We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Langham Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Peking Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nanjing County, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I've been a loyal customer of this establishment for a very long time. It use to have a very predictable service and accomodation. This trip, they put us in room 1302, this is my first time on the floor, this floor's ceiling seems lower than others. Room os very dated, bed is also not as nice. Seems to have a lot more mainland tourist, which made it noisy and disorderly. Langham seems more like a travel tour hotel than a nice boutique hotel.
Went to the swimming pool and it was filled with mainland folks acreaming and yelling. Forget about a relaxing quiet time by the pool

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DeanDimtriou, Manager at The Langham Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear “achang2639”,

Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your feedback in relation to your stay with us.

It is with great concern that I noted the shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us. As a loyal guest, you did not receive the level of service that we strive to achieve as a five star establishment and would ask that you accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. The Langham Hong Kong prides itself on exceeding our guests’ expectations through exceptional customer service and I sincerely apologise, as we obviously have not achieved this goal during your stay.

I would like to personally discuss this matter further with you in order to gain further clarification on your experience.

I have noted my contact email address below and I do look forward from hearing from you soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Dean Dimitriou
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
The Langham, Hong Kong
dean.dimitriou@langhamhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,492
    471
    80
    41
    15
See reviews for
383
761
125
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We arrived at the hotel at about midnight, and the welcome was non-existant. No one was there to open the doors for us - a bit inconvenient when you are dealing with three bags, a stroller, and a baby - and when I approached the front desk to check-in, all three of the staff studiously looked down at whatever they were doing and ignored me. Only when I went up to one of them was I acknowledged. The actual check-in was relatively quick and easy, and Kenny, one of the staffers who did the check in, was nice.

The room itself was very well appointed. The bed was comfortable, and it was kind of cool for the tv to turn on by itself with a welcome message! This would become annoying later on however, as another day our baby was sleeping when we entered and the tv woke him up.

A few small things the hotel could improve on. There was hair in the bathtub, the alarm clock went off at about 6:15 am (housekeeping by default should always turn these off). And no one said "welcome" to us until two days into our stay at the gym.

Not much of a view (see attached) in our room 640.

The rooftop cool is quite nice, though you may want to use it during warmer weather as it can get nippy. There is a hot tub that can also be used. Beds were comfortable, and our kid had fun wandering around the room.

Location is great. Literally right on top of the TST subway, and close to shopping and restaurants. A very short cab ride from the Kowloon Airport Express.

I had contacted them in advance to see if they had SIM cards available. While they do, there is a much cheaper HK PCCW SIM card available at the HK Tourist Office just down the street at the Star Ferry. I would recommend just walking down the street to get one of those instead of going for the hotel's cards.

If our welcome was lacking, our send off was not. We went downstairs at mid morning (admittedly a better time than our midnight check in) and there were hostesses there who provided friendly greeting, and directed us to check out. We were able to leave our luggage there for the day, and we were welcome to use the gym facilities before we left for the airport if we so chose. My little boy decided to have a crying episode in the lobby - staff were super nice about it, and some even brought him candies and lollipops to cheer him up!

Again, the hostesses were super. One even offered to help lift our stroller down a flight of stairs (even though she must have weighed all of 90 pounds) - not all of the porters offered the same.

I believe that this is one of the cheaper five star hotels available in Hong Kong. It was a nice stay and super convenient in terms of transportation options. I am glad that they staff provided us with a super friendly send off, else I would not have been impressed much with the service. As it is, we enjoyed our stay, and will definitely consider staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanDimtriou, Manager at The Langham Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Warren,

Greetings from The Langham, Hong Kong.

I hope you and your family had a delightful journey back to Ottawa, post your stay with us.

Glad to hear some positive lasting memories of your stay with us in regards to our hotels location, your room, our rooftop pool and fitness facilities and overall departure experience. However, extremely concerning to hear about the shortfalls you highlighted in regards to your arrival experience and a some points in relation to your room amenities and cleanliness.

We are most grateful to you for bringing these matters to our attention as it is only through constructive criticism such as yours that we are able to constantly monitor and improve our hotel operation more closely; however, I would like to personally discuss this matter further with you in order to gain further clarification on your experience and personally apologies for the shortfalls you experienced.

I have noted my contact email address below and I do look forward from hearing from you soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Dean Dimitriou
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
The Langham, Hong Kong
dean.dimitriou@langhamhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Me and my family had an excellent stay, everything was great about the hotel, nothing to complain about. Except that the head boards were a bit worn out and needed replacing for being a 5 star hotel. Other than that staff were helpful, great location branded stores next door, Lantau island/Disneyland close by, we had an awesome time. The day we arrived we wanted to go for the lunch buffet but were late, but the kind staff extended the buffet for another 40 minutes for us.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Service was fantastic, and the location of the hotel was great - close to the ferry and the major shopping complexes. Rooms were a great size, and the bathroom was lovely. The car to and from the airport was perfect and the staff couldn't do enough for us. We requested a car for 5 guests for a day trip with a driver on a sunday, and it was there to collect us within 30 minutes. Would definitely stay there again - great value for money and the staff are wonderful. Everyone from housekeeping, to concierge, Palm Court and reception took such good care of us.

Room Tip: We requested renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamHongKong_mc02, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Greetings from The Langham, Hong Kong. Thanks so much for the review and your confidence in The Langham brand.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us – we hope you had a great time at The Langham, Hong Kong.

Comments like yours truly inspire us to work harder every day striving for excellence in everything we do.

In addition, we would like to add that we’ll be launching a new line of bathroom amenities at the end of this year, custom-designed by a famous parfumier from Italy. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the very near future.

Yours Sincerely,
The Langham Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

From the moment you enter the lovely reception and smell the beautiful roses, you are met by friendly welcoming staff who are keen to assist in any way they can.

During our eight day stay, nothing was too much for their helpful staff.

The restaurants throughout the hotel were most efficient and smoothly run.

We'll be back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamHongKong_mc02, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Greetings from The Langham, Hong Kong. Thanks so much for the review and your confidence in The Langham brand.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us – we hope you had a great time at The Langham, Hong Kong.

We take pride that our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Tsimshatsui, Kowloon - one of the liveliest and most popular areas of the city with an outstanding choice of shopping and entertainment. We also take great pride in the poised and quiet confidence of our frontline colleagues.

Comments like yours truly inspire us to work harder every day striving for excellence in everything we do.

In addition, we would like to add that we recently launched a new line of bathroom amenities, custom-designed by a famous parfumier from Italy. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the very near future.

Yours Sincerely,

The Langham, Hong Kong Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlight, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Staff wonderful, location fabulous. The Langham in Kowloon is centrally located on the Kowloon side but access to the Island is easy. Near shopping malls, MTR & Star Ferry terminals.
Rooms are a good size for HK. We stayed with our family including children & grand children for 4 nights. The grand kids were looked after extremely well by the staff.
We had access to the Club Room and the children had access til 8pm which was appreciated. The club was charming with ample food & beverages. We had breakfast in the main restaurant downstairs due to the large number of us, breakfasts were fabulous with more than enough types of food to satisfy anyone. Very efficient & friendly service.
The pool and spa were great.
All in all a great place to stay, elegant and a little old word but still very welcoming.
Happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamHongKong_mc02, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Greetings from The Langham, Hong Kong. Thanks so much for the review and your confidence in The Langham brand.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us – we hope you had a great time at The Langham, Hong Kong.

Comments like yours truly inspire us to work harder every day striving for excellence in everything we do.

In addition, we would like to add that we’ll be launching a new line of bathroom amenities at the end of this year, custom-designed by a famous parfumier from Italy. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the very near future.

Yours Sincerely,
The Langham Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

From the moment your enter the hotel a change envelops you. The staff immediately attend and your anxiety stays outside the front door.decor is pleasing to the eye, by no means is it "modern", but rather an elegance of charm. Front reception efficient, the room on 11th floor comfortable and soft. The room gives a friendliness you want in a hotel. The floor staff attentive and helpful. Shower and bathroom clean with good lighting. Wifi connection more than adequate foot computer, iPhone,iPad for the 2 of us. This hotel gets the big tick.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Hong Kong

Address: No.8 Peking Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, Hong Kong is an elegant European-style sanctuary located in the heart of Kowloon's busiest commercial and entertainment district - Tsim Sha Tsui surrounded by superb designer boutiques including the World's second largest stores of Louis Vuitton, Christian Dior, Salvatore Ferragamo, Gucci and Prada, and the Harbour City, a mega shopping arcade with over 700 shops mere minutes away. With glittering Victoria Harbour as the backdrop and easy walking distance to Tsimshatsui MTR underground station and the renowned Star Ferry attraction, this unique locale provides a perfect blend of history in a haven of luxury. Recently celebrating an expansive US$30 million refurbishment and epitomizes a timeless European elegance featuring 498 luxurious guest rooms and suites, equipped with innovative amenities including Blissful Beds, deep bathtubs, nespresso machines and bespoke British minibars. Brand signature Service Stylists and Guest Experience Managers are also available to accommodate any guest's needs, from unpacking luggage to organising sightseeing. Hotel attractions range from the scenic rooftop pool and the Two Michelin-Starred Cantonese restaurant, T'ang Court to having The Langham Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood at Palm Court and sipping bourbon creations and gin specialties at the award-winning Artesian Bar. For all-day dining, The Food Gallery showcases interactive International and Asian cooking stations, while guests who crave for Western comforts can indulge in Burgers, Reuben's and Milkshakes at Main St. Deli and steak and seafood at The Bostonian restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Splendia, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Hotel Hong Kong
The Langham Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.