We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hong Kong to your Saves list
InterContinental Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 690 Hotels in Hong Kong
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon in March. The hotel was luxurious and the view from the harbour facing room was divine. Concierge service went above and beyond every time. Amazing location close to Nathan road.

The biggest disappointment of the stay were the infinity pools. We were promised harbour and HK island views but it wasn't even close to what it had been hyped up to be.

Also a little curious was the fact that, while waiting for our taxi to the airport, we were told playing cards in the lobby wasn't acceptable (we were quietly playing uno!).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,459
    406
    83
    29
    17
See reviews for
323
767
151
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel recently for four nights.
Excellent on all fronts. The room faced the harbour, don't bother to turn on the tv as there is plenty of light colour and movement looking out the window. Great viewing of the light show which starts at 8pm each night.
Breakfast was excellent which also looks out onto the harbour.
First class gym and swimming pools. The infinity pool once again looks out onto the harbour.
Great shopping next door and good connection to the train.
Yes it is expensive but well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for two night in March...to do some shopping in Hong Kong....Hotel is in a great location with easy access to the harbour and shopping centre...
Make sure that you stop and a have a cocktail or drink in the lobby lounge that over looks the Harbour... Great View

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our return to Los Angeles from Bali. We stayed there in September 2012, so this review is a little late.

First and foremost, the location of this hotel is unparalleled and I am so happy we chose to stay at this hotel. The service upon arrival is excellent. You are greeted at the car and whisked into the lobby for prompt and friendly check-in. Our luggage arrived at our room immediately.

We had a corner junior suite, with the amazing view of the skyline. I think it is worth it to spend a little extra for a harbor view room because you just cannot stop staring out the window.

Some reviewers have mentioned the hotel is dated. It is maybe a tad dated, but it is not enough to sway me from staying there again. The rooms are spacious and clean and I would categorize the decor as being corporate. The service is excellent and anything you ask for is taken care of promptly and with pleasure - and really, it's all about the location and that view.

We were starving when we arrived, so had lunch at the Chinese restaurant in the hotel. I don't remember the name of it, but we had the best dim sum I've ever had in my life.

We only stayed in Hong Kong for 2 nights, so our time there was a bit of a blur. We explored both the Kowloon side (which is where the Interconti is located) as well as the other side, and I prefer the Kowloon side - it felt more authentic. It was a reasonably quick cab ride over to the other side, and one day we took the ferry over, which was fun.

We enjoyed dinner at Harlan's one night, which was a good meal with another amazing view (request a table outside if it's nice weather). The second night we went to Victoria Peak for sunset as well as the Symphony of Lights and followed that up with dinner at Cafe Deco. Ambiance was festive and there is a good selection of food there. We took a cab up to the Peak and then took the tram down. I recommend staying up at the Peak for dinner after the show, as there is a mass exodus to get down the hill after the light show. By the time we finished up dinner, the crowds had thinned and there was virtually no wait to get on the tram.

For what it's worth, I think the Symphony of Lights is better seen from the Intercontinental side versus from Victoria Peak. The buildings have more lights on the Intercontinental side, so it's not as exciting and dramatic on the Victoria Peak side.

The only reason I am giving the hotel 4 stars versus 5 is because we were given some sight-seeing information that I felt could have been better. Long story short, it was recommended that we explore a particular neighborhood (I don't remember which), and unfortunately, because it was a Sunday, the majority of the shops were closed. We continued walking the neighborhood in hopes that we would eventually stumble upon something being open, but that never happened. I felt that we "wasted" a few precious hours that we could have spent elsewhere. I feel that the club level concierge should have known this would be the case, and should have sent us somewhere that was more accessible on a Sunday. It's not a super big deal because we are the type of people who make the best of everything, but in our future travels will make sure to ask about Sundays!

All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Probably the best Intercontinental property I’ve visited. Staff were extremely efficient, professional, and welcoming. While not a new hotel, the room was clean and modern. Enjoyed unbelievable views of Hong Kong harbor (arguably the best view of Hong Kong, and a compelling reason to choose this hotel). Fantastic food at Nobu and Yan Toh Heen. Well equipped gym. Convenient access to the Hong Kong metro system (MTR) via underground walkways, as well as SOGO Dept Store next door. This will be my preferred hotel when staying on the Kowloon side.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ho chi minh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights at the end of March, using points. Due to a flight delay, we arrived in the evening, tired and hungry. After being escorted and checked-in into our rather small room for the 3 of us, we were advised that the hotel was under going some construction in various areas, including the pool from 9-6pm. We could, however use the pool next door at the Renaissance. ( We checked it out and didn't find it terribly convenient or attractive so we did not use it).
The lobby area with it's bar and restaurant is very impressive and service outstanding. The entire hotel staff was professional and efficient. To us, the atmosphere felt like the hotel was geared more towards the business traveler, with just a touch of attitude. We had arrived from Thailand and gotten used to the warmth of the Thai people.
The first morning, we discovered that our view was full on of the work site. We were not lucky enough to have been upgraded to a harbor view room, and although we used a hefty amount of points for our stay, we decided not to fuss to change our accommodations. Since we had unpacked and settled in, we remained in our room overlooking the construction site.
As it turned out, we were out and about every day, all day, so any noise generated from the work outside did not really affect us. The view from one entire side and most of the front of the building is of improvement work being done.
Overall, the hotel has a great harbor location and we had a pleasant stay. We would, however, recommend that if possible, any bookings with stays prior to the end of construction (sometime in June) should be done for rooms facing Hong Kong Island for the best experience

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is my first visit to Hong Kong and I did really want to stay somewhere great with an excellent view. The Intercontinental Hong Kong absolutely delivers. I can honestly say it is one of the best hotels I've stayed in many years. Check in was flawless we were ushered to the ambassador desk straight away. No queue. Edwin checked us in it was all very fast and he took us up to our room and told us everything we needed to know. This is an Intercontinental Hotel who take the ambassador club really seriously!

We were upgraded to a superior Harbourview room, and it was everything that was described. It was definitely superior, and the Harbourview was out of this world.

The room itself is extremely well done. The bathroom was huge with a massive soaking tub.

We ate in the lobby bar restaurant which was excellent. The view over the harbour and especially to the Festival of light is brilliant.

The staff could not have been better, from check-in to housekeeping to the Door staff to the servers in all of the restaurants. We really could not fault this property in any way.

Yes it is expensive. The cocktails are about €10 each, but they're really excellent. A burger runs about €20 which is actually quite good value for money given the quality.

All in all this is a hotel which rivals four seasons in terms of service and the location is just superb. It is a five minute walk to Nathan Road, a 10 minute walk to the star ferry, and really accessible to everything that Hong Kong has to offer.

I would never hesitate to stay here again. Given, it is expensive, But so is pretty much everything in Hong Kong. This is one of the best Intercontinental hotels I stayed in. Thank you to everyone. You do a fantastic job.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hong Kong

Address: No.18 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deemed one of the world's top hotels, InterContinental Hong Kong is renowned for its dramatic location on the Kowloon waterfront, with spectacular views of Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong Island. Located in the Tsim Sha Tsui area, the hotel is convenient to Kowloon's business, entertainment and shopping districts. A wide range of excursions and activities are within a short distance and getting around every part of the city is easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.