We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, in the middle of renovation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Hong Kong to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai / Causeway Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Third Night Free
Ranked #17 of 693 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, in the middle of renovation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Though pricy, but this is a very convenient hotel for attending activities in the HKCEC. The view is magnificent although the weather was not good during our stay. The breakfast is perfect and full of selections, although they hardly changed their course during our 3 nights stay in the hotel. There was noise during day time as the hotel is in its middle of the way of renovation in some of the floors. The location is quite convenient and walking distance to surrounding area like MTR and Star ferry Terminal. I would consider to stay in the same hotel if to attend activities in HKCEC again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    390
    89
    32
    10
See reviews for
173
303
120
644
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

It has been a couple of years since my last stay at the Grand Hyatt and my recollection was having the best breakfast at the 31st executive floor. After having experienced quite a few luxurious hotels around the world, I still hold my ground that I've had the best breakfast there. Unlike other hotels that offer too many varieties (how many can one eat for breakfast anyway?), I think having the freshest fruits of the season (love the fresh blueberries & raspberries), good breads & pastries, and an ample choice of breakfast items; are just about what constitute a great meal to start the day. The hot items are very minimal, no one cooking omelette at a stations, which for me is ideal; unlike other hotel buffets that once you enter, the smell of oil permeates the air. Cocktails at 5:30pm is also a lovely sundown treat. The melt-in-your-mouth-pate was something to look forward to as you try to cool down after a day around the busy streets of Central. Wash down the canapés & hors d'oeuvre with a glass of Champagne.... pure luxury!

Room Tip: When you want pure luxury, chose the executive floors or rooms facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in grand hyatt HK.
Good location in central, nice decorated room with beautiful view of harbour!
We stayed in executive floor, reception there is quick and nice. the included evening cocktail buffet and breakfast are wonderful. You must not miss that.
Hotel has a outdoor heated pool. Though it's a bit cold for swimming in early Apr, but still a nice refreshing activity we would like to take.
WIFI is free for guest all around the hotel and room which is considerate offer. Hate have to pay extra for wifi in the era of digital.
I would recommend this hotel to visior who would stay around central area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Absolutely wonderful. We wanted to stay longer. The Grand Hyatt Hong Kong sits on a small peninsula on the Hong Kong side of the harbor which gives this great old hotel amazing views of both Hong Kong and Kowloon. Walking distance to the Starr Ferry so you can easily get to Kowloon for great shopping in less than 20 minutes. The staff here is amazing - particularly one of the managers, Rike who went out of her way to ensure that our stay at the hotel was incredible. We stayed on the Club level -- which is more than worth the extra cost. The entire team on the Club floor learned our names (how can they do that with so many guests?) and engaged with us each day about local activities, restaurants etc. The breakfast and canapes in the evening were far better than any guest could want or expect -- and the view from the Club lounge is breathtaking! Staying on the club floor is like staying in a small, high end boutique hotel located within the Grand Hyatt. The overall hotel is undergoing a renovation but we did not hear any disruptions or construction noise during our recent stay. Can't wait to see it when its finished! We'll be back. Tip - take the high speed train from the airport to the city and then catch a taxi -- much faster and without any traffic. The hotel is less than a 10 minute taxi ride from the train station in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the water side and on the highest floor possible for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkkonummi, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Grand Hyatt Hong Kong Island has been my regular business destination for its convenience and location. I always appreciate fast Internet for business and Speedtest.net got 1.72 Mbps Download-rate and ping 141 ms, which are equal to Three’s pre-paid data that always buy anyway. VPN did work fine as well.

This time we had a group of seven people staying at the hotel for two nights. We always stay at this hotel’s club level, which works great at usual. Check-in process could be slightly faster, but still fast compared to many other hotels. Check-out was slower than I expected. Afternoon hors’de’aveurs are great and can even substitute evening dinner.

Small but nice detail, house keeping organizes your bottles in the order depending the size, from smallest to the biggest bottle. Very nice

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

When we arrived a cluster of people descended on our car, to open the doors for us and take our luggage. As we only ever travel with minimal luggage they were somewhat puzzled: 'is this all you have?' Rather than making us feel like cheap face-losing bums, it gave the immediate impression that we were going to be cosseted and that the service was something remarkable. In fact, we have found that all the staff are so attentive and well-trained that they are hard to fault. There is even an elderly lady waiting in the ladies' loo in the Grissini restaurant to turn the tap on, hold out the paper towel and press the soap and moisturiser plungers for you - if I had wanted her to, perhaps she would have peed for me as we'll!!

Our room was one of the unimproved ones, but we didnt feel that it was too shabby or dated. The bathroom has more black marble and gold plated fittings than I have ever seen in one place. Everything works well and is clean, and again, one feels well-provided for and looked after by the room staff. We had a room with only a tiny bit of the harbour visible, but as the weather has been misty we don't feel we have missed much. There have been a few muffled bangs from the building works during the day, but no other sounds at all.

Breakfast is stupendous, and I slightly regret that we have been taken out to breakfast in a club on one morning and were slightly abstemious on another day due to an upcoming lunch, if only because the buffet is terrific. There is nothing one can imagine wanting that is not provided, except for decent jam and marmalade. The dinner menu is of modest length, but food was excellent, well cooked and beautifully presented.

The triumph, though, is Grissini. We had the 'Tastes of Tuscany' menu and have never had better Italian food, even in Tuscany. The chef is a star. From the most delicious bread batons to the unexpected arrival of limoncello after coffee it was a memorable meal. The sommelier seemed delighted to discuss the wines that had been paired with the various courses, and the chef came briefly twice to our table. He also seemed genuinely pleased to engage with us and share our wholehearted enjoyment of the meal. It was a well-balanced menu, with a wide range of textures and flavours produced by many different techniques, but not fussy or overly elaborate. I would judge it as refined but authentic. The best part of our stay.

The pool is lovely. The only drawback is that the hotel is surrounded by high-rises, so much of the surrounding area, a generic idea of a rooftop tropical paradise, is shaded at various times of day. Luxurious loungers and attentive but discreet staff.

The hotel,as others have remarked, is in a location rather divorced from any neighbourhood activity. Walking to a restaurant is possible but not easy or pleasant, and especially at the weekend the area feels rather soulless. Star ferry terminal is close, and when they have finished the harbour side developments the location will be spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great rooms, great staff, great club lounge, great pool area. Next to the HK fair. Close to Causeway Bay. Wifi works everywhere (although could be faster). Avoid laundry service though. Otherwise everything just works at Hyatt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 693 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 3,265 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 693 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 1,263 reviews
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#21 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#17 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong is located along the prime waterfront of Hong Kong Island commanding beautiful views of the harbour. The hotel is directly connected to the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. The 539-room hotel is home to nine restaurants and bars. Located on the 11th floor of the Grand Hyatt, the Plateau Spa offers privacy, seclusion and an escape from the vibrant city of Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hyatt Hong Kong
Hong Kong Grand Hyatt
Hong Kong Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.