We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added City Garden Hotel Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.9 City Garden Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China (Fortress Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 611 hotels in Hong Kong
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Just fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Typical of a city centre hotel. Nice friendly staff. Rooms were very average. Great location for the MTR within 5 minutes walk. Wifi in the room was useless - kept cutting out. Beds felt cheap and not terribly comfortable. Breakfast was good with plenty of choices. Nice open air pool.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    465
    131
    24
    20
See reviews for
134
216
72
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

I checked into this hotel after checking out of the Charterhouse. This is a great hotel for the price. It is a few train stops away from Central but still very close and right by the MTR station. The hotel was very clean & the rooms quite modern. It was very quiet and never heard a noise the entire time I was there. Breakfast was included in the price and was fantastic. It had a huge selection of western and Asian foods. The area is 4 stops from Central but takes less than 10 minutes by the train. The MTR station is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. There are also numerous of extremely affordable restaurants in the area. The staff were always great with service of the hotel but knowledge of the local area wasn't the best. I had a great time there and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights at the end of February. Booked 2 non smoking rooms.

The location of the hotel was in a quieter neighbourhood on Hong Kong Island, near the edge of Causeway Bay. 5 minute walk to the nearest MTR (Fortress Hill). 7-Eleven right outside our door, plenty of shopping and restaurants in the area.

The lobby/reception areas looked nice, but the rooms themselves needed a bit of updating. The linens and bedspread were thin and worn out looking. The seating and furniture had stains and damage. One of the rooms was missing a lamp so it was quite dim compared to the other room. The rooms did offer free internet connection with LAN connection, and there was an outdoor pool and fitness center available for use. I heard good things about their buffet breakfast, but there were cheap breakfasts to be had around the area so we opted for that instead.

Service and staff were fine. Most of them spoke English and were quick to offer any recommendations.

In need some upgrades, but offered plenty of amenities and with the price we paid, worth the stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Near Fortress hill subway station
There are many noodle shops around the hotel
Next to 7 eleven

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

. Surrounding wise, as it is more to a neighbourhood feel, things are very much cheaper from dining to shopping and of course the morning market is just across one street fronting the hotel. IThan there is this wonderful 'tai pai tong' on the 1st floor of the market on the left side of the hotel (take the elevator). It consist of more than 10 proprietors, so go in and walk around and get to the one with plenty of people waiting for their table.

Room wise, sufficient for two adults and 2 kids, its a bit cramp but yet manageable... unlike those hotel in tst or mongkok which is just a bed and a tv. Toilet is well kept and i did my bath on the tub for two nights early winter.

Overall, very happy with our stay and the only back side is the huge number of chinese tourist in this hotel but yet again if you know the right time to avoid them...you'll have a great time here.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Stayed here for 14 days as i was visiting family.

I stayed on the 21st floor with my sister and the room was surprisingly roomy. All the appliances worked and the usual amenties were there, no complaints. Staff were friendly and checking in and out had no issues. They spoke english and there was also a free shuttle bus to the main places like times square and sogo in causeway bay, however i never used it as the hotel was close to the MTR, tram and buses. Didnt use the swimming pool or the gym. Had free breakfast for some of the mornings however only for one person even though i booked a room for 2, when i asked if i could have 2 x ppl and less days, they said it couldnt be changed. Not that big an issue but eating by urself is kinda lonely. They have free newspaper everyday so that helped. Breakfast menu was ok, got kinda sick of it after eating it 5 times in a row. If you dont have free breakfast, i suggest going out and looking at any of the cafes, as its cheap and more traditional.

The beds were not too soft which was good and they had 4 pillow options, not exactly sure what the names would be but it ranged from hard to really soft. we just chose whichever felt better. We never heard any noise from below but the walls are a little thin. We could hear ppl outside when they were talking but they were talking relatively loud. The air con i have to admit was really loud, it was on though the night and even on the lowest setting there was a humming noise. Maybe it was just our room but my sis and I slept through it so we didnt ask anyone to check it.

The bathroom had a shower and bath together and was clean. They also supplied hand towels, bath sheets and face towels. Word of warning, you can smell a bit of chlorine in the water and a bit of bleach in the towels. The tap was water was filtered but dont drink it. They provide free bottles of water everyday which saved us from buying any. i didnt feel itchy using the towels but the smell was slightly strong.

If your planning to say here, i suggest taking the A11 bus as the stop says City Garden and only cost $40 HK. It does take around an hour but there is an area to store your luggage so you can just sit back and catch the sites. However when you need to go back to the airport, you will have to catch the bus from outside the MTR. Having stayed there for so long, it was easy to locate the stop but at first i had automatically assumed that the stop would just be on the opposite side of the same street however it was actually on another street. Not hard to find as it is just outside the MTR and the MTR was my main source of transport. It was the easiest way to get around. Traveling around on the tram is also good as it only costs $2 HK one way and will go past Sogo and Wanchai. Good way to check out the local sights and stop whenever something catches your eye.

Overall the experience was comfortable and i will return to this hotel due to the proximity and the comfort level as hong kong is a pricey city with little space. The room was bigger than what we thought it would be as we knew that space in HK is valuable, so we were very surprised with how much room we had... two massive luggage, 2 x hand carries and all our shopping bags and we still had room to walk around. I paid around $122 AUS for the room and i thought it was relatively cheap for 2 ppl. There are cheaper options but for our purposes, this room was fine. It provided everything we needed eg. free bottles of water, tv with loads of channels (watched mostly discovery and korean channels), roomy and low fuss.

Word of warning, they are very efficient when cleaning rooms. Always put the "do not disturb" sign up as they will knock on doors to ask about house keeping. If ur not out of ur room after 1pm, they will call to ask when they will be able to clean. I usually dont head out until later in the afternoon as most shops dont open until 12pm and come back around 9pm. If you are going out shopping, go out around 12 however if ur planning to go sight seeing or theme parks, head out earlier like at 9 or 9.30... if its a special day, it will be crowded regardless of time...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

We spent 4 nights at the hotel and had good service throughout our stay. The hotel is a bit non discript. Good but nothing more.

The restaurant however was fantastic for breakfast. We have never seen such a selection of dishes. Lunch time was busy with what looked like many locals. The hotel appears to be in a residential suburb and nearby is a street market. Well worth a visit. We would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Garden Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.9 City Garden Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Garden Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the bustling Causeway Bay shopping and business district, and within 5 minutes walk from Fortress Hill MTR station, the 613-room City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong is one of the best Hong Kong hotels, which provides complimentary shuttle bus services to nearby shopping and business hubs such as Taikoo Place and Cityplaza, which is only 10 minutes away. City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong has a variety of dining options, including the Michelin One Star Cantonese restaurant YUE, the Western and Asian favourite Garden Café, and the Singaporean and Malaysian restaurant Satay Inn.Whether it’s for business or relaxation, the City Garden Hotel, Hong Kong offers free WIFI and a comprehensive range of facilities, including an outdoor swimming pool, 24-hour gym, business centre, and meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your City Garden Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Kong City Garden
City Garden Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Garden Hotel Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.