We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, older rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eaton, Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Eaton, Hong Kong to your Saves list
Eaton, Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 380 Nathan Road, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Eaton Smart Hong Kong) (Jordan / Yau Ma Tei)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 20% off! Book now!
Ranked #74 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good location, older rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

decent location, right on nathan rd. quick walk to the MTR. Nice coffee shop in the bottom floor. Rooms are larger for HK standards, but older and some can be damp and musty feeling. Good service overall. Just needs some of the nice updating in the lobby into the rooms then its a 5!

Room Tip: upgrade to a bigger room ... just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    1,160
    305
    92
    52
See reviews for
423
880
200
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is well located: it is 5 minutes walk to Jordan MTR and 2 minutes to buses 1 and 7 for the Star Ferry to Hong Kong Island. The night market is a few minutes away and the flower market around 30 minutes walk. A frequent free bus service to Kowloon station (where bags can be dropped and passengers can get boarding passes for most flights) operates from outside the hotel. Alternatively the airport is about a 30 minute taxi ride.

Our room was very small with limited storage, but adequate for a few days. It had attractive floor level lighting. We only had a view of two elevated dual carriageways; however it was surprisingly quiet for a city centre. Breakfast (not included in our rate) was a sensible price, with reasonable choice and quick service. The open-air roof top pool was warm and looked very inviting. Everything was very clean and the hotel has some interesting modern decorative touches.

Reception and restaurant staff were all friendly and helpful.

Overall this is a good base to explore a fascinating city and we highly recommend it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a high rise luxury hotel in the centre of Kowloon. It was clean, comfortable and quiet despite its location. The room had a window wall. We upgraded to the e-club which gave you access to breakfast and evening drinks and snacks. Would highly recommend this. The breakfast was very good and the service excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton H, Manager at Eaton, Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks a lot for your compliment & we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My daughter and I spent 3 nights here from 14th March, and had a lovely room on the 12th floor, With the club room you get free breakfast in the Club lounge, although we were upgraded to full breakfast in the Metro bar for some reason. You also get to use the Club Lounge between 5.30 & 7.30 in the evening where drinks and nibbles are free, and they are very generous with this too!
The staff were always very helpful and courteous, and on our last day when we had to wait until 11.30pm for our flight, they looked after our bags and even let us use the facilities in the Club lounge even though we had checked out.
The gym is really good, open 24 hours, and the pool, although small, is lovely too.
There is a free shuttle bus to and from the hotel from Kowloon Central Station, and on the return journey to the airport, you check in your luggage at Kowloon Station and don't see it again until you reach your destination - brilliant!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked 2 rooms on this hotel as I have a corporate rate... I was so excited to check on the room, but upon opening the door, I was surprised on the size, It's way too small,, Location is great but that's about it, The battery of the remote is worn out. Bed is a bit stiff, pillows are nice, no bathtub. toilet bowl water keeps on flowing. The positive size are the staff, they are so helpful. Specially Kevin. He helped us and guide us on checking in and checking out which is great... Overall, our stay is fine. Maybe will check other hotels next time on the same road..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Sayed two nights before our cruise. Small room with a connecting door. People talking loudly in next room at 3am. Kettle was broken but they brought a new one within five minutes of ringing the front desk. Very close to Temple Street market which has food and drinks at night or McDonalds just across the road if you prefer that. A long walk down Nathan Road to the harbour but interesting along the way and you get used to it. Loads of things to see and do when exploring Hong Kong. Would go back there but might try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights in March 2013, I regret to choose this hotel. I should have stayed at the hotel I used to stay on Hong Kong island!! The location of the hotel is nice, but in reality all hotels in HK are close to all amenities since HK is such a crowded place.
The check-in process is simply awful, lobby is located on the 2nd floor with very low ceiling and people are trying to get someone's help in order to check in. Imagine you are in a local market, and you have to fight to get what you want to.
I arrived just before 2pm, and there were luggage everywhere (they have no room/facility to store guests luggage because they haven't cleaned the room). After 20 minutes of waiting and a rather long check-in procedure, I've been told that my room will not be ready until 3pm.
The room is very tiny with no space to store my 32" suitcase, the room has very poor lighting design, and it’s either very bright or dark. There are no blinds or curtain at the window, they use 2 laminate planks as the curtain. It felt like you are sleeping in a match box!!!! The wall is so thin, you can even hear the next room’s TV.
I go to HK for business and pleasure, and this is the worst hotel I've ever come across.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel, there are alot of nice hotels in HK than this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton H, Manager at Eaton, Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments.

We are concerned to read your experience during your recent stay with us. Though our official check-in time is at 15:00hrs, we are trying our best to honour early check-in if situation allows, we are sorry that we were unable to assign you the room due to high occupancy.

In regards the guest rooms, we have renovated 100 guest rooms last year and will further renovate 86 rooms this year, we will incorporate your suggestions into our design brief so that we can further improve our guest facilities and services.

We appreciate your feedback as we strive to maximizing guest satisfactions.

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Stan Chau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eaton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton, Hong Kong

Address: No. 380 Nathan Road, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Eaton Smart Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaton, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply the best valued 4 star Hong Kong hotel, Eaton, Hong Kong offering comfort, convenience and connectivity for leisure and business travellers. Lobby featuring a new reception, Essentials retail shop, E Point (free use of computer with Internet access), indoor and outdoor bar areas including Metro Lounge, T Bar and T Garden. Conveniently located in the very heart of Hong Kong's business district and shopping areas, Eaton, Hong Kong is only a few minutes walk from the nearest MTR station (Jordan station)and many of the city's favourite tourist attractions including Temple Street and Jade Market. Look no further for some value added activities including complimentary Tai Chi Class and our exciting local tours of the Jade market and Temple Street market and audio guide to this city’s many fascinating tourist spots!The rooftop swimming pool is your perfect spot to relax and sip a cool drink whilst our Exert Fitness provides you with extensive cardio vascular training equipments. Wind down at our 7 restaurants and bar for a world of savoury treats and cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Eaton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Smart Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Eaton Hong Kong
Eaton Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hong Hotel Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eaton, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.