We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive.. Should aim to provide a higher customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop Lei International House

Save Saved
You added Bishop Lei International House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bishop Lei International House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.4 Robinson Road, Mid-Levels Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 611 hotels in Hong Kong
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Too expensive.. Should aim to provide a higher customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed at the Bishop Lei May 20th 2013 for a few nights. As you may expect in Hong Kong the rooms are small. Two positives: Location and the cleanliness of the room.

Lots of negatives:
Towels are paper thin
Even though there are slippers there is no dressing gown
Mattresses are soft and uncomfortable and the pillows are horrible
No bedside lights just two spot lights directly above your bed where your head is so you get blinded
Restricted Wi-Fi access to two passwords per room meaning only two devices can access the internet at any one time.
No complimentary water
Rude, unhelpful reception staff

I think that is it. I have stayed at many hotels across Asia and the Bishop Lei is by far the worst.

Room Tip: Dont bother with this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    292
    133
    33
    14
See reviews for
57
159
109
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great little hotel. Location is everything with this gem. Just a five minute walk to the escilator to take u to soho and theu offer shuttle bus service to central every half hour. Not only that they have a bus stop outside the front door. Room size is average for HK with decent size. Room has lcd tv with the usial channels and has a small fridge and safe. A/C is ice cold and I mean ice cold . To sum it up great little hotel away from the action

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a one night stay here, whilst staying in Hong Kong. Staff were very friendly and the room was clean. Some nice little products for you to use whilst you are there. Highly recommended for business people. Good location. Only problem was where I had flown straight from the UK, there was some building work going on which didn't allow me to have a sleep in the afternoon before we went out on business. I'm sure that was a one off though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Amazing view towards Victoria Peak. Close to the escalator so one can walk down to the city centre, antique shops, Soho ect in no time. Public bus stop at hotel. Mini-bar fridge, so can buy own drinks. Kettle in room. I slept with my head at the foot end so that the air con did not blow in my face. After day 2 the cleaning lady noticed my sleeping position and made the bed with the pillows at the foot end.

Breakfast not too exciting. Pity one cannot eat outside on the balcony of the restaurant. Also a pity that the swimming pool area close at 20:00. Make sure you wait in the parking area for the shuttle, otherwise you will miss it.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 19th floor with a view towards Vicroria Peak
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel is a good choice if you want to book a room with Harbor view. Of course, it's more expensive, but the location is great.

If you want to spend less, I think it's possible to find other hotel offering a similar/better rooms.

Furthermore, the hotel staff is really unpleasant each time we've been there. They are as cold as the air-conditioning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conegliano, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Good location, tiny rooms but I have seen tinier... a bit outdated. Friendly staff, this time the price was excellent (thru Booking.com). A good place if you do not need to stay at the hotel, but just sleep and refresh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed for several nights, and was upgraded to the harbourview suite, which consists of a bedroom and a separate living room. The rooms are very tiny and there is no bathtub, just a small shower; however, I was by myself, so was sufficient. The view was fabulous, the bedroom was quiet and although the matress was a bit hard, I found the bed comfortable. Location was OK, although not really walkable to the Central station or shopping/business district, I was able to get taxis quite easily. This is not a luxury, resort-type hotel and there are no frills or extras (except for the view maybe), but if you are just looking for a basic, clean room, this hotel is a bargain in Hong Kong. On the other hand, I was staying in a suite by myself, so standard rooms could be unbearably small for a couple.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bishop Lei International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Lei International House

Address: No.4 Robinson Road, Mid-Levels Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#83 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bishop Lei International House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda, Otel, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Bishop Lei International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Lei International House Hotel Hong Kong
Bishop Lei International Hotel
Hotel Bishop Lei International
Bishop Lei International House Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop Lei International House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.