We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views and everything worked!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop Lei International House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Bishop Lei International House to your Saves list
Bishop Lei International House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.4 Robinson Road, Mid-Levels Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 664 Reviews
Bordeaux, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic views and everything worked!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for 9 nights over Christmas 2012 during our first visit to Hong Kong. The location is excellent, being away from the noisy and party areas but very close to the Mid Levels Escalator and with a bus stop right outside; the hotel also has a very efficient shuttle bus.
The Harbour View suite was spacious for a HK hotel and was comfortable enough for a long stay. There is free WiFi in the rooms. The views from our 13th floor were spectacular both day and night time and being so high up there was little noise - just monkeys from the Botanical gardens some mornings and the Midnight Mass choir in the cathedral next door - both delightful experiences.
The housekeeping staff were lovely and very efficient, being flexible enough to fit in with our comings and goings and dealing with queries rapidly.
The concierge staff were responsive when asked but could have been friendlier.
We only had breakfast twice as it was OK but uninspired and HK has so many wonderful places to eat and drink. There are lots of really good places within walking distance.
The hotel is well located for visiting Hong Kong Park, Botanical gardens, and all the normal tourist places, as well as having good links to the MTR and buses for going further afield.

Room Tip: higher floors have great views and the suites are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    329
    152
    37
    18
See reviews for
68
179
125
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

If you need to stay in Central, this is a good option. Fair price with a swimming pool. Stayed in the Harbour suite room, I understand the regular rooms are tiny. The room is adequate. 3 minutes walk from escalator, supermarket, dry cleaner.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Great location. If you can get an upgrade it is well worth it.
We were first put into one of their standard rooms, it was tiny and like shoe box! We called reception and asked for an upgrade to harbour suite, and for only £26 (260 Honk Kong Dollars) it was well worth it. The views were amazing, and it is only a short walk to the middle of town.

Well worth a visit..if you get the upgrade.

Room Tip: Harbour Suite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

First time to stay at a mid level hotel. Absolute stunning views. Though the suite is not big, still recommend as it gives you a feeling of home. Staff are friendly, shuttle bus on time, and very convenient. 10 min to subway and central, and you have an experience to stay at the mid levels, live with the rich together. , a great experience, will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Clean and tidy, quiet neighborhood,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki - Finland
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

As a visitor with more than 30+ visits to Hong Kong, I often try hotels that are not quite in the center. This time I decided to take my chances with Bishop Lei hotel in Mid-Levels due to many very positive comments on TripAdvisor. It was well worth the money.

The hotel itself is situated in Mid-Levels, not too many hotels in the vicinity and also not close to MTR. But if you know your way around Hong Kong, this should be a piece of cake. The hotel is half way through the escalators, a few blocks away, but within an easy walking distance.

The entire staff was great. All helpful, attentative and truly listened to your requests.

My room (single traveler) was indeed small, but majority of hotel rooms in Hong Kong are really small, get used to it. Scenery was towards the hills (Peak) but since I only use hotel rooms for sleeping while on business, the scenery really does not make any difference.

Everything in my room worked, wifi was free and I slept well in the bed. Only funny and slightly old thing was the actual physical room key. Also, when you get into the room, you need to activate the electricity with the key, like turning on your car engine. Odd and funny, not a major problem - just very old fashioned.

Robinson road is a major through traffic road in Mid-Levels, so getting a taxi was never a problem. Even during rush hour I got the taxi within 5 minutes. Usually within 1 minute.

Also, Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens is very close by, so if you have not visited the park, I warmly recommend you to do so.

The only problem in this 23 floors high hotel was the fact that one out of three elevetors was obviously broken and since hotell staff used the elevators as well, you sometimes end up waiting for the elevator longer than the taxi outside. Nothin major though.

I really enjoyed this stay and it was certainly worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We emailed the hotel only 3 days in advance and they only had the Harbor View Suite available. In hindsight, I am glad that the cheaper rooms were unavailable as other reviews have pointed out, they are indeed small. The suite is fairly comfortable with a bedroom and a lounge.

We checked in late at night around midnight and had no issues. The views from the suite are indeed very good as others have pointed out.

We had a toddler in a stroller and had no issues getting around using the midlevel escalator system.

The in-room wifi only allows a single device and this is painful. Who in this day and age needs only 1 device per family? The kicker is that once the code is used, you cant really log out or do anything with it on another device. This is a bit annoying, but heck you are on vacation. Your facebook status updates can wait... or maybe not.

You can make it hike from Central to the hotel but be prepared to sweat.. even in the winter months. We did this and did enjoy it but it is indeed a trek.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor and choose a suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Couldn't really be a better location, right at the top of the mid-level escalators. Didn't eat the breakfast but you don't need to as there are many great places for brunch right on the doorstep. Rooms are snug, even the suite we had - worth getting as you get an extra living room although still very small. Staff are helpful- would definitely stay here again - mainly because of location and value. Price is low for Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Go for the top suite room - everything else is oh so small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bishop Lei International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Lei International House

Address: No.4 Robinson Road, Mid-Levels Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop Lei International House 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Bishop Lei International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Lei International House Hotel Hong Kong
Bishop Lei International Hotel
Hotel Bishop Lei International
Bishop Lei International House Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop Lei International House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.