We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service and customer care!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 25% This Summer
Ranked #19 of 645 hotels in Hong Kong
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Impeccable service and customer care!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I were somewhat apprehensive when, after booking the Grand Hyatt for four nights, we were informed that extensive renovations were taking place in a number of the rooms, although work would only be carried out from 10am to 5pm. We needn't have worried, as the receptionist informed us when we checked in that she was giving us a room away from the noise, and true to her word, we didn't hear a thing! We know the Grand Hyatt from 16 years ago and it is still as fresh and welcoming now as it was back then, and the stunning flower displays which greet you as you walk through the door, are a joy to come back to. The service throughout the hotel is impeccable - courteous, helpful, efficient and thoughtful.

We had not visited the pool area before and, located on the 11th floor beside the Spa, it was an oasis of calm sandwiched between soaring skyscrapers and hundreds of lush palm trees! Definitely a whole different pool-side experience! Apart from the usual bar snacks and drinks, there is a buffet most evenings served with a selection of freshly grilled seafood and steaks. Since we had a late flight when departing, we were informed that we could use the pool area and the amenities until we were ready to leave.

The location is excellent, and although construction of a bypass is underway almost outside the door, there is no mess and it doesn't impede travelling around on foot, by MTR (subway) or taxi.

One expects a very high standard from a 5 Star hotel in any country, but the service at the Grand Hyatt was beyond our expectations. From our experience, it is clear that the facilities and customer care, as well as the location of the hotel, are equally well suited to the business traveller as they are to those on a more leisurely trip. This visit was a special occasion for us, and we went away with the best memories. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    600
    286
    71
    23
    6
See reviews for
118
204
88
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel as usual, offers great service. However, the hotel is dated. Upgrading being carried out. Grand Club lounge is a 2 level configuration where breakfast is served. Good quality breakfast. The hotel is a 15 minute walk away from the nearest mtr station.

Room Tip: Choose the club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A fantastic weekend relaxing by the pool. We had their weekend deal which includes super early check-in Saturday and super late check-out Sunday. Well worth it, a nice pool, great service, nice room overlooking the harbour. Got there in time for buffet breakfast to make the most of it, with plenty of time to settle in, have a nap and a swim before an afternoon glass of bubbles. The spa is very good, with friendly staff who explained everything very clearly. The poolside BBQ buffet was excellent for dinner. And unlike other weekends away it was just a short cab ride home at the end. Only problem - we need to go on a diet after all the delicious buffets!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong in WanChai and enjoyed the time pretty much. The location is just fantastic, you are in the middle of WanChai in minutes walking and even to central its only a walk of around 15-20 minutes or just a quick taxi ride.

The facilities if the hotel are still in pretty good shape eventhough they are pretty old, like the rest of the hotel. We stayed n onde of the Club rooms and had access to the Club lounge with its fantastic view over the harbour front and the skyline of Hong Kong Island and Kow Loon.
The lounge offers free drinks the whole daqy until midnight and serves breakfast as wll as evening snacks.

The room is quite old fashioned and i would not as per the standard of an 5 star hotel in Hong kong anymore. Saying this the hotel is undergoing a complete renovation and supposed to be finsihes by end of next year. But still the rooms are quite big for Hongkong standard and of course clean as well as in good shape.

I really enjoyed the friendly and familar atmosphere at the Grand Hyatt and i am definetly gonna come back to check the rooms after renovation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed in the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong for a week on business. The experience was really superlative. I was placed on one of the Club floors, with access to the Club Lounge - that included breakfast, cocktails/snacks throughout the day and concierge service, along with a gorgeous view of Victoria Harbor. The breakfast choices consisted of the general international fare of fruit, breads and pastries, cereals, yogurts, juices, etc., along with the hot bar consisting of scrambled eggs, bacon and ham, potatoes and one Asian choice that varied by day. The quality was generally a notch above the usual hotel fare (a special shout-out to the outstanding fresh juice selection) and the service was professional and prompt.

My room itself had a view of the harbor, and was very well appointed. Comfortable king-sized bed with plenty of pillows, business workstation with local outlet plugs provided (but realistically, not enough outlets for today's business needs, and no outlets provided other than at the desk - this is my only complaint). Wireless internet was included and trouble-free.

The bathroom was modern and well-equipped with toiletries and personal items for those that forgot to bring theirs. Complimentary water was provided via several bottles replaced daily.

The room was kept impeccably clean. I was working in the room on one day when the maid service came through - they literally cleaned everything that was cleanable - they even took the phones off the hook and cleaned the handsets. Linens were changed daily.

The hotel lobby and other common spaces were beautiful, bordering on lavish. The check-in process was quick - at the time, I was informed apologetically that remodeling of some spaces was in progress and may be loud at times, but I never heard any construction noise throughout my stay, nor did I see any signs of construction materials or workmen.

I would welcome the opportunity to stay at the Grand Hyatt again - it was a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The Club level rooms were lovely and came with access to the Club Lounge - well worth it, in my opin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was in Hong Kong for a week during the New Year and stayed here, thanks to a corporate deal with one of my family members' company. The service was great, the staff were very prompt to respond and keen to assist with your requests or queries (except for a lady who brushed us off when we asked for directions to get to the countdown venue at Convention Centre because she wanted to attend to this rich tai-tai who had just arrived for the new year party). Other than that, I think it was a pretty good experience especially with the counter and housekeeping staff who helped us with a number of requests.

Location-wise, you need to walk for about 5 minutes to get to the Wan Chai station but it's not too bad considering that you can see how the locals live and there are some good eats near the MTR station. Lots of construction going along that area so when you take taxis, it does have to make a few more turns before getting to the hotel.

The room for the first part of the stay was a bit small but in terms of Hong Kong standards, this was acceptable. It was facing the swimming pool and tennis courts and offered a side view of the harbour. When we got back from Macau for the second part of our stay, the room we got was even smaller but had a great view of the Central/Admiralty where we could see the IFC towers and ICC over at the other side of west Kowloon.

Didn't get to try the food at the restaurants though since we were too busy with sightseeing and tasting the local delights outside. However, I must say that the prices seemed to be on the high side but I guess that's to be expected from a hotel like this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spent four nights at the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong and did not want to leave. This place is among the very finest hotels we've stayed in. The service is absolutely top notch, the views from the high-floor harbor view rooms is spectacular, and the dining is simply excellent. All around, an excellent choice for Hong Kong.

The GOOD
- The service -- just absolutely incredible. Every detail is attended to. We emailed the hotel prior to our arrival to let them know we had two small kids in tow. Upon arrival, we were very pleasantly surprised to find that they had put kiddie sized robes & slippers in our room as well as a variety of treats for the kids. The thoughtfulness was genuinely appreciated. And this is just one example of how they make service a huge priority at this property. Every staff member in the club lounge knew our names and preferences after the first day. No task was too small for the concierge to help us with. Exceptional service all-around.
- The view -- just WOW. We were on the top floor in a very nice suite with harbor views, but I think the views even on the 8th floor are incredible. Get a harbor view room and you won't regret it. This has to be one of the best views in all of Hong Kong. Maybe a few places in TST or Kowloon offer better views, but it's hard to imagine.
- Spacious, comfortable rooms -- We had an amazingly comfortable suite, but even the other rooms we saw were very nice and roomy. Well appointed and with all you would expect from a five star property.
- Excellent club lounge -- Service, food and views all in one. The club lounge is spectacular. The breakfast is excellent, the evening cocktails also very very good. And it offers sweeping views of the entire city.
- Food -- Breakfast at the club lounge is very very good, but all the restaurants are worth looking at. We ate at the traditional Chinese restaurant and it was the best meal we had on our trip.
- Location -- perfect location I think. Subway is a tiny bit of a hike, but no more than 5-7 minutes. Very convenient to ferry terminal as well. Great area for restaurants, shopping, etc. Excellent neighborhood.

The BAD --

Nothing. Seriously, this place is that good. Rooms are a little bit retro, but they're doing a massive renovation now which will make this place even better. No reason why this hotel isn't the best in HK.

TIPS --

From airport, fastest and least expensive way to hotel is to take train to Central (very very easy to get on train, even with luggage - it's right in the terminal). From Central, it's a quick $40 (HKD) cab ride. Far better than taxi from airport since it's faster and less costly.

Absolutely get the harbor view room. It's a crying shame to not take advantage of the view.

Room Tip: You must get harbor view. It's well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#18 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Hong Kong 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong is located along the prime waterfront of Hong Kong Island commanding beautiful views of the harbour. The hotel is directly connected to the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. The 539-room hotel is home to nine restaurants and bars. Located on the 11th floor of the Grand Hyatt, the Plateau Spa offers privacy, seclusion and an escape from the vibrant city of Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hyatt Hong Kong
Hong Kong Grand Hyatt
Hong Kong Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.