We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the world's best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hong Kong to your Saves list
InterContinental Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“one of the world's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

i have stayed at this otel several times over the years..
the service is impeccable, the views breathtaking, breakfast is luxurious, views of HK spectacular, and it houses one of the best restaurants (IMHO) in Nobu.
The rooms, especially on the harbor side, are wonderful...spacious, high ceilings, great views, good beds - a complete package...
I ordered room service on one trip for 730 am arrival....on the forst day, at 7:29, there was a knock at the door....I thought 'coincidence...' ......so the second day, I ordered room service again......and again I heard a knock at 7:29......I have been stood up for room service at some of the best (15 mins late at Bellagio) - so this made an exceptional impression....
I have dipped in the hot tub overlooking hong kong harbor andfound it exhilirating.....
The place across the street gets much of the notoriety in Kowloon....but this place deserves a very high spot - equal if not better

Room Tip: if you can afford it, get a harbor side room (it's more $$)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,416
    390
    81
    29
    16
See reviews for
314
742
150
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel has undoubtedly the best view in the world. Service was patchy prior to my visit but acceptable on site. Rooms are very comfortable and location of hotel is convenient. Staying here is a pricey affair but well worth doing at least once if you're going to Hong Kong...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel we choose for the view. Harbor view rooms are so great with their view. easy to spend time to look the trafic in the habor and the island skyline. And the pool, this is propably the most enjoyable jacuzzi. You can submerge your self comfortable and watch again the harbour trafic sliding by. Renovated bar fits well in and the breakfast gives you chance to load for the day. Eventually you can easily skip the lunch and use the time for more sight seeing and shoping. Price is a bit up compared with other available chain hotels.

Room Tip: Book for harbor view. It is a bit expensive but you deserve the treat at least once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed there last year beautiful views of the harbor by night and the light show close to everything staff were wonderful couldn't have been more helpful would definately stay there again .The rooms were lovely and clean. A lovely surprise awaited my husband arriving back at the hotel a birthday cake

Room Tip: just make sure to have a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is simply the best I have ever stayed at.

The location is very convenient with public transport in 5min walking distance. You have a great view on the HK skyline from the harbour view rooms. The rooms are spotless clean!

The best part about the hotel is the service. The service is best in class.

Beginging with the Check-in personal and ending with the Concierge.

The Concierge was fantastic, e.g. he put us on the guestlist of the most exclusive member clubs in HK.

The hotel is my benchmark against which I measure all other hotels in the world.

Room Tip: Harbour View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed at the Intercontinental Hong Kong 3 years ago. The review was excellent then but quality of service has since plunged by 100% while the rate per night has gone up 100%

1. The view of the harbour from the hotel room is still good but once you are on the Avenue of Stars, it is no different from any location in Hong Kong. It is very crowded with people talking very loudly.
2. There is no shopping nearby with New World Centre being torn down. There is a small Sogo which link to the MTR.
3. It is not advisable to take the MTR across harbour as it is a long walk to the train. It is also a maze underground with their signage not very accurate. It took us almost 20 min to find our way back to the hotel.
4. It is better to take the star ferry across to Hong Kong island. It is a pleasant 10 min walk.
5. Housekeeping rang the bell at 8 am to ask if he could do the room. When requested that he return after 10am, he never did. Upon our return to hotel at 3.20pm, the room was still not made up. I was furious as I had paid the high rate to rest before the wedding dinner at the hotel the same night.
6. Concierge not friendly and not effective. Could not locate the restaurant we wanted. Also, recommended a hair salon that is at 15 min walk from the hotel.
7. The porters are more eager to open the car doors for guest who arrive via taxi then private vehicle.
8. The rooms are looking tired and carpets are old with stains. But the bed and bed sheets are of good quality so sleep is not compromised.


There are many 5 stars hotel in Hong Kong to choose from. Definitely not returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I first stayed here 30 years ago when this property had just opened as the Regent. Then, as now, its greatest feature is its location. The Intercontinental is the only hotel in either Central or Kowloon actually on the water with no view obstructions. The view of the harbor is one of the ten wonders of the world. The rooms are large, including oversized bathrooms. Although the decor feels a little dated, your eye is constantly drawn to the view which continues to be breathtaking. We ate at three of the hotels restaurants and were disappointed only with Spoon. The others were excellent. Our only complaint was at check in when we were informed that harbor view rooms for our three couples were available only only on a smoking floor. Ultimately the dispute was solved by contacting our local A&K travel professional who reminded hotel management of our long standing reservations.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hong Kong

Address: No.18 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deemed one of the world's top hotels, InterContinental Hong Kong is renowned for its dramatic location on the Kowloon waterfront, with spectacular views of Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong Island. Located in the Tsim Sha Tsui area, the hotel is convenient to Kowloon's business, entertainment and shopping districts. A wide range of excursions and activities are within a short distance and getting around every part of the city is easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.