We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eaton, Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Eaton, Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Eaton, Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.380 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Eaton Smart Hong Kong) (Jordan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Linger Longer & Save 20%!
Ranked #76 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good for stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a room on the 17th floor, by the sound of it, possibly a renovated room? It was just a stopover one night stay, so we were pretty laid back and by the time we arrived at 4.30, we just were happy to stay put. As we came back with three suitcases, we decided to leave those at the airport left luggage area for the next day. Wise decision. So we found our room big enough for the two of us with just one case, and very comfortable. The rooms were quiet and clean as was the bathroom, the only possible negative would be the lack of water pressure, but that was not a big deal. I thought that the lobby was probably too small for the hotel's size, seemed to have issues just accommodating people booking in or out or asking questions. But overall was quite happy to stay here, being not too far from the airport express station, Temple market etc. It was interesting walking the streets and seeing the sights, and was overall quite happy with our choice to stay here. I would stay here again if we come back to Hong Kong, hopefully next time longer.

Room Tip: From what I have read, some rooms are renovated and some are not. Ours was 1714. Not the best of vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    628
    952
    262
    84
    51
See reviews for
325
712
162
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay at Eaton. We booked two club rooms for four nights and specially request for two rooms close to each other. The front desk agent upgraded us to two suites right next to each other with no extra charge. Every staff are very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again next time when we visit HK. The location is very convenience to MTR and local malls and shops. You can practically buy anything just a few blocks away. Restaurants are also pretty good around the area.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Booked Deluxe Room for wife and myself. Room was so small there was only ONE chair in the room. Someone had to sit in the bathroom or on the bed. The room was so small we had to shuffle our luggage around the room so we could open the luggage and/or just to move in and out the room. We had 4 large pieces of luggage and 2 small pieces.

More disturbing, was our bed sheet was dirty, they gave us another bed sheet and left, leaving us to change the bed, we removed the bed sheet and uncovered a urine stained mattress cover and to make matters even worse, the "new clean" bed sheet had long black streaks on it.

Absolutely Disgusting. Will never return because of this.

Room Tip: Ask what the specific size is the room that you are assigned. The same category room can come in dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHKG, Manager at Eaton, Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for your disappointing experience, as you have written to us separately before, we have been able to follow up on this properly with the room attendant and we will ensure the highest service levels are delivered to our guests. Rest assured that it does not represent our service standard, we apologize on any inconvenience caused.

Our Deluxe rooms are smaller but we have a large selection of club and suite rooms for guests with families or wanting more space. Thank you again for writing with your comments.

Sincerely yours,

Stan Chau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Wa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Eaton Smart Hotel. We took advantage of lower prices by booking well ahead. We elected for the E-club, and this was an excellent decision because it enabled us to have breakfast included as well as evening drinks and nibbles. This added enormous value to the stay, because we didn't have to pay for breakfast somewhere else. The room was very spacious and quiet, with a good view. The hotel is located close to Temple Street night market, just a few minutes walk away. The walk to the nearest MTR station is not too bad. Just a few blocks. Also, we took advantage of the free shuttle bus to/from Kowloon Station, when connecting with the Airport Express train. Very convenient. The Eaton Smart is in a reasonably quiet part of Hong Kong, well away from the golden mile of Nathan Road, but that is easily accessible by the MTR. We stayed at the Eaton Smart for 4 nights on our way from Australia to Canada, and again on the way home (for one night). The decision to stay again at the Eaton Smart on the return journey was made on the basis of our positive experience the first time we stayed there. We would stay here again for sure, and we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other visitors.

Room Tip: Book well ahead to take advantage of better offers. Also, take advantage of the E-club. You will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Excellent Hotel, genuine staff concern, great breakfast and comfotable rooms with spectacular views.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I picked this hotel at the last minute based on recommendations on Trip Advisor, after my previously arranged accommodation plans fell through. The location is good, but that's pretty much it. My room was tiny - which isn't a big deal - but totally without charm. While the girls at reception were okay and the guy who cleaned the room was fine, the concierge whom I approached for directions wasn't very pleasant. He took out a map and gave me some lightning-quick instructions which I couldn't really follow. He was visibly impatient when I asked him to repeat, gave me a further 10-seconds of his time and turned away before I could ask anything further. And yet, he was all smiles and patient with the couple before me. I can only assume that it was because I was a solo, female traveller who was not White or Chinese (the couple was Caucasian). I was happy to check out at the end of my trip. I don't see any reason to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Eaton, Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments.

We are sorry about your unpleasant experience with our Concierge, we will follow up with the team immediately as it is unacceptable. We are serving guests from all over the world equally, and no matter they travel alone or as a couple.

Rest assured that “friendly and helpful” are our fundamental qualities and we will ensure all colleagues deliver that to our guests.

Once again, thank you and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

SIncerely yours,

Stan Chau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Eaton Smart Hong Kong is part of the Langham Hotels group which promises a certain level of comfort and service. It has 460 rooms over 21 floors. For a family of 5 adults, we booked 3 Superior rooms for 2 nights through Eaton Smart website, for HKD880 per room per night. Upon check-in, we were upgraded to Deluxe rooms on the same floor (16F). Although we arrived at 4:00pm, 2 rooms were not ready, and we were given free welcome drinks (beer/wine/cola) at the T Bar while waiting. Next to the T Bar was the E-Point (internet area) with 6 PCs (big screen monitor) and a printer.

The reservations people made an effort to get us to book the E Club rooms, but we were in Hong Kong to eat and shop, so we did not need hotel breakfast and evening drinks. We had a great time tasting the best Hong Kong dim sum, noodles, pastries and desserts on both Kowloon side and Hong Kong island.

Eaton Smart had 7 elevators, of which 4 were glass-wall type which looked out north at the Nathan Road - Gascoigne Road junction. The 16F rooms were quiet, small but well laid-out. There was a big work table with glass top and an executive chair. Room had Hitachi LCD TV, free wifi, fridge, safe, coffee/tea, kettle, safe, ice bucket, free 2 bottles water daily. The concierge on GF had a refrigerator with more free bottles of water. There was an ice machine along the corridor, but could be easily missed. We asked housekeeping for iron and board, and they were delivered within minutes.

Bathroom had long bath, magnifying mirror, hairdryer, shampoo, toothbrush, etc. The sliding door was difficult to close because it had no handle. The full-length mirror outside the bathroom was a good feature.

On 21F, there was a small swimming pool, and a gym. We had an 8:00pm flight, but had to check out at 1:00pm. The concierge stored our luggage while we went for more food and shopping. When we returned in the evening, we were allowed to use the shower on 21F, and changed into clean clothes. There was only 1 shower cubicle each in the male/female changing rooms, so had to queue with the other guests.

Eaton Smart is next to Nathan Hotel and Novotel Kowloon. The Airport Express K1 bus stop was just across the back lane, and the bus brought us to Kowloon Station in 10 minutes. From the hotel, Jordan MTR Station was about 250 meters away. To get to Hong Kong island by MTR: Jordan-TST-Admiralty, only 15 minutes needed. Location is excellent!

Crossing Nathan Road, you will reach the north end of the Temple Street Night Market. A bit further west is the Jade Market. Eaton Smart offers free tours (on certain days) of Temple Street and Jade Market, but this is useful only for first-time visitors. More interesting are the markets, flower street and goldfish street in Mongkok.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from elevator as hotel's 7 elevators can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eaton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton, Hong Kong

Address: No.380 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Eaton Smart Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaton, Hong Kong 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply the best valued 4 star Hong Kong hotel, Eaton, Hong Kong offering comfort, convenience and connectivity for leisure and business travellers. Lobby featuring a new reception, Essentials retail shop, E Point (free use of computer with Internet access), indoor and outdoor bar areas including Metro Lounge, T Bar and T Garden. Conveniently located in the very heart of Hong Kong's business district and shopping areas, Eaton, Hong Kong is only a few minutes walk from the nearest MTR station (Jordan station)and many of the city's favourite tourist attractions including Temple Street and Jade Market. Look no further for some value added activities including complimentary Tai Chi Class and our exciting local tours of the Jade market and Temple Street market and audio guide to this city’s many fascinating tourist spots!The rooftop swimming pool is your perfect spot to relax and sip a cool drink whilst our Exert Fitness provides you with extensive cardio vascular training equipments. Wind down at our 7 restaurants and bar for a world of savoury treats and cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Eaton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Smart Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Eaton Hong Kong
Eaton Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hong Hotel Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eaton, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.