We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheep and cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added City Garden Hotel Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.9 City Garden Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China (Fortress Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cheep and cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for work, but had my young family with me for the first few days. The hotel itself is tucked a little way off the main road (Kings Road) through the area. The address is given as North Point, but it's actually closer to Fortress Hill, and the Fortress Hill subway entrance is only a short walk away.

The service was good and friendly, with no fuss at check-in or check-out. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. They provided a bassinet for our 8mo free of charge. Having free wifi in the room was very convenient.

The bed was on the firm side, but still comfortable.

Our only complaint was that during the day, when most guests would have been out of their rooms, the hotel was conducting renovations, including pneumatic drilling, on the floor above. This prevented any chance of sleep or quiet for my partner and baby. The hotel did offer to move us to another room, but since their stay was not for the whole duration we declined.

The breakfast diner had a good selection of food of a good quality, but access was via the lobby and then up some stairs which seemed awkward.

As my company paid for the room I can't complain about pricing, but my work colleague who also stayed there described the hotel as "cheep and cheerful".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    465
    131
    24
    20
See reviews for
135
216
72
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I didn't go for the cheapest offer nonetheless I can't say I'm satisfied.

The hotel looks old, almost everything is in the average except room conditions and the prize (respectively below and above the average and experience in Hong Kong.

The location (four stops eastern Central) offer you the opportunity to see some real life outside the touristic area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

It was a very friendly and quick check in procedures and very friendly staff. rooms are nice but toilet and bathroom could need a refreshment. Comfortable bed and pillow made me sleep good eventhough i suffered jetlag. Free internet. Good breakfast buffet

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as it was within walking distance of my Hong Kong office and I was very impressed with the excellent service as soon as I walked through the door. Check in was swift and smooth, the room was clean and comfortable and quite modern and very large in Hong Kong terms and there were also 2 complimentary bottles of water. The bar in the basement is excellent, offering a good choice of draft beers and a small range of hot food, I would recommend the fish and chips. There was often a live band playing in the bar too. The buffet breakfast offered a wide selection of choices but it was quite expensive if not included in the room package. The Fortress MTR underground station is only a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and it was only a few stops to Central.There were also several restaurants within a few minutes walk too

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a garden/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Although our last trip was nearly 12 months ago it was our third visit to this fantastic hotel. Hotel, large enough offer excellent service, but exceptionally friendly. The hotel's position is ideal for sightseeing trips being 3 mins.walk away to the MTR Underground railway system, which is absolutely a must, too get around the city for minimal cost. City Garden hotel, has four superb restaurants, from Fine Dining, Chinese buffet restaurant, to Bistro dining. All are excellent choices and the price varies to suit all pockets. It also has a great bar with live entertainment, perfect for a nightcap when you return from your busy sightseeing days, or an exhausting shopping trips on Kawloon. Put this one on your list!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet, with fridge, and coffee making facilities. Good qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A grand hotel, very modern, fairly good location and quite reasonably priced. Nice modern, large rooms. Staff very helpful, wrote a few phrases down for us.

A bit disappointed when watching a Man United game in the hotel bar that the lights were turned off around me (ok it was 5am by the time the game finished).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our entourage was in Hong Kong for a 5 day study tour. We stayed at City Garden hotel and were truly impressed with the excellent service we received throughout our stay. The rooms were clean, comfortable and service levels were really good. The staff at the CG club were very helpful and make us felt really at home. I would certainly recommend my friends to this hotel.
Keep up the great service!

William
Singapore

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Garden Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.9 City Garden Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Garden Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the bustling Causeway Bay shopping and business district, and within 5 minutes walk from Fortress Hill MTR station, the 613-room City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong is one of the best Hong Kong hotels, which provides complimentary shuttle bus services to nearby shopping and business hubs such as Taikoo Place and Cityplaza, which is only 10 minutes away. City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong has a variety of dining options, including the Michelin One Star Cantonese restaurant YUE, the Western and Asian favourite Garden Café, and the Singaporean and Malaysian restaurant Satay Inn.Whether it’s for business or relaxation, the City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong offers free WIFI and a comprehensive range of facilities, including an outdoor swimming pool, 24-hour gym, business centre, and meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your City Garden Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Kong City Garden
City Garden Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Garden Hotel Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.