We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for Tourists and Business travellers alike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added City Garden Hotel Hong Kong to your Saves list
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.9 City Garden Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China (Fortress Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 942 Reviews
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for Tourists and Business travellers alike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We had been to the Cit Garden Hotel in downtown hongkong. At first when we booked the hotel we were not sure about how it would fare as compared to other business hotels. However to our pleasant surprise it turned out to be a very customer friendly place to stay with all the staff happy to help whenever required. It's just a couple of blocks away from the Fortress Hill MTR station which was a boon. The hotel offers free wifi, is extremely clean, regular hot water. Loved the view of the colourful garden from the top. Convenient restaurants around the place make it a hot property. Taxis are always on offer outside so no waiting time. Staff is extremely courteous and helpful. Even refunded our money, which was paid in advance, as we had to alter our stay. No questions asked and a simple payment of the counter to our agent who had booked. Saved us a lot of hassle otherwise. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on higher floors for a grand view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    501
    154
    28
    20
See reviews for
157
238
74
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed the the City Garden Hotel and found it just fine! It's two blocks from the Fortress Hill MTR station which will take you anywhere you need to go. The hotel is clean, staff friendly, room big enough and bath nice. I had a view of the pretty garden from my room and woke up to watch neighborhood residents practicing Tai Chi across the street. Lovely. There is an outdoor pool and jacuzzi. The price was reasonable. And there was FREE WIFI an important feature for me and it worked just fine. I didn't eat dinner at the restaurant but enjoyed the breakfast buffet several mornings(not included.) I have a problem with snooty, expensive hotels. This one had just the right combination of things. I plan to return on my next business trip to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I loved this place. From the moment we stepped in, everyone was so nice and accommodating. The rooms are a bit small however very clean and nice. The beds in our twin rooms were king size singles and oh so comfortable. The place is not located right inthe centre of HK hustle and bustle but 5 mins walk away from the MTR so really convenient and there's enough restaurants around the area to have a quick bite. Plus it's only really two MTR stops away from Times Square and major shopping areas. Really really recommend this hotel and would definitely go back. The free wifi in your room of course is an extra benefit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Bell service and recepiton were fanstastic. Very helpful and always smiling.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This hotel does what it says. It's a decent hotel at reasonable prices a little way out of the central area of HK island.

Good selection of breakfast choices and comfortable but basic room.
Free Internet is a plus.

.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near lifts if you can especially if travelling from Europe and a suffer of jet lag. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is definitely one of the best In hong kong it's a block away from the subway and it's near the shopping area in north point. Rooms are also decent wit reasonable price I book less than 100 dollars. Also te restaurant inside was awesome. Get the dimsum it's one of the best u had they also hv western but I recommend the Chinese restaurant. Also wifi is free which is unusual for hotels nowadays cause most hotels charge them

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed here for three nights on our way back from the UK. In a residential area and no views to speak of unless you like other people's homes. Check in was easy as we had a signature room so up to 25th floor for personalised check in. Large room and quite comfy. Note in room to advise of maintenance in room next door which meant we were without water for a few hours but we weren't in the room anyway so it didn't matter. Fire alarm testing also but again when we weren't there. Staff super friendly and helpful. Had breakfast everyday in the cafe which was great. Had lunch one day which was a bit disappointing as not heaps of choice. Close to the MTR and as we had stayed in the area before we had no problems getting around. Would I stay here again - definitely

Room Tip: Get a signature room as they are up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Garden Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.9 City Garden Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#73 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Garden Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the bustling Causeway Bay shopping and business district, and within 5 minutes walk from Fortress Hill MTR station, the 613-room City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong is one of the best Hong Kong hotels, which provides complimentary shuttle bus services to nearby shopping and business hubs such as Taikoo Place and Cityplaza, which is only 10 minutes away. City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong has a variety of dining options, including the Michelin One Star Cantonese restaurant YUE, the Western and Asian favourite Garden Café, and the Singaporean and Malaysian restaurant Satay Inn.Whether it’s for business or relaxation, the City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong offers free WIFI and a comprehensive range of facilities, including an outdoor swimming pool, 24-hour gym, business centre, and meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your City Garden Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Kong City Garden
City Garden Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Garden Hotel Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.