We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible view of Hong Kong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hong Kong to your Saves list
InterContinental Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 690 Hotels in Hong Kong
Windermere, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Incredible view of Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great hotel, with outstanding lounge. This is the place to stay in Hong Kong. A little pricey, but well worth it. Easy access to ferry and to the subway. Very nice area with the Kowloon shopping district

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,524
    433
    89
    30
    17
See reviews for
345
798
163
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on vacation. Originally booked regular room but after hearing all the rave reviews here, I upgraded to the Harborview. Personally I think that if it wasn't for the view, the rooms would not have been worth it at all, but wow, the view of Hong Kong Island side did not disappoint. I must have spent 90% of the time while I was in the room looking out the window. The rooms certainly aren't cheap but for those once in a lifetime experiences and special occasions I think it would be worth it to splurge on.

The room itself is also quite nice. After staying at two W hotels during the same trip I would describe the IC HK as classic elegance. The one nitpick I have is the toilet. It had one of those bar flush handles that you would find in a public toilet. Seemed out of place at a 5-star signature property. Other than that, the lobby was beautiful, the infinity pool also with the view of Victoria Harbor another great experience, and the staff was helpful and friendly. I actually can't wait for the opportunity to stay here again. Loved this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a splendid time at IC hotel...the service is good, and we esp love the spa pool that oversee the harbour! try jumping into the middle one!

The hotel is accessible by mtr. try walking down the street for a huge variety of night activities!

Room Tip: get a room facing the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a lovely Intercontinental. The location would be enough, but the suite upgrade, Club lounge, and the hotel bar are just stellar. Wifi was easy-breezy, and the hotel staff was super accommodating to every need. Typical Intercon service, love being a Royal Ambassador!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

From the minute I arrived and checked in to the minute I left it was all beyond my expectations and anything I had experienced so far in any hotel or resort I had been.
Amazingly efficient, great hospitality, superb service and awesome restaurants.
The view from the lobby is breathtaking. My room on the 12th Floor with Victory harbour views was very comfortable.
Highly recommended for any kind of trip to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Obviously a room with a view of Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong island
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were totally exhausted from all that walking, boat riding, and playing hide & seek with the rain clouds that day. T'was already a 10 hour day for us! YET! We still wanted to enjoy the Hong Kong skyline & light show at the Avenue of Stars! Minus the crowd & chaos outside!

And so, we headed towards intercon :D & Boy! Were we glad we did it!

The receptionist was super helpful in briefing us on the 3 dining areas with a view, and helped us make our choice on the lobby lounge. Just FYI - there's Nobu (upper floor), Lobby Lounge (GF) and the hotel café (LG).

The level in which the lounge was located, plus the HUGE glass panels brought the entire skyline alive (was like in a 3D movie)! Our experience was well complemented by the friendly yet courteous service, excellent drinks, tapas and live music.

We kinda felt bad for dressing up like typical tourists in such a nice setting, but the staff made us feel right at home!

Love the view, the service, the quality of food & drinks! A must-do in Hong Kong if you're looking to personalise your romantic view of Hong Kong's skyline! :D

Bravo!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stay & Location: Why even bother to review this hotel? Obviously it's great. But the thing is many five star hotels get it wrong too. If you get a bad experience at this hotel you are either extremely spoiled or extremely unlucky. Anyways we stayed two nights. Most spectacular location of any hotel I've ever stayed at - at least in a big city.

Room: Twin bed deluxe room (1715) on the 17th floor with Kowloon view. Room is quite spacious with a sort of separate wardrobe. You can tell it's not a new hotel but the decor has been done in very good taste so it doesn't seem as old as it is. The AC noise in our room at least was a bit on the high side.

Amenities: Everything you need and an extremely well stocked minibar. Possible to connect Iphone to a Bose sound system.
Cleanliness: Spotless in room. I was a little disappointed though when I visited the lobby restroom (left side when entering the hotel). I expected it to be spotless - unfortunately it was not.
Service: Smooth operator! From check-in to check-out this is a well oiled machine that operates flawlessly with attention and constant professionalism.

Food: The breakfast buffet at the Harbourside Restaurant is the best breakfast buffet I have ever had. We also ate at the Steakhouse wine & grill restaurant which deserves its own review.

Facility: Everything about this hotel is just done with such elegance, good taste and sense of detail. The lobby must be one of the most spectacular in the world with the 180 degree view of Hong Kong Island. Both the pool and fitness/spa are very nice. I didn't try the spa but it looked like it was the same standard as the rest of the facilities. At the pool there is a very nice infinity jacuzzi with harbour view. Obviously this is not a new hotel and you can tell by the interior which is not contemporary. But it's done with good taste so it doesn't seem too old.

Improvements/Suggestions: Improve Internet speed. I recorded 1.7/0.5 Mbit. This is not sufficient for a hotel at this level. They should have a 20/20 Mbit connection. As priority gold member we didn't have to pay for Internet which unfortunately is standard at IHG hotels. Browser login a small drawback but only had to be done once. The AC noise in the room could be improved. It's hard to say if it was a top floor issue or just because it's an old system. I found it a bit annoying that I couldn't turn on the light in the bathroom when entering from the right side through the wardrobe.

Overall: This hotel is my future reference in city luxury hotels in terms of service. The hotel is so big that you don't get a personal feel. And it's also quite busy, so don't come here to relax but rather to enjoy the fantastic view of Hong Kong Island and feel the pulse of Hong Kong. Despite this every encounter you have with the staff is just a pleasure; professionalism with a smile. The hotel is a textbook example on how to manage service at a large hotel. I'm impressed.

Room Tip: Harbour view if you can afford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hong Kong

Address: No.18 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deemed one of the world's top hotels, InterContinental Hong Kong is renowned for its dramatic location on the Kowloon waterfront, with spectacular views of Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong Island. Located in the Tsim Sha Tsui area, the hotel is convenient to Kowloon's business, entertainment and shopping districts. A wide range of excursions and activities are within a short distance and getting around every part of the city is easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.