 per night room rate we paid. However, the service in the breakfast restaurant and poolside were very ordinary. In the former we struggled to make ourselves understood iwith even the most basic meal changes despite all the body guard style earpieces the staff wear, and then our meals were still incorrect when they arrived. Pooside, we encountered a downright rude & lazy young staff member who was clearly trained at Fawlty Towers. When you pay top dollar, you expect the service to match.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, director of marketing communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear titan34

Greetings. Thank you for taking the time the share your feedback with us. We appreicate your compliments. We also appreciate that you let us know your disppointment with the service. It is important for us to look into it in order to ensure a good experience for guests. May I request that you advise the date that you visited Grand Cafe and The Grill or the period of your stay and your registered name? I can be reached at gladis.young@hyatt.com.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. I look forward to hearing back from you.

Regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    322
    76
    24
    8
See reviews for
139
237
99
511
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The accommodations were outstanding, the staff was most courteous and helpful. I was attending a meeting at the convention centre which is adjacent to the hotel. I highly recommend the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, director of marketing communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear KJM1990

Warm greetings. Thank you again for choosing to stay with Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. We are grateful of your positive comments which we will share with the team. It will be our pleasure to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My stay at the Grand Hyatt was average.

Upon arrival, due to the large volume of guests in the hotel lobby, the reception staff seemed to be in a rush, check in service did not feel warm or personalized. I was told during check in that there were no non-smoking rooms available on the harbor view side so if I wanted a non-smoking room I had to take a garden view room. Since I don't like cigarette smoke I agreed.

The room I was given was one of the old, non-renovated ones. In my opinion, the old rooms might have been 5 star 20 years ago but they are not of that standard today. For today's standards, given that the hotel is a Grand Hyatt and the room rate is substantial, the rooms are below average.

I know that the hotel is renovating the rooms which is great. Given this at reception there needs to be some proactive information telling you that the room you will be stay is an older one and giving you the option to either pay more to upgrade if you wish.

What was good during my stay was room service. The food I ordered was fresh and tasty. The hotel staff that delivered it was polite and personable.

Overall, if you are used to more contemporary 5 star hotel room luxury I would advise to make sure you book in advance one of the new rooms or stay in another hotel with newer rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Sito_Journey

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. We appreciate that you are being so understanding regarding the hotel's situation. We will review with the Front Office team to ensure that a warm welcome is delivered at all times.

We hope that you could experience our new room during your next visit. Three brand new floors of renovated guestrooms are now available. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you ever want to experience- "Epitome of hospitality" and "going out of the way to make you feel special ", this is the place! From the pick up at HongKong airport, to the complimentary upgrade of the room, to free Wifi and giving us access to the "Grand section" of the hotel, there was not a moment where we did not feel special. And ofcourse the champagne and fresh fruits!Special mention must be made of the rooms which were spacious and equipped with all facilities! The toiletries were high quality and even though it was cold and wet , you felt warm in the rooms or maybe it was just the warmth of the staff!
The concierge were really helpful in guiding us around the city and helped us pick the best spots and most cost effective way to cover HongKong!
The best part was the grand section on the 30th floor which was accessible only to certain tier of guests. It served lovely dishes- croissants, cheese, cakes,quiches and unlimited drinks!
All in all, a satiating experience,making a 3 day stay feel very short!
NOTE: Due to the weather, the outdoor pool and tennis court was shut, else it would have added more to this lovely stay!

Room Tip: Harbour view room has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, director of marketing commmunications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Ron 101285

Warm greetings. Thank you for choosing to stay with Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. We truly appreciate your complimentary comments. We will share your feedback with the team for it will mean so much to them. Will you be planning another trip to Hong Kong again soon? Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed in harbor view room. Excellent bed and linen etc. Great bathroom good water pressure separate shower. Towels changed frequently without asking. Wonderful view over harbor. Pool is a great place to relax. Ate at the steak restaurant pricey but a really well cooked meal (cocktails were excellent). Typhoon caused cancelation of flight, we were accommodated for an extra night without any fuss. Extra credit to Karly Cheng and Rike Erdbrink for helping with the extra night's stay - both fine examples of front of office service

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Durian2004

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. Trust that you arrived home safe and sound. Delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable experience with our guestroom, Grand Hyatt Steakhouse and the pool. We will convey your encouraging feedback to Rike and Karly. We truly appreciate your support.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have stayed at the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong many times and I was excited to give their newly launched guest rooms a try. The Grand Hyatt is known for its great service and features one of the best Hyatt Clubs on top of the hotel.

My room was the new Executive Room (rack rate HKD 6,000) which is like my all-time favorite the Grand Executive Harbour Room more a junior suite and very spacious: an open plan 50 sqm with two sides of floor to ceiling windows make this room the best: the view over Hong Kong harbour is spectacular.

BAR Studio did not only change the rooms but also remodeled the floors. The renovated floors feature dark wood with deep-red silk wall-coverings. A huge upgrade to the previous design: This pretty much looks like a five star environment.

Keycards are replacing the old golden keys and the first thing that I notice is the spaciousness of the room . From the dim-lit floor with the dark panels you enter the room that's flooded with light. Neutral tones with hints of gold and bronze make the room very cozy. BAR Studio is using clean, minimalistic lines, yet the rooms feel very homey.

The hotel spent a lot of time thinking about their lighting. There many indirect and zonal lights and they all can be dimmed to personal liking. I did not count how many light bulbs they are actually using but the whole thing is very sophisticated.

Worth noting is that the Executive Room has a separate powder room which is housing the toilet. While the bathroom is open to the bedroom they have thought about an enclosed private room which the old Grand Executive Harbour Rooms did not feature.

Verdict: Top notch! BAR Studio has helped to transform the Park Hyatt Sydney and they did a great job in Hong Kong as well. I like how they remind you that you are in Asia and I am a big fan of how they use colors and light to give the rooms a very comfortable ambience.

Room Tip: The new Executive Rooms are spacious junior suites with spectacular views of HK harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear SMK77

Warm greetings. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your appreciation for our newly renovated room. We are excited when we know that our guests like the new rooms as much as we do. More importantly, we would like to thank you for praising our services. We will share the encouraging feedback with the Grand Club team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

many times we sleep and still it ia amazing. super service they know what you like to have. nearly all they do. super room super bed. mega great shower. and on the 11 floor the largest pool from hkong on the roof. try it and you will find out. not the cheapest but you get it!!!

Room Tip: have dinner at grissini. one of the best in town and outside nearly in the world. ask Always the che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear pannekoek07

Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. Happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We will share your encouraging comments on Grissini with Chef Andrea Fraire, Victor Marcato (manager) and the team. We truly appreciate your support. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. By the way, our outdoor pool opens year round. In case you return during winter, you are still able to enjoy it because it is heated when weather is cold.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong is located along the prime waterfront of Hong Kong Island commanding beautiful views of the harbour. The hotel is directly connected to the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. The 539-room hotel is home to nine restaurants and bars. Located on the 11th floor of the Grand Hyatt, the Plateau Spa offers privacy, seclusion and an escape from the vibrant city of Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hyatt Hong Kong
Hong Kong Grand Hyatt
Hong Kong Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.