We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Hyatt Hong Kong sets the bar so high” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 25% This Summer
Ranked #19 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
freshpho
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Grand Hyatt Hong Kong sets the bar so high”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

When we got to Hong Kong, we found the Grand Hyatt kiosk for ground transportation. We didn't set this up in advance because we thought we could rent a cab. Good thing we didn't. In Hong Kong, the cabs are small...no vans to transport you to Hong Kong. We got a minivan from Hyatt. Although spendy, it was worth it for our family of five: strollers, car seats, multiple suitcases...

When we arrived, two managers awaited our arrival and held my two girls' hands, gave them toys and made them feel so at ease. They upgraded our entire stay to a suite room although we only booked two nights in a suite and the other nights in a standard room. Although the rooms were a little dated, the hotel is currently going through renovations. When you step outside of the bathroom into the bedroom, be careful because there is a raised portion. I tripped a couple times and so did my husband.

We had breakfast at the Grand Club and that was my first taste of HK dim sum. This Grand Club food standards are so exceptional! In the evening, the Grand Club serves champagne and other alcohols. Their appetizers are amazing: They serve shrimp cocktails, and other fancy dishes. They even had goose pate (not fois gras), which was very delicious. Scott at the Grand Club was very accomodating and friendly.

The swimming pool was very kid friendly. It was shallow enough for them and there were so many kids there. There wasn't any prejudices against children here....kids were very welcomed.

We had dinner at their flagship restaurant, One Harbour Road. I ordered a mapo tofu dish, my husband had fish. We ordered 2 small bowls of soups and two apple juices. The dinner was very expensive. We paid US$300. That was the damned best mapo tofu I ever had in my life!

I can't wait until I return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear freshpho

Greetings. Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. It has been our pleasure for having you and your family as our guests. Happy to know that you have enjoyed the Grand Club breakfast. The dim sum are the popular items because they best represent our Cantonese cuisine.

Thanks for your support. We will convey your compliments to Scott and the team. We look forward to welcoming you and your lovely girls back.

With kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    582
    283
    70
    23
    6
See reviews for
112
196
88
419
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our weekend in Hong Kong was excellent at the Grand Hyatt. I arrived close to 4 am because of very long flight delays and the front desk attendant was very friendly and was able to upgrade my room when I arrived. The breakfast in the Grand Club is delicious! The location of this hotel was ideal as it is close to everything. The service here was also phenomenal. Anything we asked for was delivered within minutes to our door. The hotel itself was beautiful as was our room on the 30th floor, and the view of the harbor. The only thing I did not like was that there was construction going on and it was horribly loud. The man informed me upon checkin that this was the case, but I didn't know when I was booking the hotel. I didn't really hear it on the weekend though, just during weekdays so it wasn't a terrible inconvenience. Overall, it was a great stay.

Room Tip: harbor view cannot be beat
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Jessica R

Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. We appreciate your understanding with regards to our current renovation. I hope that during your next visit, you will consider staying in one of our new guestrooms which are even more spacious and you are able to enjoy the views even fuller with the window curtain replaced with Roman blind. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Grand Hyatt Hong Kong hosts excellent facilities, pampering spas and more., strategically located besides the prominent exhibition & convention Centre in Wanchai. Marvelous cuisines' choices with excellent service. Rooms well equipped all facing the scenic Harbor View. Mango pudding is a delicacy. The hotel is located within distance to the bars, restaurants, ferry and the MTR station. Try it!

Room Tip: Situated at top, the Business lounge (happy hours) is excellent choice with splendid filling meals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Nadeem l

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. We are delighted to learn about your enjoyable experience. Happy to hear that you like One Harbour Road's mango pudding. Did you know that it has been our signature dessert for almost 24 years. Thanks again for your support. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We just completed a stay at the Grand Hyatt. This was the first hotel I ever stayed at in Asia almost exactly 20 years ago to the day, and I had stayed there several times over the last few decades. The hotel still retains the splendor I remember when I first set foot in the lobby way beach when. The lobby area is beautiful with its black marble and teak wood.

We reserved a suite on points, and while the room was ample and spacious (even with a rollaway for our eight year old in the living room) it is evident why the hotel is undergoing a comprehensive renovation. Candidly, the rooms were a bit tired and in need of a refresh. But no matter....we had been forewarned about that and the rooms were quite comfortable notwithstanding.

The service is quite outstanding. We had relied on the concierge, Simon, in advance by email, and he steered us in the right direction both before and during our stay. Seek him out - he's very pleasant and helpful.

The real greatness of the hotel lies in the service, and from start to finish it was great. We arrived before 7:00am, and the airport pickup was smooth and efficient. When we arrived at the hotel, there was literally someone waiting outside for us to whisk us up to our suite (we had prebooked it for the previous night) and within minutes we were able to unwind after the long flight. As requested, the rollaway had already been prepared for our son.

The Grand Club is excellent, both for breakfast and early evening cocktails. The facility itself is awesome. The view is great, the food is very good and the service is spot on. Upgrade if you can, it's worth it.

Finally one last example of the awesome service. We left the hotel to catch a very early flight, once again using the hotel's transportation. After being on the road only about 15 minutes, the driver got a call; I had left my ipad in my room. That's right - within minutes, they had checked the room we had just left, discovered my ipad, and got in touch with the driver in plenty of time to double back and still get to the airport on time. All I can say is THANK YOU!!!!

Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear RobRen62

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your time. Thank you for returning to Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. It is our pleasure to have you as our guests again. We are grateful for your recognition to the team. We will share your encouraging words with them.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again. The hotel is approaching its 25th anniversary next year.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen aan Zee, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

SUpper viptreatment. Arrivé on the airport and within 40 min i was in My hotel. Good room. Clean super airco. Fresh. What do we need More. Great pool and Nice smoking place. They could make it as the best roof top bar in Hkong. Food from the italy place super super. I come back.

Room Tip: Top place near All.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Remyp911

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. The airport express is very convenient indeed. When I receive my friends arriving from overseas I also use the airport express. Happy to learn that you have enjoyed our swimming pool. It's heated in the winter time. So if you are coming to HK during autumn or winter the next time, you may spend a good time there again.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt on Hong Kong Island in Wanchai as a business traveller, and really enjoyed the facilities, great location and views. Top class hotel and excellent service. My room was excellent with magnificent views across the harbour. Pool area is beautiful. Only downside at present is the construction noise during the day as the refurbishment takes place. Walking distance to the bars and restaurants in Wanchai and the MTR station.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view, and away from the construction noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gladisyoung, Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Sydney2031

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay. Delighted to learn about your enjoyable stay. We also understand that the noise could be a concern during the day. We really appreciate your understanding. Thank you again for your continuous support.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cheers
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, and were so glad we did! After the usual shopping spree, it was so nice to come back to this lovely hotel. The staff were all so welcoming and helpful.Lovely hotel. Excellent. Restaurant in the ground floor deserves its own review.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#17 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Hong Kong 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong is located along the prime waterfront of Hong Kong Island commanding beautiful views of the harbour. The hotel is directly connected to the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. The 539-room hotel is home to nine restaurants and bars. Located on the 11th floor of the Grand Hyatt, the Plateau Spa offers privacy, seclusion and an escape from the vibrant city of Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hyatt Hong Kong
Hong Kong Grand Hyatt
Hong Kong Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.