We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 25% This Summer
Ranked #20 of 611 hotels in Hong Kong
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our family had a one-month stay here and found the staff exceptionally helpful, knowledgable and kind. I could not have asked for better service in every aspect of our stay: the fantastic food, the excellent room and the level of consideration for children. For example, my child became sick one day and the staff found me a medical practice nearby and booked the appointment. They also made many recommendations for our family, in relation to Hong Kong generally, that were beneficial.

I have gone back for a subsequent stay and will do so again.

Room Tip: You can ask about construction noise, but we did not find it a problem and we even had children slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    580
    282
    70
    23
    6
See reviews for
111
196
88
417
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

From the start when making the reservation, the notice that "construction is under way" should have been the bad omen that should have had me choose another hotel for my stay in Hong Kong but since it was one of my preferred properties I continued with the reservation.
I have hundreds of thousands of "Gold Passport Hyatt points" and wanted to use some of them to request an upgrade. Having sent several emails and having received confirmation that the best available rooms would be offered at the time of check-in, I thought this would be taken care of. It should be noted that hold high status in the Gold Passport Programme and this courtesy should normally be offered at any property anyway.
Checking in, the room that was offered was called a "suite" but was smaller than a regular room and was old, tired, inferiour view, carpet stains everywhere and the space smelled badly. It took over an hour to get moved in to a better room after complaining profusely. Obviously, the better room WAS available so why wasn't it offered at the time of check-in? Right... excuses. No regard to our requests prior to arrival was given, no regard to the superiour status was given and nothing was done to correct this during our one week stay. Explaining that we would like to have an upgraded room when available fell on deaf ears to rather arrogant staff. We paid a higher rate even though the upgrade was not afforded us AND we were not given the promotion that is currently boasted (for every three nights we stayed, we are entitled to one free night and this was not given to us while the bad attitude was).

Next, the spa staff at reception seem unwilling or unable to assist in even the simplest of requests. Even booking a massage was like trying to bring North Korea to the negotiation table. Again, very high prices and very low level service.

Grand Hyatt Hong Kong seems to have moved their focus away from an all-inclusive trend (including European and North American guests) and are now pointing all of their service and perks towards the new mainland Chinese guests that are everywhere on the island region now.
The upper management is being replaced this month with a mainland Chinese man and this reflects the obvious focus that has changed to preferring mainland Chinese guests.
The management is more interested in taking time to note the guests profile of insignificant information, to mask their mistakes, rather than actually trying to make the paying guests feel appreciated, at home and wanting to return. There are several other matters that came up during our stay but rather than boring you readers let me just say that I will not return to this property for the foreseeable future and I suggest that the readers here try the Mandarin Oriental or the Peninsula rather than wasting money at the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. No need creating stress for yourselves here.

Room Tip: Don't waste your time with this hotel. In the same rate (HK$) category there are many many othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhyatthongkong, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear TheTruthOnly

Thank you very much for your comment. In view of the complexity of your experience, a senior manager would very much like to connect with you. I can be reached by email gladis.young@hyatt.com

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

we stayed at Grand Hyatt a week ago, service was excellent, convenient location, nice lounge, Asia restaurant is good but expensive. We didn't have any problems with the construction Hong Kong was the first stop of our Asian Honey Moon. Hotel upgrade our room and we had Moet champagne along with strawberries waiting for us at the room. Neighborhood is safe and close to night life just couple blocks north. we recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with vista to Kwoolom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you are going to HK for the Art Fair the best place to stay by far is the Grand Hyatt.
So convenient, great service, and no hassle of transport…and the Club Lounge is superb.
Definitely going back to it next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our flight was delayed by a day, so the airline arranged to put us up at the Grand Hyatt. Rooms are huge for Hong Kong standard, and it has all the amenities of a five-star hotel. The hotel is showing its age though, and is in need of a major refurbishment. Due to our short stay, we didn't get to make use of the fitness centre or pool, but did manage to get a peak at them. The harbour views during our stay (July 2012) were marred by some major construction work in front of the hotel. We got to try the in-room dining, paid for by the airline. Food was great, absolutely worthy of the Hyatt. Maitre-d's service was faultless as well. Breakfast variety was plentiful, and the quality is expected of a Hyatt property. However, they have a strange policy of not allowing pictures of their food. The corp comms manager came over and told me not to take any pictures and to contact the hotel if I need any. Perhaps I looked like a food blogger or journalist with my huge DSLR?

Room Tip: Get a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent several wonderful days here and the stand out was the concierge on level 30 - a "Brit " known as Jake - probably one of the most brilliant concierges I have ever encountered - he is a true credit to excellence!!!!

Amazingly kind and considerate staff and food and rooms of a very high standard

Room Tip: Harbour view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Grand Hyatt Hong Kong was great. The room was fantastic and had wonderful views.
The dining experience at One Harbour Road was also superb, offering great food and great views. It's a great place to stay when you're in Hong Kong, especially if redeeming Free Nights from Hyatt.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#17 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Hong Kong 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong is located along the prime waterfront of Hong Kong Island commanding beautiful views of the harbour. The hotel is directly connected to the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. The 539-room hotel is home to nine restaurants and bars. Located on the 11th floor of the Grand Hyatt, the Plateau Spa offers privacy, seclusion and an escape from the vibrant city of Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hyatt Hong Kong
Hong Kong Grand Hyatt
Hong Kong Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.